We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oxford Spires Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,654 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,596: English reviews
Start your review of Oxford Spires Hotel
 Click to rate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked a last minute package with dinner bead and breakfast plus house wine with dinner. Arrived early room already available and given and upgrade which was lovely. Upgrade included,robes and slippers, free mini bar ( wine, beer, come, juice and water ) plus a drinks voucher. Dinner was very good and the house wine perfectly acceptable . You can pay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beverly C
England
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed on a two night deal that included breakfast both mornings and dinner on the first evening -good value but not sure I would want to pay normal price. Nice hotel with an excellent location just a short 15 minute stroll into Oxford along the river. The university boat houses are also on this stretch of the river and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mondaymorning
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Have just returned from a short break at this beautiful hotel. I feel de-stressed and ready for my return to work on Monday. The facilities are lovely, as is the setting. Breakfast is buffet style but lots of choice. We didn't have evening meals as we wanted to explore Oxford, there is a enjoyable walk along the River Thames to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sassaj40
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel, nicely situated, nice clean rooms, VERY comfortable beds and helpful polite staff. The food was of good quality and this is where the "but" comes in. During my 3 night stay, It seemed that the kitchen staff could not get the food hot, food was nice but tepid to slightly warm was the best I could hope for....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
Derby
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stopped here for two nights in a deluxe room. The accommodation was clean tidy and well maintained apart from a broken safe, this was attended to straight away but not repaired during our visit. The complimentary drinks and leisure facilities added to the enjoyment of our stay. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection and service in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJGDerby
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here at the end of Feb for a conference. My room was really nice, very comfortable bed, bathroom beautifully clean. Had an issue with my door being jammed when I tried to return to my room for the evening, the staff resolved the issue very promptly. Evening meal, breakfast & buffet lunch were of a very high quality. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TabF
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TabF, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the event at the hotel. Occasionally issues do happen so I am pleased the team were able to rectify this for you in a timely manner. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future....

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Checked in this evening having booked a Superior room. On arrival in the room, there was the expected slippers and dressing gowns but no limited selection free mini bar. Having queried this with reception we were moved immediately to a larger room and we found our free mini bar with a small beer and a very small chilled red wine,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy M, Thank you for leaving your review. Our superior rooms benefit from an upgraded room, bathrobes and slippers however do not include the complimentary mini bar - details of all our room types can be found on the website. On hearing your dissatisfaction the reception team offered you a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room which includes a...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really nice overnight stay on Easter Sunday, booked a package stay and everything was first class. The location of the hotel is perfect, a gentle 15 minute strole to the city centre, down the river which you can get to through the back of the hotel. We were able to check in early which was an advantage as we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judithjenkins11
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear judithjenkins11, Thank you for your great review and I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and the facilities available at the hotel. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. Kind regards

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently stayed in this hotel. This place looks good online and the prices even better. But as usual looks can be deceiving. The hotel tries to have all the trappings of a big time hotel but alas! It all goes downhill as soon as you check in. By the time we got to the room, we had to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniel g
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear daniel g, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am sorry you were so disappointed in many levels of the hotel especially as we pride ourselves on offering an excellent level of service across all departments. If you wish to discuss these complaints further please do call the hotel directly on 01865 324324 Kind...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Super comfortable beds, quiet rooms, friendly and welcoming staff. Very good breakfast, also compared to other "luxury hotels" that charge twice the amount and offer less. On the down-side: Having a toilet brush would be nice, particularly when sharing a room with another person.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waltraud G
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Waltraud G Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the facilities at the hotel. We do not leave toilet brushes in the room due to health and hygiene reasons but thank you for your comment. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards

466 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (214)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (19)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (24)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Second Superior Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3.4 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.7 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.4 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,139 reviews
1.3 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.8 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $173 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oxford Spires Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Oxford Spires Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the horse pastures”
danielg416, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You need to check that the guests could manage the top room in the cottage!”
Felixevesham, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a room that overlooked the rear of the Hotel, there was occasional noise from the kitchen staff but entirely bearable.”
JaneF940, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you get the chance room 43”
636brianff, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms at the back have a nice view of the river”
GlasgowAmelie, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5