We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grand Hotel & Spa

CancelonUS$197*
View Deal
#6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$365*
US$197*
Great Deal
US$205*
US$199*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
The Grand Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,796 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,750: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Stunning hotel and surroundings but very expensive for what you get. Staff stand around not interested. I have submitted a complaint 4 weeks ago but not even bothered to reply. Room bill put under door during the night (rude). Bill was also wrong..things on there not even had?? not even showed to room at check in...just given key..Told I would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Oliver D
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Oliver D Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Grand Hotel and Spa. I am sorry that you did not feel your stay with us was up to your standards, and if you could elaborate some more I would be happy to look into these matters for you. We do allow guests...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Not quite as good as our first visit a year or so ago.our room was perfect and a lovely size with a huge bathroom and the bed was really comfy.we were out all evening and came back to a really busy buzzy bar which added to the atmosphere of the place and they serve wonderful 'gin and tonics' so the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david w
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear David w Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us at the Grand Hotel and Spa. I am delighted to hear that in the main you had an enjoyable stay with us, particularly our wonderful cocktail bar and some of our 20 different varieties of Gin, if you havent tried them all then you really...

SurreyEnglandUK
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Hotel in good condition. Refurb 5 years ago. Room on 5th floor good but could probably get cold in winter. Heating good but single glazing due to listed building. Noisy on saturday night. Location good for all parts of city.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SurreyEnglandUK
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear SurreyEnglandUK, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are exceptionally lucky to be situated in such a prime location within the wonderful City of York and are currently looking forward to a complete redesign of the hotel decor including...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at The Grand to celebrate our 2 year anniversary. It is a special hotel for us as we usually have our romantic christmas break at the hotel. Our 2 previous visits have been truly 5 star in every way, however this visit even though very nice failed to meet the high standards we have come...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kate m
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear kate m Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel and Spa. I am sorry that your stay with us did not live up to the past experiences and that we let you down in some aspects of your visit. We should not have charged you a tray charge for...

Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

We have been going to York for 16 years, and have stayed in most of the hotels there. As it was a specially occasion we decided to spend a little extra, and stay at the Grand. We wasn't disappointed, the standard room was spacious with excellent facilities. Staff were extremely helpful, courteous and approachable. My husband is in a wheelchair,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmaleeson
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mrsmaleeson, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and pleased to hear that the team were able to look after you so well, especially in providing the perfect facilities for yourself and your husband. With regards to our car parking...

Reviewed 5 November 2015

We visited as a surprise birthday treat for me and this hotel didn't disappoint! The check in was very good, the porter was really friendly and professional and then we got to the room..... As the door opened it was a step back in time, but in a good way. The room was decorated in a traditional manner, but everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chris L, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and pleased to hear that the team were able to look after you so well on your surprise birthday stay. We are exceptionally lucky to be situated in such a beautiful...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a dinner,room and spa deal. Large room, but like another poster, we found the bathroom 'hot' water to be tepid. My wife loves to unwind and enjoy a lovely hot bath, but simply wasn't able too, despite the premium costs charged. We called the concierge, who couldn't help, and then the manager came up, after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billtrench
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear billtrench Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Grand Hotel and Spa. I am sorry to hear that there was some issues with your hot water and that we were unable to provide you with an alternative room due to the occupancy of the hotel on that given night. We have investigated...

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

Negatives - shower pressure not the best. Bar prices very expensive, and the table service in the bar could have been better in terms of prompt service. Positives : everything else. Second only to The Colonnade in London as a 'wow' room. Customer service the best I've had the pleasure of experiencing. Location perfect. It's expensive to stay here but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith N
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Keith N, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and pleased to hear that you were particularly impressed with your room and the team were able to look after you so well. It is a very exciting time for us...

Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed for one night on 29 October 2015..It was to celebrate my 50th birthday.. Everything was excellent from arrival to departure. We had an excellent meal in their restaurant used the spa facilities and due to the weather the umbrellas that were provided were very much needed and appreciated. Thank you to everyone you are so professional and friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Julie C, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it’s great to know that we were able to look after you so well on your special birthday. It’s wonderful to hear you were able to make the most of...

Flint Mountain
Reviewed 2 November 2015

From the moment we arrived until we checked out we treated like royalty. Our car was taken away and parked for us and we were warmly welcomed into the hotel. Every single member of staff, without exception, were professional and friendly throughout our time there. We stayed two nights in the Penthouse Suite (room 501) which was absolutely outstanding. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamFlintMountain
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear PamFlintMountain, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it’s great to know that we were able to look after you so well throughout the hotel - with particular mention to our delicious Afternoon Tea! It is a very exciting...

1,240 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (842)
Viewed
Room/Suite (199)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (137)
Viewed
Bathroom (81)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (363)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (335)
Viewed
Accessible Classic Room (40)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (38)
Viewed
Executive Room (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
Master Suite (48)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
1,109 reviews
3.1 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,135 reviews
0.9 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hudson's
Hudson's
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $250 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grand Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
65 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (65)

Questions? Get answers from The Grand Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“402 is a fabulous room.”
908RobertM, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Just enjoy the hotel and the beautiful City of York. Try the cocktails, they are superb.”
202DianeN, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“We are unable the answer questions on the rooms, we had Afternoon Tea only”
672GinaG, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room on an upper floor”
BarbaraR58, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Front room”
686ay_eg_ld, 9 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$197* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$205
Expedia.comUS$199
AMOMAUS$365
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates