We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawkwell House Hotel

Save
Traveller (219)
Room & Suite (262)
Dining (79)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good39%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“iffley lock”(49 reviews)
“blue restaurant”(16 reviews)
“prince of wales”(21 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,131)
Filter reviews
1,081 results
Traveller rating
359
404
181
92
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
359
404
181
92
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiffley lockblue restaurantprince of walesmemory foamhoneymoon suiteiffley villagenumber bussky tveggs benedictcity centrelovely hoteltow pathwedding venuefull englishquiet locationlovely weekendhotel is situated
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,081 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

well it looks nice its bedrooms are nice and comfortable but the food is terrible breakfasts cold parking awful and the service very very poor. stayed 4 days food the same for 4 days the menu ala-carte nonexistant. its a building site and has no...More

Thank crestrav
Response from Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House HotelResponded 2 days ago

Dear crestrav, I am so disappointed to read your review however having spent some time talking with you we can understand your frustrations, especially with the parking. The person who was parking in the space in question did in fact turn out to be on...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Attended a wedding at Hawkwell House back in March and I have to say the hotel and it's staff were wonderful! The whole day went very smoothly, the food was excellent quality and the customer service was second to none. A special thank you to...More

1  Thank SuzieY1990
Response from Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House HotelResponded 2 days ago

Dear SuzieY1990 The team have been so happy to read this feedback and we were all so happy to be part of such a fabulous day, hopefully we will see you all again at the next big celebration! Very best, Sally Russell

Reviewed 6 days ago

My partner & I stayed here over the weekend to celebrate a special occasion. Our first impression on arrival was how beautiful the location is, it's just a 5 minute taxi or 20 minute walk to the City Centre but off a little road, surrounded...More

1  Thank Lila W
Response from Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House HotelResponded 2 days ago

Dear Lila W, Thanks so much for such a lovely review and I am so pleased you found the team attentive and you were well looked after. We are very pleased to be located in the quaint Iffley village and I am glad you got...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked 3 rooms for 2 nights to attend a Saturday evening function in the Thames Suite and to experience all the main attractions that Oxford has to offer. All in all, we had a very nice weekend. The hotel now benefits from a new...More

1  Thank philip949
Response from Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House HotelResponded 2 days ago

Dear philip949, Such a lovely review, thanks so much for taking the time to post this following your recent weekend break which is was a pleasure to host. I am pleased to hear you will return and of course do let us know if we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My sister received a birthday voucher for afternoon tea. We decided to book Hawkwell house with a few other family members and our husbands to enjoy afternoon tea. I called the hotel 4 times to inform that I didn’t want any seafood/need sandwiches. We turned...More

3  Thank PatelUK
Response from Hawkwell H, General Manager at Hawkwell House HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear PatelUK, Thanks for your feedback and I am sorry you did not stay for Afternoon Tea last Sunday but decided to leave before any food was brought to you. We would never put beef in our afternoon tea sandwiches and do not even offer...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Oxford
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (219)
Room & Suite (262)
Dining (79)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Carla D
June 5, 2018|
Answer
Response from Hawkwell H | Property representative |
Hi Carla! We operate a 24 hour cancellation policy when you book direct so there would be no charge if you made changes before this. If it was just a case of changing dates then as long as it is in the same month then we are... More
0
Votes
rah
May 31, 2018|
Answer
Response from Hawkwell H | Property representative |
Hi there! Renovations are coming to an end this week, our new bar is open and the terrace is just being finished off, a few final snagging items will then be carried out but we hope to be fully operational next week! If... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"quiet room with enough room"
Read review
"You can get a taxi or bus into the centre."
Read review
"Recommend Elm House"
Read review
"we had room 113"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing