We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wheeldale

Show Prices
#13 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wheeldale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wheeldale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 346: English reviews
yorkshire
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Looking for a nearby break, chose Whitby and tripadvisor for accommodation decision. Phoned the Wheeldale that morning and they were very helpful, with any queries, especially regarding parking, which did appear to be an issue in the area. Lovely room, had the bedroom overlooking the cricket pitch. also separate toilet and shower in here. Upstairs in this suite was a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nasaYorkshire
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. 10/15 minute walk into the centre. Lovely clean hotel. Breakfasts range from fruit, yogurts, cereals, fruit juices tea coffee. Full English breakfast. Staff lovely too. Would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne B
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Many thanks for the top mark's on trip adviser.This kind of review is very much appreciated. Kind regards Peter

Clifton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Just got back from a 4 day stay had a lovely time, the room we had was a ground floor one overlooking the cricket pitch with our own front door. The room consisted of a room with a double bed, a door led to another room with twin beds and the bathroom had a Jacuzzi as well as a shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie T
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you gave us top marks on trip adviser. kind regards Peter

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Rude receptionist and rude owner , appalling customer service and utterly u helpful , we booked the wrong month by mistake, while this was fully our fault the owner couldn't have been more unhelpful or rude, contacted booking.com and won't be going at all now

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susannah T
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Huge spacious bedroom with balcony. Very powerful shower in the en suite. Comfortable bed. Modern decor (room looked newly decorated). Breakfast was hearty and tasty - great sausage. Parking on the drive but also given a parking permit for the town which was a great added extra. Only a short walk from the town centre. Thanks for your hospitality.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah A
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the top mark on trip adviser and Ford butcher's will be pleased that you enjoyed the sausages. Hope we see you again very soon. Kind regards Peter

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

The room we had was extremely nice and large but we would choose somewhere else to stay next time I think. The cleanliness and decor of the hotel (minus the bathroom) were very good however the hospitality of the staff is disappointing and not very welcoming, during a 2 night stay we saw the management once. Whilst waiting to check...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ameel123
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Warm and comfortable rooms with a gorgeous view of the sea! decor maybe not to my taste but very clean and well kept. The staff were helpful and couldn't do enough for you and the location is lovely, close to the town (but not too close) and ideal for a coastal walk!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deedeecookie
north lincolnshire, uk
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I like to visit Whitby once a year and this time stayed at the Wheel dale based on location ( near the pavilion ) We arrived to warm and friendly welcome. We had room no.2 which was warm clean and modern, it had an en suit shower sink, nice size double bed, tea and coffee facilities and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christian1978
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review and we all look forward to seeing you again including all the cats. Peter

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night in a double room which had a separate sitting room on the top floor of the B&B. We were given a parking permit on arrival allowing us to park on the main road where the B&B was located. The room was very warm, but comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was nice although the waitress wasn't very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rotelharp
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Really pleased with our room which was on the first floor and had a side sea view. The bed was really comfortable and there was water, tea and coffee facilities, toiletries and a hairdryer in the room. Also a large flat screen to on the wall. After a good nights sleep breakfast included the usual cereals, fruit and fruit juices,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cliden

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.1 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,945 reviews
0.9 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,050 reviews
0.0 km away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 km away
Saxonville Hotel
Saxonville Hotel
#11 of 20 in Whitby
278 reviews
0.9 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: $105 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wheeldale staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Wheeldale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a sea view”
toniam881, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 12 a large double room with an attached twin room, on ground floor suitable for a family.”
rodney682, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 9 has a small shower room. Very quiet.”
simonwI2882TQ, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think the earlier you book helps if you want a sea view.”
cliden, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 9”
dorothyb582, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5