We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Wheeldale

Show Prices
#13 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Wheeldale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 329: English reviews
north lincolnshire, uk
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I like to visit Whitby once a year and this time stayed at the Wheel dale based on location ( near the pavilion ) We arrived to warm and friendly welcome. We had room no.2 which was warm clean and modern, it had an en suit shower sink, nice size double bed, tea and coffee facilities and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christian1978
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed one night in a double room which had a separate sitting room on the top floor of the B&B. We were given a parking permit on arrival allowing us to park on the main road where the B&B was located. The room was very warm, but comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was nice although the waitress wasn't very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rotelharp
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really pleased with our room which was on the first floor and had a side sea view. The bed was really comfortable and there was water, tea and coffee facilities, toiletries and a hairdryer in the room. Also a large flat screen to on the wall. After a good nights sleep breakfast included the usual cereals, fruit and fruit juices,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cliden
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent bed and breakfast, ideally located along the front, free permit parking outside, large room with a balcony overlooking the cricket ground. Room was a very generous size as was the bed. bathroom was on the small side but had everything we needed. Tea making facilities were good and a nice touch having a bottle of water. Breakfast this morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy B
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Very friendly owner and staff.Rooms clean and warm.Breakfast very good and I look forward to seeing the white cat again.Good parking and permit given free of charge.10 minute walk to the old town and was nice to able to get a drink out of the guest lounge fridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeroy c
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

I have been to the Wheeldale before and the owners are very friendly and genuine. The breakfast lady is still very good and the full English came quickly when I ordered it . The rooms are nice and I can see that the owners are trying to keep upgrading it. I will be returning again soon !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gazza 1
Mirfield
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

The manager was rude when we arrived and his 1st comment was regarding payment, at no time was there any courtesy and will not go back. The only positive was the breakfast which was nice but the person who served can only be described as a little hitler

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

We do not have the facility to preatherize cards so that is why payment is taken upon arrival.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Right on the sea front. Stayed in room 6 which is a mini suite in the attic. Bedroom, toilet and shower downstairs, upstairs a lovely sitting room with bathroom. 3 comfy chairs, a big tv and a fab view of the sea. Was a very windy rainy weekend in November when we stayed but both bedroom and sitting room were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline790
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Hi Caroline We very much appreciate your great review and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Peter

Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Needs a revamp, lile being in a dirty throwback from the 70s and dont even get me started on the 'customer service' skills of the staff...the manager 'peter' wouldn't know what manners were if they slapped him in the face! RUDE RUDE RUDE!!! Avoid at all costs, if u dont believe me just read his replys to the complaints made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chinonsooffor
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

I would advise anyone to avoid you at all costs. Some people like the so called 70's look and maybe you should spend your time learning to spell properly.

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Disappointed 😞. Managers were rude,unhelpful We were made to feel like shouldn't of bn there. Asked for payment as soon as we arrived, hadn't seen are room. When we left I asked for a refund. He was arrogant, once again. He said NO YOU ARE NOT HAVING YOUR MONEY BACK. Disgusted.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 15,623,117
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

NO no Refund will ever be given.

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.1 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,823 reviews
0.9 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
955 reviews
0.0 km away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#10 of 20 in Whitby
337 reviews
1.1 km away
White Horse and Griffin
1.0 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: $72 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wheeldale staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Wheeldale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think the earlier you book helps if you want a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles cliden, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 9”
 of 5 bubbles dorothyb582, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have sea views”
 of 5 bubbles davidelli0tt, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose room 3 which has bay window giving even better view”
 of 5 bubbles 575shirley, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Give it a try.”
 of 5 bubbles garciamark, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay