We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Avondale Guest House

Show Prices
#42 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Avondale Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avondale Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 250: English reviews
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Decided to avoid big hotels for a change and stay in a B and B. This was just the ticket. The owner very friendly and knowledgable. And what a choice of breakfast! Superbly cooked to your choice of six options on the 'menu'. A short walk into the City. Definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve B
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Carole and Wendy were so lovely and attentive to our needs. Such a lovely guesthouse which we cannot rate highly enough and will certainly be recommending the beautiful Avondale Guest House in York to everyone we know. Definitely more like 4/5 star accommodation with amazing breakfast too ! Thank you so much ladies for looking after us and to Carole...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicky5050
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Great location for a couples holiday in york or business personal looking for an overnight stay. Located 10mins walk from the centre of York and provided us with a parking pass each with the room. Great rooms with modern ensuite facilities however during my stay the shower didn't work but was allowed another to use during my stay. Great breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew H
carolekaleda, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Matthew for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate the feedback, it is important to help us resolve any problems with the house. I would like to apologise for the faulty shower during your stay, this was only installed in September but it had a faulty cartridge, however, this has now been replaced and in...

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful quaint guesthouse owned by the lovely lady Carole who couldn't do enough for us. Carole carried our bags in for us, right up to our room at the top of the house, sorted out parking for us & gave us a brief tour guide about the city. Nothing is too much trouble for Carole & the ladies who served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaxineThornhill
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Really felt at home, nothing seemed too much to do for us and make us feel welcome. The food was excellent,the tourist advice was first rate. I would recommend Avondale to friends wanting a stay in York near the city centre.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cyril Y
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Excellent stay once again, Carole and staff are 1st class and nothing is too much trouble, breakfasts are to die for (we didn't have the whisky porridge this year but it's a must have) rooms are great and well equipped, they know how to make you feel at home. See you next year ladies and many thanks again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank parkinson56
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the poppy and daisy rooms. Both very good en-suite facilities with just about everything you could possibly need. Poppy room perfect, daisy room very good if slightly small. Hosts very welcoming and very knowledgeable about local area. Breakfasts were superb with a wide choice and they are very happy to change anything you want. Located in a very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caralden2015
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Just returned home from a 2 night stay with carol and her lovely helper at Avondale in York, nothing was two much for these two women, we left some champagne in our room to have after the races , ( we where there celebrating our wedding anniversary) on our return there where 2 champagne flutes on the side, it's little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suggy2016
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

An excellent stay for three nights. Accommodation very good, excellent breakfasts and walking distance from York city centre. Very friendly and accommodating staff, very helpful and knowledgeable about the attractions in the area. Highly recommended. Thank you Carole.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter E
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Spent 2 wonderful nights at Carole's beautiful Victorian home. She is a wonderful and warm host who provided us with all sorts of information about the city, places of interest and amazing breakfasts, which gave us with the energy to hike all over York. Her home is nice and close to both York Minster and the Shambles and both are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom S

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 206 in York
324 reviews
0.7 km away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#41 of 206 in York
457 reviews
1.2 km away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 206 in York
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#61 of 206 in York
169 reviews
2.3 km away
Heworth Court Hotel
Heworth Court Hotel
#62 of 206 in York
374 reviews
1.6 km away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#32 of 206 in York
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable and friendly Avondale Guest House is perfectly located in a wonderful vibrant area just 5 minutes walk from the river and the ancient city walls. We offer all en suite rooms, a fabulous choice of breakfasts using all local ingredients, try our whisky porridge to start your day! We happily cater to all diets, we love York and will tell you all you need to know about what to see and where to visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Address: 61 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $123 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avondale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avondale Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor Twin.........great views.”
 of 5 bubbles faraway_9, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles 460lynnc, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The first floor rooms are lovely and quiet but not to many stairs as there is no room for a lift.”
 of 5 bubbles Annemarie3175, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Single room adequate & sunny in good weather.”
 of 5 bubbles lej711, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All room lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Transaat, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay