We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Whitby

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
Panoramas (8)
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 243: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Whitby
 Click to rate
Ossett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went for one night and wasn't it amazing. Next day breakfast was incredible. Loved it. One last thing the staff are so kind. If I was you I would go. I said can we go again. Plus you can have lunch for a cheap prise. If you do go enjoy it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank falconer2711
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was dark when we arrived creating quite an enjoyable eerie atmosphere. The youth hostel is an interesting 16th century building with some wonderful features. It has an excellent location, right next to the Abbey. Parking was not an issue for us but you may need to park in a pay and display. The room was clean and the bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A good weekend, excellent location. Disappointed with the lack of choice for food at the restaurant so we ventured into Whitby instead. Excellent service from the reception staff and rooms and bathrooms were generally clean and satisfactory. Fortunately we could park in the Whitby Abbey car park for free at this time of the year, otherwise we would have incurred...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vbir
England
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night only - was made very welcome on arrival, but took some finding in the dark! Room comfortable and spacious and great to have en suite facilities. Impressed with self catering kitchen and lounge facilities- and what a wonderful location!

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank weekenderinthesun
Whitby M, Manager at YHA Whitby, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at YHA Whitby, We love to hear that you enjoyed our fabulous location and our facilities within the hostel. We hope that you do come back again soon!

Bridlington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night fab location basic rooms but super and clean friendly staff and helpful We stayed in dormitory as there where 5 of us and had an added bonus of a loo in the room too Definitely worth the money and wouldn't hesitate to stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janegebbie
Whitby M, Manager at YHA Whitby, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic Review. We are pleased to hear you found us to be excellent value for money. We look forward to your return visit!

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked 2 rooms one ensuite the other private for 2 people. Basic as you expect from YHA but comfy beds. The non ensuite was situated opp a loo and adjoining bathroom with bath, shower and loo, so worked really well (no running around corridors looking for facilities!). The hostel was full but relatively quiet, good choice of lounge areas. Interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stockhillbarks
Whitby M, Manager at YHA Whitby, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review. We do hope that you will make a return visit in the near future!

North Lincolnshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As staying in a youth hostel (All ages really) was in our "bucket list" of things to do. We booked a room for us both, it was a 3 bed end suite and cost £39 for the night. On arrival staff were friendly, we explained we had never stayed in a hostel before and everything was explained to us. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nellie P
Whitby M, Manager at YHA Whitby, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased that you chose YHA Whitby as your first hostel experience, we look forward to your return!

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Only stopped one night but an amazing location. Walking up the famous 199 steps luckily went towards working off all the calories of fish and chips we consumed!! Had trouble with our car but a very friendly helpful guy on the front desk helped us by using his jump leads. Would love to return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaidMarian6
Whitby M, Manager at YHA Whitby, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your returning visit.

Reviewed 7 February 2017

What a delightful short stay at YHA Whitby combining volunteering and walking. The building is really something special even with it's little areas of aged wear and tear. Arriving in the dark to wake to the most awesome view down to the town, pier and port areas from one window and The Abbey from the other bay window was a...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwigirli
Whitby M, Manager at YHA Whitby, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! We can't wait for your return either, hopefully we will see you back here soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Staff upon arrival are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are what you expect for what you are paying. Beds are very clean and also very comfy! The room was also very warm so was hard to get out of bed!! Great location and also free parking! Definitely worth trying!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MegLorc G
Whitby M, Manager at YHA Whitby, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at YHA Whitby. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

307 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Room, Ensuite 2 Bunk Beds (12)
Viewed
Room, Ensuite 3 Bunk Beds (13)
Viewed
Room, Ensuite 4 Bed (1 Double Bed) (12)
Viewed
Shared Dormitory (8 Beds) (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,906 reviews
0.0 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,017 reviews
0.0 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
750 reviews
0.0 km away
White Horse and Griffin
0.0 km away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Abbey House is a beautiful grade 1 listed building with lots of original features. It is right next door to the abbey with brilliant views over Whitby. We have excellent facilities including mostly en-suite rooms, a fantastic garden and wonderful lounges. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Whitby

Address: Abbey Lodge East Cliff, Whitby YO22 4JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: $31 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Whitby 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Whitby staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Whitby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with an ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles NickPTh, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get there early before 2pm to get a free parking space and then walk down into the town.”
 of 5 bubbles paulnn_13, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Family room with private suite nice and spacious, if a little noisy from above.”
 of 5 bubbles Food4thought64, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get there before 7.45pm if you want food!”
 of 5 bubbles cathymX2253UM, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a 2nd floor room with a small high window. Could get very warm with little airflow. Over car park but that not a problem.”
  • View from hilltop with steam train
  • View from YHA tea rooms garden
  • View from top of 199 steps looking out to the harbour
 of 5 bubbles Robby48, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5