We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St James Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St James Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St James Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 605: English reviews
London
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

I'm not really a big fan of "boutique" hotels but the St James is incredibly well placed in the centre of Nottingham and, given its location, is fairly quiet. Car parking is round the side of the hotel in what appears to be a post-apocalyptic wasteland but, hey, it's handy! The staff were friendly enough and our room, although small,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garybons
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, your feedback is very much appreciated. It was great to read that generally you enjoyed your stay at the St James Hotel. Unfortunately due to the city location of the hotel we unfortunately do not have any private parking facilities on site, hence we offer our guests...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the St James Hotel for 3nts and it was a very comfortable stay. We booked an executive room, which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We were located on 4th floor where our room overlooked the car park. We booked a room only rate and if we wanted to have breakfast, we were advised to book the night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rhona W
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rhona Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us, and that you found your executive accommodation to be very comfortable. You especially note the cleanliness and spaciousness of the...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Parking - I Arrived having checked the day before to ask about parking and was told that it would be available. It wasn't, so I had to use the NCP next door. I was told the parking was validated so the cost would only be £10. It wasn't; there was a queue of people at the two machines at the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Damian D
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Damian Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your feedback it greatly appreciated. I was sorry to read of the issues you had with car parking. The hotel does not have any private parking facilities on site, hence we offer our guests car parking in the spaces...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016

I booked a room several months ago and at £60 a night (room only) I thought was rather expensive. I'm glad I booked so far in advance because the price had jumped to £88 for the same room when I checked a couple of days before I visited. But I arrived at the hotel last Saturday afternoon and was pleasantly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank matt_pool
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. The hotel does not have a set tariff for our room rates, they are generated purely by the availability at the hotel, time of year and by any major events taking place in...

Messingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Lovely lush hotel... we went with a group of friends and it's a perfect place to stay with the girls. Not expensive and you get a lot for your money. Customer service was excellent. Hotel toiletries were of a good brand too. Lift was broken to the top floor. These things happen so won't rate them down on that. Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CCecMorgan
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests, so it was brilliant to read that you refer to our hotel as being "Lush" especially noting our excellent customer service, good...

Essex
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We stayed here at the weekend as a birthday treat for me, we'd looked at other hotels in Nottingham but chose this one for location. It is centrally located but a tad difficult to find although that was probably the map readers fault (mine!) The rooms are really nicely decorated and very comfortable, however, the door was really ill-fitting so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hampcamp
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your feedback is greatly important to us. It was nice to read that generally you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments relating to the badly fitting bedroom door have been noted and I am pleased to report that...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Although my daughter (the bride) and her fiancé selected St James as the place they wanted for their wedding both her father and myself could not have been more satisfied with the total experience! The wedding coordinator was accessible approachable and very helpful. Likewise the rest of the staff made the last couple of days we have spent their as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane Thank you for taking the time to post your review in relation to your daughters wedding day, held here at the St James Hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated and are very important to us. It was lovely to read your fantastic comments relating to your daughters special day, and it was completely our pleasure to have played...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Decide to stay at St. James when the usual suspects (Hilton etc) had no family rooms for 2 adults and 2 children. What a pleasant surprise! A cool looking "boutique" hotel, with friendly reception staff and centrally located to the city Center. On site parking was a great plus point. The family room was a little smaller than expected, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrgoodfella
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the St James hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. It was lovely to read that you refer to us as a "cool looking boutique hotel" which was a pleasant surprise to you all. We have worked hard to produce an individual boutique hotel, so...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

If you are looking for a decent bed for the night in a central location, then this hotel will do it for you. Check in was great with a very pleasant receptionist. I have to say I was expecting a bit of luxury considering the price but was a bit disappointed. I regularly stay in this area and have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank K G
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. I was concerned to read that you referred to your accommodation as being basic and that you were disappointed . The hotel offers six different room types, so perhaps if you choose to stay with...

Norfolk UK
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Stayed for one night with family for Strictly Come Dancing at the Nottingham Arena. Spotlessly clean hotel in a good central location. Rooms clean and fresh. Check in and out by the lovely Coralie was both friendly and efficient. We had coffee sitting on the comfy sofas on arrival, the lady serving was polite and friendly. The 'could do better...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SuttonsNorfolkUK
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, your comments are very much appreciated. It was lovely to read your comments relating to the hotel and bedrooms being spotlessly clean, and that you found Coralie my receptionist to be lovely too. I will of course pass your comments on to her. I was however...

198 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
549 reviews
0.7 km away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.2 km away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#16 of 54 in Nottingham
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in a quiet area of Nottingham city centre adjacent to Nottingham Castle, the St James Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Nottingham train station and within a short drive of the M1 making the hotel a perfect choice for business and leisure travellers.Guest facilities include complimentary WIFI and onsite parking. Additional parking is available in the adjacent NCP car park. We operate a non smoking hotel policy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St James Hotel

Address: 1 Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6FL, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range: $98 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Square Nottingham
Hotel Rutland Square
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St James Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Dudley, United Kingdom

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from St James Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay elsewhere unless you are truly desparate.”
 of 5 bubbles traveller10185, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Crash pads are small but adequate.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyELancashire, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive Room was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Tim57_12, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 416 was very peaceful :)”
 of 5 bubbles louiseh963, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sixth floor was quiet - can't comment on the others.”
 of 5 bubbles oliderby, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5