We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant

Show Prices
#5 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 569: English reviews
Leyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Room was lovely with a large four poster bed,very clean,Bathroon nice with shower but head was loose and didnt stay up but plenty of hot water.The only down side was the breakfast which was (apart fron poached egg ) very over done like it had been standing for a while.We would go again but probably not have full breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mollyw533
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. Shower all fixed and iv passed you message on about breakfast which hopefully will not happen again. Come back soon and try the new chef, our evening meals are fantastic.

Doncaster
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Stayed at Bagdale Lodge last weekend for the second time this winter. Excellent location, great' welcoming staff and a brilliant breakfast to set you up for the day, served in a lovely olde worlde dining room. Rooms very clean but not massive but who goes to Whitby to spend time in their room other than sleeping/getting changed etc? I think...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donny B
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, lovely to read and everyone has their favourite accommodation. Gas works all gone now so nice easy access again. Hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed 28th Feb with a group of 20 friends. Rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. The food was fresh and excellent. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the staff- they were friendly, police and nothing was too much trouble. Many thanks for a great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are rather awesome and I’m so glad you enjoyed everything. See you again soon hopefully.

Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2015 via mobile

Booked into room 2 which was very spacious to say the least,spotlessly clean. Staff,in particular Adele,very pleasant and professional,both evening meals and breakfast were superb,look forward to our next visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Iv let Adele know she is great (she now wants a pay rise). Great to see you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again soon.

Rocester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Stayed one night on Valentines day in the no.4 annex. Very friendly staff at check in and breakfast. Food (breakfast) was superb, and although the card machine was not working we were able to check out without any fuss - very professional. The only downside was that they remembered to charge us when it was fixed :) The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Andy-Cherry
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry we had to charge you but we need our holiday money as well. Look forward to seeing you again and il try not to break the card machine.

west yorkshire
Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on the 14th of feb in the bagdale 4 annex with a 4 poster bed. The room was a nice large room with tea and coffee. The full English was very nice too , I can't fault the hotel with its lovely and friendly staff and I'll be booking here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank poly9
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night, last little break for the year, our room was OK but up a steep hill in a separate building 50metres away from the main hotel.Breakfast choice was good, I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, very small portion of warm salmon and a huge pile of eggs, possibly ten! My husband had a full English breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Nice to see you enjoyed your stay but unfortunately I can’t flatten the hill. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 7 February 2015

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 1 night at the beginning of February. We arrived late and were met by mike the hotel manager who was very friendly and couldn't do enough for us we were offered to eat in the restraint for evening meal even though the resteraunt had just closed. The food was fantAstic by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Breckpearce
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So nice to see you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Herts
Reviewed 22 January 2015

We had booked a large table in the restaurant for a group of 20-odd but met up in the bar for a drink first. Socialising in a building that is 500 years old has a unique feel especially when you sit down to eat in the restaurant. Even though some of our group were a bit late the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P_Edantic50
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Nice to see people appreciating the fantastic building Bagdale Hall is. Great to see you had a wonderful evening and don’t leave it long before you return, we do some great offers in winter on rooms.

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Whilst the external character of the buildings is without doubt charming the interior is extremely tired. The general standard and cleanliness would not in our opinion would not warrant a 4 star rating. Whilst the staff were very pleasant and clearly working against the odds that was not enough to make up for the overall disappointing experience..

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank julie s
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. Very vague and little information which leads me to believe no time has gone in to this review. You say the hotel interior is tired and the cleanliness would not warrant a 4 star rating, I would of liked you to point this out at the time of stay as our standards are very high....

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.9 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,823 reviews
3.9 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
723 reviews
0.5 km away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
956 reviews
0.3 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
855 reviews
0.6 km away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 1 Bagdale | North Yorkshire, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: $190 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Whitby
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Skegness, England
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Durham, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try to get a room in the hall not the lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles richardZ4474XH, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the annex situated 50 meters up the road.”
 of 5 bubbles Garrag1972, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If possible choose a room in the Hall itself”
 of 5 bubbles 774reneem, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms in the adjoining annex are roomy and romantic”
 of 5 bubbles suemac2002, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the rooms with four poster beds - a bit bigger and more comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 903stevem903, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay