We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Leeway

1,419 reviews
Save
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (8)
Overview
  • Excellent95%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“karen garry”(58 reviews)
“tassimo machine”(46 reviews)
“cake”(129 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Accessible rooms
Pool
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,419)Write a Review
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveller rating
1,362
50
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
1,362
50
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaren garrytassimo machinecakeon arrivalabbey roomb bdrinks machinest marydaily specialsjar of sweetshomemade yogurtwarm welcomenothing is too much troublelittle extrasattention to detailplace to staycup of tea
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

My wife and i and other family members returned to the Leeway for the new year . Karen and Gary always make you feel so welcome with drink and cake on arrival and a catch up of whats been happening since our last visit ....More

Thank mcl1968
Reviewed 5 days ago

Seeing in the new year just wouldn't be the same if we didn't stay at the Leeway. Karen and Garry provide those all important extras to make your stay that little bit more special. We like to visit Whitby twice a year and would not...More

Thank jameslee4
Response from Karen_Garry, Owner at The LeewayResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It's always a pleasure to have you stay with us. Look forward to seeing you both next time. xx

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a single room for four nights. I had never stayed at The Leeway before. When I arrived Karen had upgraded me to a King size ensuite room. It is a lovely place to stay and it is owned by a lovely couple. I...More

Thank Des A
Response from Karen_Garry, Owner at The LeewayResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Des for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay. Will be lovely to see you again in January.

Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

This is the 7th time we have stayed at The Leeway and the rooms and service was fabulous as always. When we arrived there was a hot drink offered and cake along with a lovely catch up. We were shown to our room which as...More

Thank Claire E
Response from Karen_Garry, Owner at The LeewayResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Claire for your wonderful review. It's always a pleasure when you stay here. Thank you for recommending us and for always returning to The Leeway. See you next time.

Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome, Gary and Karen are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Our room was, once again, exceptional and we were more than comfortable, and to top everything we were served with an excellent breakfast each...More

1  Thank Stephen W
Response from Karen_Garry, Owner at The LeewayResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Stephen for your wonderful review. It's always a pleasure when you and Mary stay. See you next time.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456284
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$89 - US$111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$89 - US$111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (1)
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nikki P
16 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Karen_Garry | Property representative |
Hello Nikki, we don't have fridges in the room, sorry. We can provide ice if you'd like some though.
1
Vote
Paul L
26 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Karen_Garry | Property representative |
Hello Paul thank you for your enquiry I am sorry we are fully booked that weekend. To park on the westcliff where we are located you need a scratch card, which is available to purchase from your accommodation provider... More
1
Vote
Darlodp
15 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Karen_Garry | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you for your enquiry. I am sorry we are fully booked then. If you would like to stay on an alternative date, view our own website this shows all our availability. I hope we can accommodate you in the future... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All rooms are excellent"
Read review
"Ground floor best for the less mobie"
Read review
"We only saw our room which had a view at the back of the property"
Read review
"Both the rooms we had were on the front of the house but we were not disturbed by any noise"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite