We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Haven Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Haven Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 482: English reviews
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent as always. Stevie has changed the breakfast from full English to continental. We found it to be a welcome change. A wide variety of items, hams, cheeses, boiled eggs, croissants, yogurt. You could order porridge, toast or toasted bagels. There was still a choice of cereals and in the warmer months fruit and yogurt will be back on. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen R
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely clean and friendly landlady who ensures your stay is comfortable . Good breakfast Easy to walk into the town centre, very central . Plenty of lovely places to eat such as the magpie fish restraunt , and rusty shears who do a fantastic selection of gins to drink . And a sharing cheese platter with lovely Yorkshire cheeses .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
Preston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked for two nights in November to stay at the haven guest house after a recommendation of the friendly staff and excellent breakfast on offer from a family member. The guest house and rooms are nicely furnished and the guest house is in an ideal location. We were disappointed with the continental breakfast provided although on trip advisor &... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Philip H
eastcres, Owner at Haven Guest House, responded to this review

First I would like to say to you that we did put on our website that from the 19 of November it will be a continental breakfast, but maybe you have not seen it or you had booked earlier in the year when we were still serving the English breakfast. You say the bread was hard, I did not serve... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Turned up in whitby for an overnight stay following an operation on Monday.. Found the haven! Beautiful views. Stevie the landlady had a bad few days but was warm and welcoming when we turned up. Beautiful room .lovely view. And lovely continental breakfast. Stevie took the time to sit and chat with us both and what a lovely chat we... More 

Helpful?
Thank pettym499
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped at the Haven for four days after getting engaged what a wonderfull choice it was spotlessly clean and Two wonderfull hosts can't praise the haven enough. Made our engagement complete will certainly be back

Helpful?
Thank Steve R
eastcres, Owner at Haven Guest House, responded to this review

Hope the weeding will be soon in 2017 have a wonderful life together. See you for the Honeymoon yeaaaaah.... x More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

what a fantastic place to stay !! rooms are beautiful and clean as is all of the hotel the hosts are friendly and welcoming and as for the breakfast ! well its all freshly cooked and delicious, the hotel is situated near the whale bones with fantastic views i would recommend this hotel to anyone

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dawnie460
Marton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came for Halloween!! Excellent comfortable warm room, good breakfast, location close to town centre would recommend for short trips good sea view and bits and bobs provided in bathroom to see you through

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emmavein
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The attention to detail is wonderful, you're made to feel special from the moment you arrive. It is beautifully presented and maintained, with lovely food and atmosphere . We highly recommend The Haven.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank philY6446OP
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely, friendly, clean and cosy guest house. Comfortable bed and luxury facilities. Can't wait to return. Great location with fantastic sea and Abbey views. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Bottles of water and biscuits were lovely added extras.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sueN3261RY
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here and we couldn't fault the place. The host was really nice and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was really good and plenty of choice. The views was amazing looking straight over to the harbour. Easy walking distance to everything.

Helpful?
Thank Karen W

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 km away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
234 reviews
0.2 km away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#23 of 152 in Whitby
533 reviews
0.3 km away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#40 of 152 in Whitby
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Number 5
Number 5
#51 of 152 in Whitby
154 reviews
0.2 km away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
307 reviews
0.9 km away
Woodside Villa
Woodside Villa
#85 of 152 in Whitby
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small luxury guest house on the west cliff at Whitby, managed by the owners Chris & Stevie Connell. Close to all amenities. King size fourposter beds & sea views, all rooms ensuite, Memory foam mattresses on some beds, WiFi available, welcome trays and flat screen TVs in every room, full English breakfast included. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our guest house. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Haven Guest House

Address: 4 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range: $121 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Haven Guest House Hotel Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Haven Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Haven Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room very warm so turned off the radiator .. not a problem for most people . Lovely clean and tea making facility . Great views of the sea front from the window .”
 of 5 bubbles 211SueA, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ensure you get a room with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles sueN3261RY, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 has a 4 poster bed and beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles Thistle62, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles lbugg121, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Sea view good. Ask for a parking permit - only £1 for up to 4 days if there is a space.”
 of 5 bubbles BRIAN19462015, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5