We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

0.2 km from Whitby centre
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

955 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 954: English reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2015

I stayed here with a Shearings break for 5 days. Upon pulling up outside the hotel, the front of the building was a little tired, but still gave a sense of grandeur. Our room was a twin room situated on the 3rd floor, which was accessible by a small elevator if stairs are an issue. I honestly believe that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. We are very lucky to enjoy the views that we do. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments to the team. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the future. Vicki Glen General Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Stayed here for one night, room was on first floor very clean and tidy but minimal toiletries and tracing paper toilet tissue!!!, our room overlooked the carpark and there were lots of pigeons nesting outside the window so not able to leave the window open. Would of expected better for £139 a night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankieviii
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. We hope you would consider choosing to stay with us again in the future. Vicki Glen General Manager

wales
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Room nice and clean, plenty of tea coffee etc. Loads of hot water. I felt a little more storage space would have been nice. We only ate on one of our two day stay as we had family in other hotels. The meals on the Saturday night and Sunday morning were very small. They were cooked and presented well but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lfachWales
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. I’m pleased to see you found your accommodation comfortable. I will pass your comments to the chefs. We hope you choose to stay with us again. Vicki Glen General Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Just spent five days at the Royal on a Shearings break, initially we were given a room on the third floor which we found after navigating a series of rabbit like passageways and stairs, on arrival at the room we found that it only had a shower instead of the room with a bath which we stipulated, so back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlyfarly36
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. I must admit I was confused by your comments regarding finding your room as our corridors are all straight. I’m pleased to see we managed to change your room to something more appropriate. I apologise for the maintenance issues you experienced and trust these were dealt with promptly....

Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Spent two nights here over the weekend and have to say I was impressed. We had premier room which was spacious with a large four poster bed. The bathroom was a good size with bath and separate shower cubical all which was modern. The room was also spotless. The views were fantastic overlooking the sea, river and abbey. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnatdriff
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

We love a 5* review so thank you. I’m delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and were impressed. I will pass your comments to all and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon. Vicki Glen General Manager

East Yorkshire, England
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

My partner & I stayed for two nights this last weekend and thought that, it's not a bad hotel. .the room itself (room 330) was generally clean & comfortable, however the old curtain rail that had pointlessly been left up on the window frame- despite a new roller blind having been fitted within the window recess- was dusty & dirty....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woodmansey36
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. I will ensure the issues you have raised are addressed. I appreciate your comments regarding the team and we are please we exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the not too distant future. Vicki Glen General Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

The Royal hotel so where does one start for the money this hotel charged the only thing royal about it was they royal attitude of the staff, The rooms apparently had been freshened up but we're dated think 1990's there is no toiletries, no wifi in fact Whitby itself is a black spot for Internet anyway back to the hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank andybuk1
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I would have appreciated the opportunity to discuss many of the issues during your stay. Free Wi-fi is available in the public areas of the hotel as advertised. Soap is provided in all rooms with additional toiletries available at reception free of charge. I find your comments regarding my team unnecessarily harsh especially considering the high praise they have received...

Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2015

My friend and I stayed 24-27 July in a twin bedded room overlooking the car park, which wasn't a problem as we weren't in the room that much. Good size room and bathroom, clean and had the usual tea/coffee, which is appreciated. We had to prop the window open as it was warm through the night and the window wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mother51
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m pleased to see your comments regarding our team and that overall you enjoyed your stay. We will address the little nigles you mention and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal again in the future. Vicki Glen General Manager

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We wanted to go away for our anniversary so we decided to go to Whitby as we wanted to see where "Heartbeat" was filmed. After visiting the travel agent, the Royal Hotel was chosen as it was in Whitby.. I phone the Royal Hotel to arrange for a bouquet of flowers for our anniversary to be in our room on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melvin W
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Another 5* review, many thanks. I’m pleased to see we met your requests and you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments to all and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon. Vicki Glen General Manager

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Just 3 days spent here with my sister...staff very friendly...meals served in a courteous and efficient manner. bedroom clean and warm ..loved the proximity to the old and new Whitby,,,just one thing they need to tune in their Tv's...we did and the range of programmes was much improved..all in all a lovely place to relax and enjoy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara130343
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. It appears we ticked the box throughout and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon. Vicki Glen General Manager

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (250)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.9 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,867 reviews
0.6 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
739 reviews
0.4 km away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
436 reviews
0.8 km away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: $145 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Whitby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Royal Whitby Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Royal Whitby Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a view of The Abbey.”
 of 5 bubbles claredavison02, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we were on level 3 over looking the town and harbour great views”
 of 5 bubbles pwb0468, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea-view. Back rooms overlook the car park and the bins”
 of 5 bubbles 166SusanT, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You can for a small charge upgrade your room to a sea view, but we didn't, there was no need to.”
 of 5 bubbles Brockval, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We like a low floor near lift .This we got it was a lovely room”
 of 5 bubbles gwinnett49, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5