We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hazelwood

Save
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (239)
Dining (18)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good19%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“quiet street”(26 reviews)
“york minster”(35 reviews)
“electric shower”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Breakfast included
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for The Hazelwood
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
302
83
25
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
302
83
25
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetyork minsterelectric showerfour poster bedshort walkleave the carcooked breakfastfull english breakfaston arrivallovely roomeasy walking distancelovely breakfastperfect locationblack puddingbiscuitstwo nightsstayed for one night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018

The hotel is within walking distance to most of York's main attractions. Even with this proximity to the centre of York, The Hazelwood is on a quiet residential street. We noticed that parking could be an issue given the lack of space available. Our 'superior...More

1  Thank James w
Response from IanMcNabb, Owner at The HazelwoodResponded 21 January 2018

Thank you for your meticulous review and for bringing out the many positive aspects of your stay and The Hazelwood. I personally spoke to you at length when you were collecting your luggage on the way to the station and you certainly did not mention...More

Reviewed 27 December 2017

Paid £270 for 2 nights, told abruptly no breakfast as chefs mother recently deceased. No offer of refund, as a diabetic I wanted to eat in the establishment I had booked. £270 for 2 nights is not cheap and when you are informed no breakfast...More

Thank ajmellor1967
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We've stayed at the Hazelwood every year for the past 3 years as we have an annual work commitment in York, and we have always been extremely happy. This time was a major disappointment. As previous reviewers have noted, there is now no breakfast option...More

Thank AndyMont
Response from IanMcNabb, Owner at The HazelwoodResponded 27 December 2017

I am particularly sorry that you, as a returning guest were disappointed. On previous occasions you have always left for work before our usual breakfast times and we (Sharon) has come in early to cook a light breakfast for you. Since it has not been...More

Reviewed 20 December 2017

Big black mark 4 weeks prior to our arrival the guest house stopped serving breakfast, and didn't warn us. The good breakfast reviews had been a factor in selecting the Hazelwood for our celebratory weekend so we were not amused! We had not pre booked...More

Thank Jan A
Response from IanMcNabb, Owner at The HazelwoodResponded 22 December 2017

What a review! A very unhappy guest! And perhaps understandably so given that we were without heating for the best part of your stay albeit for reasons which we could not possibly have foreseen but for which we nevertheless apologise. And I cannot take issue...More

Reviewed 18 December 2017

We recently had a lovely room in the Hazelwood for two nights, bed was comfortable and the room was clean warm and nicely decorated. The only problem was the lack of breakfast which we had expected since we had booked well in advance in August...More

Thank catherine p
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in York, United Kingdom
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Details
Price range
US$119 - US$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$119 - US$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (239)
Dining (18)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
glyn188
February 28, 2016|
Answer
Response from broccolihead | Reviewed this property |
I don't think so
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We were on the top floor"
Read review
"Amazing cleanliness in the restaurant"
Read review
"If you have heavy lugagge, there are rooms on the first floor. Make sure to ask for them because there are..."
Read review
"We had chosen a Large Superior Room."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing