We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,975 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Randolph Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,871: English reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2015

A bit of a mixed experience this one. Previously we’d visited the Randolph for a delightful afternoon tea, so booked for a mid-week break on a special occasion. The room had been recently refurbished so no complaints there. The champagne was a nice touch, as this was a special occasion. But at £200+ per night, I did not expect to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GM-MNS
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review. I was pleased the room was up to the mark and the complimentary champagne marking your occasion was well received. We always endeavour to ensure special occasions are acknowledged and we are refurbishing all our bedroom stock currently. The hotel has always charged for car parking. I am...

Alresford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Great Location. Lovely room other than building work outside. Great spa. However, dreadful service at breakfast and long queues at reception. Building work going on after recent fire created a lot of noise early in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary C
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and I am sorry that the service received marred your stay. Thank you for kind comments regarding the room. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and making repairs due to a fire back in April. We do have scaffolding on the front elevation and I do appreciate this does mar the...

Mitcham, Surrey
Reviewed 17 November 2015

A very disappointing experience. I appreciate the hotel is in the process of a facelift due to an unfortunate fire, but this in no way excuses the excessive charge on what I can only describe as an overrated "old and dated" hotel pretending to be something it quite clearly is not. At £249 per night, one would expect breakfast -...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Su D
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us. The hotel suffered a fire back in April and we reopened in May and have been receiving guests ever since. The vast majority have been happy with their stay and I am sorry this was not the case with your visit. We...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed my stay. Room freshly renovated, staff were all warm, friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Historic and interesting hotel, not a soul less chain type hotel. Great location, easy walk to everything. Staff very obliging with minding our bags prior to checking in and also after checking out on departure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PurpleGreenGirl
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us. The team were delighted when I shared them at our weekly meeting. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Michael Grange General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Having been at University in Oxford we had always thought of the Randolph as the luxury choice for a hotel so were really looking forward to seeing for ourselves.... Unfortunately the hotel is currently under scaffolding following a fire earlier in the year. It may be partly as a result of this that the public areas felt extremely crowded and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 101izzy
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. We are a busy city centre hotel in the heart of Oxford but endeavour to offer an efficient check-in service with a dedicated concierge team to assist all guests to their rooms and indeed with...

Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in November and were thoroughly disappointed with our stay. The room we were given (213) was fairly small and the floor was so uneven that it felt like you were walking up and down all the time. The bed was on a slope, and the mattress was so soft that it felt like you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JeleBristol
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review. I was very sorry to learn of your disappointment with Room 213. I shall be reviewing this room with our Head Housekeeper and indeed Maintenance Manager. We offer all our rooms with every confidence guests will be comfortable and I am sorry that you felt it was less...

hertford
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Stayed here after a trip to Blenheim. Furnishings and decor have seen better days but staff were really friendly and helpful. Especially the barman who went out of his way to make sure I had Fevertree tonic with my Hendricks. I loved the pillows on the bed really comfy. Separate bath and shower very nice. Hotel is in an ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamEHertford
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I was delighted by your comments following your stay with us. The team will be most motivated to learn of your praise in particular our Bar Team. We endeavour to ensure our guests receive the highest levels of service and I am pleased we lived up to this ideal. We are in the process...

Poulshot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

Utterly wonderful stay for my 21st birthday! The hotel team were excellent and made my birthday a right treat! A big thank you to Sam and Jenny who were so professional and went out of their way to upgrade us after a small problem with our room and make us feel so welcome! Thank you Randolph Hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HellieClarke11
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I was pleased we could be part of your special celebration. The hotel is a great destination for a short break or special occasion and we are right in the heart of the city of Oxford. I was pleased the team were able to assist with an alternative room when a problem was noted...

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We had a very pleasant stay at the Randolph, the room and bathroom were very comfortable, and the Molton Brown toiletries appropriate for the luxury. We had booked a twin room, so were a little surprised to find it set up as a double room, which was then remade at 6 pm. Not a big deal, but we felt we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fenella B
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review following your stay with us. I was pleased you enjoyed your time at the hotel. Many of our rooms have the option of a twin or double bed system. I am sorry this was not setup correctly prior to your check in. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team who will be...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 9 November 2015

I chose this hotel due to its location opposite the Ashmolean Museum in central Oxford where I spent the day on October 22nd. This stately hotel was under renovation while I was there so I was unable to comment on the façade. Inside, my single room tiny but sufficient for an overnight stay and the very modern en suite bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimWandMelG
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay. We offer various room types at difference tariff structures and our classic single rooms are popular with the solo or business traveller to the city. We are indeed right in the heart of Oxford and in walking distance of all major attractions and...

765 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (456)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (91)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (213)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (298)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Classic Suite (32)
Viewed
Executive Room (32)
Viewed
Modern Executive Room (30)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Single Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.5 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,122 reviews
0.5 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.2 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
625 reviews
0.8 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $260 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Randolph Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Bloomingdale, Illinois
1 month ago
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 month ago
surrey
5 months ago
Jerusalem
3 months ago

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Randolph Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get the biggest one you can afford”
 of 5 bubbles 48JohnW, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Opt for a room that includes access to the Executive Lounge - it's very pleasant and rather convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles Murphs56, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room - away from the noisy street side.”
 of 5 bubbles elizh974, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles johncX333BZ, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking St Giles are on the noisy side.”
 of 5 bubbles stricpa, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5