We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hopping Hare

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hopping Hare
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 409: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I arrived for breakfast at 7am, only to be told that the breakfast chef has not arrived. To be fair the lady on duty did her best to apologise and provide toast, but this is not what was advertised or what I was looking forward to. I had to ask for a discount because of the lack of breakfast as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mitch B
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Mitch, Please accept my sincere apology for the lack of a cooked breakfast. Our breakfast chef was on holiday and a new member of the kitchen team was under the wrong impression that breakfast started at 7.30am and arrived at 7.10am. This is clearly not good enough but I am satisfied that this was a genuine mistake. I do...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was expecting a small hotel with good pub grub that had a rosette. We where met by very friendly staff and made to feel welcome, however this in no way can be described as a small country pub with a good food rosette. It's a plastic pub with plastic feel about it, all very clean and tidy and not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CommanderBiro
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear CommanderBiro, I am pleased that you found the staff to be very friendly, the bedrooms are nicely finished and that everything is clean and tidy and not expensive. However, I do not agree with your comments oh our food offer. We have an excellent team of chefs, we source all our produce from the highest quality suppliers and every...

Northampton
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited with my family for a Sunday lunch. Really nice food with plenty of options, lovely atmosphere and well decorated. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Hidden gem on our doorstep, would go there again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emma_Skudstone
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks, which is much appreciated. All our food is cooked to order by our excellent chefs using the very best local produce and I sincerely believe we are one of the very best restaurants in the county. Thank you for finding a hidden gem and we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Disappointingly small rooms, disappointingly disinterested staff, disappointingly not the friendly family owned/run feel to it as portrayed on their website - instead could be just another Wetherspoons ...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HotRev
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear HotRev, I'm sorry that you were disappointed. One of our highest priorities is to deliver exceptional customer service and generally the team deliver and I am very disappointed that this was not the case on this occasion. The Hopping Hare was formerly a Manor House and the bedrooms are of varying sizes and are priced accordingly. Kind regards, David....

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked 3 rooms here as it was close enough to walk back to after the Christmas family gathering. Although reception/check in is at the bar the staff were very friendly and explained all. Our rooms were clean and fresh , looks like newly refurbished.Not maned 24 hrs but key swipe gives you access to outer doors and phone numbers on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen P
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks, which is very much appreciated by us all. I hope that you had a great family get-together over Christmas and we look forward to seeing you again should you need to stay over in Northampton. Kind regards, David.

Northampton, Northants
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have had exceptional meals at the HH so decided to book Christmas dinner. We were a bit disappointed with the starter and main and did not think it was good value for £75 each. The roast potatoes were particularly bland and we were expecting more than boiled vegetables. We expected more for the money, also a friend had arranged...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nptonguy
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear nptonguy, I am really sorry that you were disappointed with your Christmas Day lunch, especially as you are a regular diner and have had excellent meals in the past. I have to say that the feedback we have had has been very good and I am sure that you will appreciate that there are significant additional staff costs relating...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

A party of 16 of us had a great meal at the Hopping Hare today. Their Christmas menu has plenty of choice including the traditional turkey etc. The service was excellent, all in all a great time was had by all. We will be back next year!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diane47uk
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Diane, Many thanks for a great review and for awarding the team top marks. The team give 100% commitment to delivering outstanding customer service and I am always most pleased when this is recognised and appreciated. I am delighted that your Christmas party for 2017 is already decided but we hope to see you many more times before then....

Pershore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Second visit to the Hopping Hare and we were again impressed. This time we booked a larger room with a bath and it was very comfortable. Fantastic, friendly staff make the place a pleasure to visit. The food is very good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was again first class. Best budget Hotel in the area by some distance.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JamesHickman777
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear James, Many thanks for your kind review, for recommending The Hopping Hare and for awarding the team top marks. Very much appreciated by us all. Our highest priorities are to serve excellent quality food and to deliver outstanding customer service and I am pleased we delivered on both. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, David.

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

The rooms are clean and pleasant, the bed is comfortable, the bathroom is well maintained and appropriately stocked, dinner was delicious and so was breakfast. Made a perfect overnight stop. Would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SussexChap1
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Sussex chap, Thank you. I am really pleased you had a perfect overnight stay. We are one of the very best restaurants in Northamptonshire and thanks for recommending us. We hope you are passing again soon and choose to stay with us again. Kind regards, David.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Booked a table for evening meeting with friends. My main course of cod loin on lentil base was very good. Plenty for me (a small woman) but anyone with bigger appetite would have needed a bigger portion or a pudding to supplement their meal. Puddings (which my fellow diners had) were generous. Prices not the cheapest but standard good and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cherokee2014
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Cherokee, Many thanks for your kind words and for awarding the team top marks. It is great when the efforts and commitment of our chefs and front of house staff are appreciated. We source from the very best suppliers, every dish is cooked on site and we do deliver outstanding value for money for the quality of our offer....

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
6.9 km away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
289 reviews
3.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
17.2 km away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
467 reviews
20.4 km away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
7.7 km away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#9 of 29 in Northampton
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When my family bought the Hopping Hare in 2006 our aim was to create an escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, somewhere just a bit different. A place to dine, stay or meet up and relax with friends, family or colleagues. We didn't want it to be stuffy, intimidating or over the top. We set about creating luxurious rooms, a subtle, sophisticated bar with a great selection of quality drinks and a restaurant offering some of the best food to be found in Northampton. As a family owned and operated business, we set the standards on service, value for money, atmosphere and personality. No detail has been overlooked in creating a hotel, restaurant and bar in Northampton with an individual blend of 21st-century chic, high standards and a laid back friendly feel that we are sure you'll begin to notice as soon as you step inside. We've got to know some of our guests well because they come back time after time. In fact, 2010 saw the completion of an extension to the hotel to meet increased demand for accommodation from a growing clientele. My team and I would love to welcome you to stay for brunch, lunch, dinner or just a drink. Once the Hopping Hare is on your radar we guarantee you'll be back. David George, General Manager ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hopping Hare

Address: 18 Hopping Hill Gardens | Duston, Northampton NN5 6PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Price Range: $127 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hopping Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Hopping Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopping Hare Northampton
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#5 Family Hotel in Northampton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hopping Hare staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
newcastle upon tyne

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hopping Hare staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better elsewhere for same money.”
 of 5 bubbles HotRev, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 is in the eaves and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SussexChap1, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We paid an extra £10 for a deluxe room for a bigger bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Brinylobster, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask about stairs etc if necessary...and book early as they are often full anyway!”
 of 5 bubbles tinasV5625WK, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They are small but very comfortable. Nice bathroom. Very clean. Excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles jbriggs4, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay