We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Middleham Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Middleham Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Middleham Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Mid week trip to wonderful Whitby. Sheila, Mick and the lovely old puppy Alfie at the Middleham made us very welcome, the guest house is faultless, modern, tasteful and lovely bathrooms. The rooms are well thought out with all the facilities you need. My bed was wonderfully comfy. Great location with clear sea view. Nothing is too much trouble, breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
lancashire england
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Nothing is too much trouble for Sheila & Mick who are great hosts. They are friendly and welcoming and Sheila is always laughing. The guest house is spotlessly clean, room are comfortable and most have been recently refurbished. Ours was on the top floor so great views (binoculars provided) not suitable if you struggle with stairs but good for walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tft1801
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

The rooms are lovely, especially the bathrooms. Nothing too much trouble for Sheila! The beds are comfy and rooms are very clean. There is a downstairs sitting room you can use and the cooked breakfasts are lovely! I'd not hesitate to recommend... The only issue is one of Whitby in general and that's the parking. We did have a permit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robtheplod
St Andrews
Reviewed 1 May 2016

We had a short break in Whitby last week. It was our first visit to Whitby and we chose to stay at the Middleham. This turned out to be an excellent choice. We were warmly welcomed by Sheila and Mick, and shown to our room, which was spacious, clean and bright with a lovely sea view. Breakfast was served in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhona C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I was greeted with a very warm welcome from hosts Mick and Sheila along with lovely Alfie i instantly felt reassured and comfortable being my first solo trip to a guest house .My room was very clean and had everything i needed brilliant shower !. The whole property is immaculately clean and decorated tastefully to a high standard . Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 943mdg
Leics
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband are big fans of Whitby and decided on spur of the moment to go for a weekend visit but instead of staying in a caravan chose to go for a B&B. The Middleham was a great place to stay. We had the top floor Seaview king-size room and we were not disappointed. Room was spotlessly clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loulabelle1970
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with family and must say the place was spotless. First arrived got shown upto our room which was like climbing to the abbey but pleasantly surprised. It was an attic but shower was great, comfy beds and plenty of room. Breakfast was nice, not over loaded but nice, could have been warmer and lots of choice. At night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dollyeight
Sheila C, Owner at Middleham Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we lit the wood burner when you asked us to but you never came down to the lounge so that was a waste of time, the night after when we were out you came down & expected the fire lit, its not a ornament & the central heating was on throughout your stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed hear with husband and two kids. The B & B is nice. Has modern decor. Has a beautiful log burner in lounge. However it was never on!! Our room itself was in the attic, which is the only family room in the establishment. So its a few stairs to go. It was very clean. Only one fault dusty fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathri
Garstang, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

This hotel is great and Sheila and Mick are lovely hosts. The king size room with sea view was very spacious, immaculate and had everything you needed, they even provide binoculars to enjoy the fantastic sea view. The breakfast was great which we had in a beautiful refurbished dining room. Although the hotel does not have parking facilities the adjacent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We had a 3 night stay between Christmas and New Year at this lovely guest house. Sheila & Mick are brilliant hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The whole place is spotless and the furnishings have been chosen well. Breakfast was great, a lovely choice and everything of the best quality. This was our first visit to the Middleham...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneB559

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 km away
Wentworth Guest House
Wentworth Guest House
#116 of 152 in Whitby
130 reviews
0.3 km away
Highgate House
Highgate House
#64 of 152 in Whitby
40 reviews
0.6 km away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#112 of 152 in Whitby
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#23 of 152 in Whitby
541 reviews
0.2 km away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#15 of 152 in Whitby
258 reviews
0.4 km away
Cook's Quarters
Cook's Quarters
#42 of 152 in Whitby
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Middleham Guest House

Address: 3 Church Square, Whitby YO21 3EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: $126 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middleham Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Middleham Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Middleham Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Middleham Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early very popular if you want to get a room”
 of 5 bubbles 1teabag1, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Sea view is wonderful, proper clear view (stayed room 4). Think all the rooms will be good.”
 of 5 bubbles 339kerryl, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The back of the B&B has sea views. Front of the Hotel overlooks the church”
 of 5 bubbles robtheplod, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“The king size room at the rear was very spacious and had sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles V1562HCmichaelb, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the front look on to a quite street overlooking church but there is one room at the back which has views towards sea”
 of 5 bubbles VictoriaG9, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay