We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Saxon House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Saxon House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Saxon House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Hostess was not very welcoming, we were greeted at 12.45 with 'Check in's not until 1' and complaints about the amount of extra work needed for Saturday only bookings. Returning later to check in we were advised that we had to move to the Priory guest house opposite due to problems with the toilet. Can't comment on the quality of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barbara G
TheSaxonHouse, Owner at The Saxon House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the attitude of the woman, it is no excuse but the lady in question had received some deeply upsetting news which had affected her. Yes we did indeed have to move you over to the priory due to problems with one of our bathrooms, though it was apparent when another...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a wonderful time in York, but the only downfall was our accommodation for the night, We felt the pictures did not match reality. The room was small and dull, and we were not made aware of the building work that was being carried out outside our window. Also early warning- if requiring a parking space, arrive early as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nw2490
TheSaxonHouse, Owner at The Saxon House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do advertise that the car park is limited, The room which you booked if it was small then this probably means you booked a Single/Small double room which is what it says. We also apologise for the building work that was taking place though this was necessary for the building and to maximise the...

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We all thought that York was a GREAT place and we would definatley come back and visit again. Sadly the Saxon House let our break down. On arrival we felt we werent greeted in the best manor. The following listed let the Saxon house down. Sheets were not clean Towel stuffed up the fire place Door would not lock Had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caroline b
TheSaxonHouse, Owner at The Saxon House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Upon arrival it was stated that you could not check in until after one, as guests had not left yet. Also when arriving I had greeted you when you informed us that your car battery had run flat and tried my hardest to inform you of where to go we also informed you of different...

Leicestershire
Reviewed 15 February 2012

If you prefer your sterile chains go elsewhere. If you're like me and like a friendly welcome on arrival, a comfy bed in unique surrondings, a shower that wakes you in the morning and hearty breakfast then read on. You're about a ten minute easy stroll from the centre of York, so you can leave your car in the car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 66Hawkeye
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Room was quite small, and very hot. The hotel is close to the Barbican, but is quite a walk from the main attractions in York, especially if it's cold or wet. Hotel overall was clean. There are better priced, and better located hotels & b&bs in York.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GarethBaines
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed at The Saxon House Hotel for 1 night on 31st March 2010 (there was no option to select the correct year on tripadvisor) to celebrate my boyfriend's and friends boyfriend's Birthdays. We occupied 2 rooms on the top floor; 1 for me & my boyfriend & the other my friend and her boyfriend. Both rooms were of a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairemc28
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I cannot remember the exact date of our stay, as it was 5 months ago, but i didnot get a chance to write a review earlier as i didnot have a pc at the time. Me and my boyfriend stayed for 4 nights, the first thing i noticed was that the mirror had not been cleaned, nor had the window....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hellamh
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Went with my boyfriend for a midweek 1 night break in york. Booked over the phone no probs. Location great only a 5 min walk to the town centre and there is a car park at the rear of the hotel, however you do have to move your car upon checking out. Check in was at 1p.m we were provided...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank emloveshols
sheffield
Reviewed 14 September 2011

A one night stay in the four poster bedroom. Great base to explore York and a lovely walk into the centre if you take the lady's advice and cross the street to walk in by the river. Complimentary bottle of wine was a nice surprise. Clean throughout and modern bathroom - small yes but aren't the bathrooms always small in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank peteinengland
Swansea
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Lovely welcome, friendly staff, beautiful breakfast every morning. Our family room at the top was lovely and comfy beds. Fresh towels every day.Ideal situation, as bus stop across the road which would take you straight into town. You could even walk into York.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nicola P

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 km away
No 71 Bed & Breakfast
No 71 Bed & Breakfast
#158 of 205 in York
89 reviews
0.0 km away
Lighthorseman
Lighthorseman
#71 of 205 in York
176 reviews
0.2 km away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#89 of 205 in York
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.0 km away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#40 of 205 in York
474 reviews
0.4 km away
The Holly Lodge
The Holly Lodge
#146 of 205 in York
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Saxon House

Address: 71/73 Fulford Road | Fishergate, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $94 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saxon House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Saxon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saxon House Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Saxon House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Saxon House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose somewhere else if you want a good room”
 of 5 bubbles sallyj279, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure. Avoid the family room!”
 of 5 bubbles ruthirving, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“park bench”
 of 5 bubbles 24chasb, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“This apartment had 2 rooms on the top floor both very comfortable and airy.”
 of 5 bubbles charlucy0191, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Back rooms quieter as front rooms on street but higher you are the traffic noise muted.”
 of 5 bubbles W7036MCmaryt, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5