The Quays Hotel

The Quays Hotel

Crow Lane Little Billing, Northampton NN3 9DA England
Traveller (69)
Bed
Room & Suite (18)
Premier Inn Northampton Gt Billing / A45 restaurant interior
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#10 of 27 hotels in Northampton
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Family
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
First aid kit
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Crow Lane Little Billing, Northampton NN3 9DA England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
Birmingham Intl Airport
67.6 km
See all flights
Luton Airport
50.9 km
See all flights
791Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 348
  • 196
  • 138
  • 59
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Janet T wrote a review Jul 2020
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived for book in at 2pm, used the hand sanitiser station at entry and the one way queuing system. The the process itself was very long winded as the poor lady on the desk was having problems with the computer system and had no one to help. She had to be given instructions over the phone to book us in successfully. She was very apologetic for the wait. Screens were in place on the desk but no mention of face masks to be worn by guests in communal areas. The screen did make it hard to hear what was being said at times.

The room was spotless as expected but didn't smell freshly cleaned, more stale air. I didn't find it as bright and cheery as some of the newer premier inns we've been to stay at. The bathroom was small but functional. It was comfortable and very quiet which is what I like.

Our only niggle was we had no coffee mugs, I had to go and ask for them and they were very quickly handed over in a bag.

The TV wouldn't turn up louder than 15 which on quiet programs meant we couldn't hear it from the bed, I had to adjust sound settings to music on the equaliser to get louder volume from the internal TV speakers.

The pub was not open so we had chips from the chippy next door which were good, quite a busy place though. There was no breakfast of any kind on offer as a result of the pub being closed.

The room was very hot 21 degrees when we arrived which shot up to 25 degrees over night. Thankfully we had a fan in the room to keep us cool.

For those who like 2 pillows you need to ask as the beds come with a single pillow each. You also have to ask for extra tea, coffee, etc..

All in all a good enough stay. A note of advice check for special offers, my original booking for the date was £85 I cancelled and rebooked before the reopening dates and only paid £55 for our family room. Bargain!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RosieW00 wrote a review Feb 2020
Brampton, England, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've stayed here once before and it was great last time too but this stay I felt a review was needed as the receptionist was just wonderful. I didn't catch his name but our stay was 20th Feb and we arrived around 6pm. The receptionist was so warm and welcoming the minute we arrived, told us we had a view of the 'lake' out the back of the hotel which the children would enjoy.
We needed a travel cot and there wasn't already one in the room so he went and got us one, he then brought sheets and a thick piece of foam to use as a mattress (as let's face it travel cots must be so uncomfortable!) once the cot was set up in our room, he made sure it was comfortable for our almost 2 year old. Honestly the friendliest and most caring service we have ever received an absolute asset to the Premier Inn name. The hotel it self is lovely, clean and quiet. We will be back. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pattie310852 wrote a review Aug 2020
Grantham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I stayed for 3 nights, upon arrival we were told we were in a first floor room and there was no lift, but they were fully booked and couldn't relocate us and no one to helped with our cases.
The room was supposed to be thoroughly cleaned, but there was half a biscuit under one of the beds.
However the beds were comfortable and the room was quiet.
We arrived for breakfast, my friend is coeliac and can't eat gluten, she asked for cornflakes and got moaned at because they weren't on the menu, but they did have some in the kitchen and were served grudgingly. We had this all 3 mornings, she also asked for gluten free toast, which was on the menu, but was only served it for the first morning because after that they ran out. I asked for the greek style yogurt which was on the menu, but was offered ordinary yogurt instead each morning because they had run out of that as well. Not very food friendly for people with special dietary requirements and poor management not having something 3 days running.
Guests were required to wear face masks, but no one did.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you have difficulty carrying your luggage upstairs ask for a ground floor room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaryEastAnglia wrote a review May 2021
East Anglia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here before and really enjoyed the stay. My bed wasnt made properly I had to re do the sheet as it was hanging off and not tucked in. I only had 1 bath towel but fortunately the room was warm enough to air it out.
I decided to have breakfast as I know how lovely the breakfasts usually are. Of course due to restrictions it was not a buffet breakfast but the cost is still the same. The baked beans on both days looked like they had been seived as there was barely any sauce. There was 1 smallish mushroom. I was not offered cereals or toast and jam and had to specifically ask. I was made to feel I was being greedy and on the second day I didnt bother!
One other point is they leave your room for a minimum of half an hour after you've left to clean it? Where do they think the virus is going as no windows were open. I can only suggest it gets bored waiting and leaves the room via a plug hole!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Surrey_Zebra wrote a review Aug 2022
Guildford, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately this property is situated close to a water treatment/sewage works so we had to put up with a nasty odour for the duration of our overnight stay. The hotel isn't air conditioned so on a warm night you just have to either put up with the heat (as we did, not very well!) or open the window and try not to let the smell affect you.

The hotel as a place to stay was otherwise close to but below the standard of other Premier Inns we have stayed at.

Breakfast was always a highlight but unfortunately the offer from the pub next door was quite poor in terms of freshness even thought they did provide everything that was advertised.
Coffee was from a filter coffee pot, so luke warm and not very good.
Juices were from concentrate and served at room temperature (the boxes to refill were from catering packs on the table).
Pastries were from mass produced packaging so a bit tough and tasteless.
The cooked food was precooked and kept warm in large pots (previous Premier Inns we'd stayed at made the eggs and pancakes to order) as a result were hard and rubbery and in the case of the bacon, the bits in the bottom were covered in fat.
The fresh fruit seemed to be a selection of bananas that probably needed two days on the shelf before being served.

We won't be returning to the PI in Billings.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on the side facing the water are probably less noisy as there is a large carpark that...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kimberley E wrote a review Aug 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and another stayed here for a 4 night break while attending Silverstone.
We were greeted by Denzel on reception who was friendly and helpful, although clearly stressed.

We checked into our rooms for the night, settling with our children around 10pm. We were woken after midnight by loud stomping and door banging from the room above.
This continued until 2am when i went to reception to ask if something could be done about the constant noise waking myself and my children. I was told they would enquire with the group in the room as they were "coming and going for fags".
The noise continued until 315am.
This continued on the next night of our stay.
Morning of day 3 and we returned to an empty reception desk. After over 5 minutes Denzel appeared full of apologies staying he was on housekeeping duties due to low staff.
This was not an issue a we could see he was very stressed and looked exhausted.

He explained about low staff levels, low stock and having a stretched team pulling together to help in each others duties.
He also explained he would look into the issues we were having with the noise throughout the night as he had not been informed when he started his shift.

On returning to the room late on our last day at the hotel, again there were no staff on reception.

We hoped things would improve but they didn't. Again, lots of noise from the rooms above, constant walking around in their rooms, doors banging, keeping myself and my children awake.

As we checked out, we asked the staff at reception if we could speak to management about our stay.
Management was not available. We spoke with Denzel and a young lady on housekeeping about the issues we had. They had received other complaints from guests also and we looking into the issue.

The staff at this hotel are massively overworked, tensions were running high, which unfortunately was clear for guests to see.

The car park was littered with empty beer bottles, coffee cups and takeaway containers, making for an unsightly parking area.

We have given feedback to Premier Inn about the sleepless nights and stressed atmosphere within the hotel.

The staff we did encounter were very helpful and professional but had no upper management available to report to.
We will not be staying at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antony A wrote a review Jun 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

Hotel:
Cheap stay however that is no excuse for the very low standards set at this hotel.
Main hotel areas and corridors were filthy especially floors (looked as if they hadn't been hoovered for many months). The bathroom had a problem with the drainage which let off an awful smell. Dried drops of blood around bathroom basin. Lots of hair laying around in bathroom. Only one towel for 2 guests.

Breakfast:
Was told it would be 20 minutes before we were served. One hour later, our order was taken. One hour after that, we received our side order of toast and then the cooked breakfast was served 30 minutes after that. Served with the wrong breakfast that was cold to touch. I returned the breakfast and left. The same happened to other people at 3 other tables in the restaurant.
I will not waste my money on this dirty company again!!

All reported to receptionist who agreed with my concerns and gave me a card with guest relations email address on and told me to put it in an email to them and I'll be fully refunded. They came back just thanking me for rasing my concerns, when I asked to escalate my complaint, I was told that I had no grounds to.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kimberley_Elliott wrote a review Aug 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we parked in a car park littered with empty beer cans, bottles and coffee cups.

Met in reception by friendly but clearly stressed reception staff member, Denzel.

A poor night sleep due to occupants of the room above stomping around relentlessly through the night.
Went to reception in the morning to comment on the noise. Nobody available. Was told Denzel would return shortly but he was covering house keeping.

Returned to room that evening, nobody in reception area at all.
Settled with kids for bed at 10pm. Woke after midnight to more stomping and doors banging upstairs. This continued every 20 minutes until at 2am i went to reception. Met Riccardo and explained the noise was waking me and my children. He said they were "going for a lot of fags" but would go and check on the room.
Well, the noise continued until gone 3am.
The following morning we spoke with the other family holidaying with us who also said they had broken sleep due to banging and walking in the room above. They had mentioned it to the early morning staff.
Over the course of our for night stay, neither party in our group had a 'guaranteed great nights sleep' and nothing was done to stop the constant overnight noise off the rooms above. Management wasn't available to speak to and the staff were at breaking point, stressed with the extra work put on them. This was explained to us on checking out.
The hotel will be lucky to retain any of the overworked, unhappy staff we encountered on our visit.
Although helpful, they were limited with what assistance they could offer.
The only positive from our experience was the friendly welcome we received each morning at breakfast from the pub staff. Fantastic service with a smile and great food.
Chatting with them, they also explained the stress out on the staff of the hotel.
Negative experience with horrendous nights sleep and staff stressed, which was obvious to guests! A very tense atmosphere.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kateCornwall2023 wrote a review Jun 2023
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Accessible rooms do not have an accessible shower or even a shower stool available. I have a broken leg so was unable to use the bath even though I had my protective waterproof covering with me as it was too dangerous to get in or out, no non slip mat available either!
Room very stuffy at night despite windows open and a fan on, no air conditioning - limited sleep and woke with a banging headache as a result!
No accessible plug on the accessible side of the bed
The bed was extremely comfortable and large. The room was also spotless but that was about it!
Breakfast was diabolical - not quite inedible but definitely not up to the usual Premier In standards
Greene King pub next door for dinner was passable but very basic and not particularly clean!
Occupied caravans that have clearly been there a while in the car park are a little off putting on arrival!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Omanyte_99 wrote a review Aug 2021
Grantham, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A normally satisfied Premier Inn customer, I was very disappointed by the condition of the room on a recent business trip. Even after raising the issue with management, there were a few minor improvements made but still it was not thoroughly cleaned through. I will definitely never return to this particular Premier Inn and it has made me wary of other Premier Inn stays in future… 😞
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at The Quays Hotel
Responded Aug 25, 2021
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Whilst we're happy you stayed with us and you usually enjoy your visits, we're sorry your room wasn't up to our usual standard on this occasion. We can imagine you were left feeling let down and this certainly isn't how we want our guests to feel. We'd like to assure you we'll raise your comments with the Hotel Manager to see what improvements can be made going forward. We wouldn't want your experience to happen again so the Housekeeping team will be informed to ensure any necessary retraining is arranged and the best service is being provided. We hope you don't think twice about returning so please have confidence this isn't our usual standard and your comments will be picked up. Thanks again for getting in touch and we hope to see you again soon. Ricky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve M asked a question Apr 2022
Devon, United Kingdom
Can we have ground floor room please
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton1 contribution6 helpful votes
Hi there, The Billing Aquadrone is just a short distance away from the hotel. Roughly a few minutes by foot. Kind Regards, Sharelle
jockholden asked a question Apr 2017
London, United Kingdom38 contributions21 helpful votes
How near is the hotel to The Oriental Paradise Restaurant?
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton1 contribution6 helpful votes
Hi We're located just around the corner from The Oriental Paradise & this takes under 5 minutes to walk to. I hope this helps Samantha
piacornwall wrote a tip May 2024
Penzance, United Kingdom43 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If disabled you MUST specifiy that or you could land up on the 1st floor with no lift. Food over weekend was COLD. My advice? go elsewher"
Read full review
Seamo wrote a tip Apr 2024
Loughborough, United Kingdom332 contributions134 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for an upstairs room to avoid hearing footsteps if in a ground floor room"
Read full review
REP 365 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Southampton, United Kingdom123 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the Steak fondue it's lovely"
Read full review
Reece wrote a tip Sep 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ring for marina side room"
Read full review
Lee A wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top service and room comfort enjoyed our stay and will return very soon "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Northampton area.
PRICE RANGE
C$99 - C$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn northampton great billing / a45 hotel northampton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthamptonshireNorthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Quays Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Quays Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Quays Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Trapp'd Billing (0.4 km), Billing Go Karting (0.4 km), and Potz Ceramic Studio ltd (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Quays Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at The Quays Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Quays Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Quays Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Quays Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Shed Cafe, Quays - Pub & Carvery, and Oriental Paradise.
Are there any historical sites close to The Quays Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Earls Barton Castle (4.8 km) and Little Houghton Stocks (2.1 km).
Does The Quays Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is The Quays Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Northampton HotelsNorthampton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NorthamptonHotels near The Quays Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars