We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton York

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton York
Hilton York
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,583 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,535: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We booked for a christmas stay and were so disappointed with the hotel and the standards. The rooms were dated, tired and lacking in space. The bathroom was particularly cramped and really out of character with the hilton brand. The lights in the room, 3 in total, did not work and the place just felt it needed a total revamp....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lee B
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Lee B, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay. Your comments have been noted and we will act upon them as it is important to us that all guests are comfortable during their stay. Sorry to read that you will not be returning to...

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Good location for exploring or nightlife, not far from the train station and close to most attractions. Good clean rooms and polite staff. Usual heated buffet breakfast but still a good hotel if you can get it at a competitive price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ste236
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Ste236, Thank you for your kind comments. Delighted you enjoyed our location and breakfast and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the near future. Kind regards, Martin Bradnam Hotel Manager

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015

In agreement with other reviewers ,not the best Hilton in the World but if you are looking for a comfortable,clean and extremely well located hotel in York then this is it. The highlight was the breakfast which was excellent made even better by the lady cooking the eggs . Great to find someone who clearly enjoyed her job and where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a33lex
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear a33lex, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Hilton York. Pleased to read you had a good stay and enjoyed our Hilton breakfast especially our Breakfast Chef which I will be sharing your feedback with her and my team. Thank you for choosing the Hilton York and I look forward to welcoming you back in...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Great location for accessing York Centre, has car parking facilities which has recently been improved. The garage is located underneath the Hotel and was always quite difficult to drive in and out, they now have a valet service. This is great but a nightmare too as you have to leave your car parked outside the hotel where there is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betty M
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Betty M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. Pleased to read that you found our car parking valet service good and our central location great for visiting Yorks attractions. Your comments have been noted and will be passed to the relevant Department Managers for their attention. I hope we have the...

northamptonshire
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

We loved the location of this hotel opposite Clifford's tower and a short walk from the shambles and old York . On arrival the staff were lovely our room wasn't ready so we left our luggage and went for a walk On our return this is were it could all have gone wrong . Our room didn't smell to good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knight53
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear knight53, Thank you for your five star review. I am pleased to read you had a good stay despite the room changes but pleased to read my team did their best and made sure you were both comfortable for the duration of your stay. I will be sharing your feedback with my team as they work exceptionally hard delivering...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Me and my partner stayed here for one night whilst visiting York checking out the christmas markets and touristy things etc. I have to say I was left quite disappointed by this Hilton Hotel and looking at tripadvisor I agree with some of the negative comments from guests. I will say its a nice enough hotel but unfortunately I'm sorry...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David0ff82
Liverpool
Reviewed 27 December 2015

This hotel is NOT like other Hilton hotels we have stayed in. It doesn't even come close to Hilton's cheaper brand of Doubletree, which is much more luxurious than this hotel. The problems started when we attempted to drop bags off when we arrived early in York. We got to the hotel to find one person on reception and joined...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paulos_C_23
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Paulos_C_23, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I am sorry to learn that you had an unsatisfactory stay. I was most concerned to learn that you were disappointed with the size and standard of the room you were allocated. Whilst as I am sure you will appreciate that the size and...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2015

Although it is in an ideal location the actual Hotel was tired and in need of a major refurbishment . Shower had virtually no water pressure worst shower ever in any hotel or guest house that iv'e ever stayed in . The shower was so poor had no choice but to use the 2/3 size bath no good when your...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jonny L
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear Jonny L, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear of your poor experience here at our Hotel and I would like to personally apologise for any disappointment caused. Please rest assured that I will be speaking directly to the relevant departmental Managers to ensure that the...

Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

Really enjoyed our recent stay here. On arrival we were given a complimentary upgrade into a room two tiers up from our booked room due to a Christmas party. We will no doubt stay here again. Lovely breakfast with so many options. The staff were polite and friendly. Couldn't find a fault with anything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear James W, Thank you for your five star review. Delighted you enjoyed your recent stay, had a good room and found our Hilton Breakfast great. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Kind regards, Martin Bradnam Hotel Manager

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2015

We were rather apprehensive after reading negative reviews on TA.However we needn't have worried as we had a great stay at the Hilton which cost £111 in a double room with two beds with breakfast.We pulled up outside the hotel,handed in our car keys at Reception and our car was parked in the underground car park. Check in was smooth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EveGlos_UK
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review

Dear EveGlos_UK, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at Hilton York. It is really rewarding to receive such kind comments about my team members and the service they deliver. I also appreciate your feedback regarding our car park valet service and pleased you found our beds comfortable. Thank you for recommending the HIlton...

459 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (316)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Other (141)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (23)
Viewed
Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Novotel York Centre
0.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,030 reviews
0.6 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $149 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton York staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one with no door to next room - you can hear everything!”
 of 5 bubbles Joannafb, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“join their club and check in online to choose a good room”
 of 5 bubbles cadamstam, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room with a view of the tower which we appreciated”
 of 5 bubbles TigerHull_uk, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not next to the lift / fire doors !!!”
 of 5 bubbles WILLIAMW681, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms to the front of the hotel, especially on lower floors.”
 of 5 bubbles Bob1109, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5