We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Accomodation

Hotels.comUS$62*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Accomodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

738 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 737: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Accomodation
 Click to rate
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for a weekend, and what an excellent place to stay. The room was clean and modern, and in an ideal location close to town centre. The dog enjoyed herself too. Would definately stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bullydog1939
DiscoveryAccomm, Public Relations Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and your dog back.

Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stopped in Town House 3. Location is spot on! A short (but steep!!) walk to the harbour and there is on street payable parking just around the corner (payable 9am - 7pm, £6 for 8 hours). The room was as can be expected for the price we paid, was small but airy and fresh. The bathroom was ok but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
DiscoveryAccomm, Owner at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thankyou for taking your time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us, We have passed on your comments to our House Keeping team who will be ensuring the shower is up to our normal high standards. We will follow up all other points your have raised, We hope to see you again soon, Kind Regards,...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having stayed in accommodation owned by Discovery before (albeit 6yrs ago) we booked the Starfish 2 apartment for a two night stay for the four of us during half term expecting the same high standards. Unfortunately things have not changed for the better.... I'll start with the positives first. The apartment itself was very well decorated, modern and spacious. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hungryasabadger
DiscoveryAccomm, Owner at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thankyou for taking your time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us, We have passed on your comments regarding the shower/plumbing to our Maintenance Team who will make sure this problem is resolved and doesn't happen in the future. Unfortunately we don't supply our accommodations with DVD Players anymore. Regarding swimming we allocate slots for...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived on a tuesday abit worried about parking, but there was loads its not guaranteed but we found a space practically at the front door. Nice and new inside beautiful shower room. Really clean and a good sized room. Only downside was 6 flights of stairs to the room but coming to whitby you expect this, honestly one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J W
Warrington Cheshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Newton House, from reading reviews looks like we got a good deal. One bedroom apartment upstairs, key codes on entry doors, received text at 3pm with address and codes, and also prebooked parking details. We were a little worried about our car fitting into the parking space but had no trouble. Lovely comfortable bed, so 3 good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann48
uk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great accommodation very clean Very modern Only thing I could knock about the property which be no keys Door codes for three different doors Apart from that exerlent place based in the middle of Whitby

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigden1
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I visited Whitby over the bank holiday weekend and were happy to stay in a lovely clean 1 bed apartment (Town House 2). It was airy, bright and pleasant. What's more it was just a short walk to the beach, the harbour and the town centre. Upon arrival, we were aware that we would receive a text...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very self dependant with lack of staff at key times trying to find in the dark is a challenge parking advisable have to pay to use pool and for 40 minute slots only no one checked to see if we were happy and settled at all no servicing of room including changes of towels and soap refills lack of draws...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roberto Contert... G
DiscoveryAccomm, Owner at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking your time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. Our office is open 8am-5pm daily, and once the office is closed we have an 'Out of Hours' phone service where someone can always be reached on. We do not service rooms once guests are in their accommodation, but you are able...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Accidentally booked the day prior to the one we had intended to - granted my fault. Phoned immediately to explain the mistake but the lady that I spoke to informed me that they were fully booked on the actual day we intended and they would not refund the payment. All the lady kept saying was 'it's not our fault so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dan V
DiscoveryAccomm, Owner at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Unfortunately we were fully booked for the dates you had intended to book, but we did explain that you could have moved the booking to another date for a small fee. Our Terms and Conditions do state that all bookings are non-refundable, Kind Regards, Discovery Accommodation.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Last minute break to stunning accommodation and fabulous breakfast. Staff lovely and very helpful. Few yards walk from a lot of things going on will definitely be back even though we didn't travel far.lots of parking near for £6 a day.thanks so much c.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris d

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (170)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,048 reviews
0.3 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.9 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#46 of 152 in Whitby
165 reviews
0.0 km away
The Granby
The Granby
#112 of 152 in Whitby
95 reviews
0.4 km away
Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set at different locations from the popular West Cliff to the glorious Pannett Park, Discovery Accommodation is just 5 - 10 minutes' walk from the sandy Whitby Beach. Our guests have use of an indoor heated swimming pool and infra-red sauna for their own private use at an additional fee. Both very popular so we advise pre-booking these facilities. The bright and airy bedrooms each have a TV, hot drinks facilities and a private bathroom. Some of our rooms feature a fully equipped kitchen and living area, and all have fresh, modern decor. We have a range of properties varying from our popular and modern Town House, to our traditional Discovery Cottage. We look forward to welcoming guests in our stylish lounge office. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Accomodation

Address: 11 Silver Street, Whitby YO21 3BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: $87 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Accomodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Discovery Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Accomodation Hotel Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Accomodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Town house 1”
bullydog1939, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our apartment was Newton 3 in Newton House. Not sure if they give you a choice though when booking.”
Ann48, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't chose the Starfish room please, you will be disappointed”
andyblack662017, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Discovery have many apartments around Whitby all close to the centre”
janeclarkek, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Newton Street Apartments Discovery Cottage”
KevinnAudrey, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$62* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$62
PricelineUS$62
Orbitz.comUS$62
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates