We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oxford Spires Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oxford Spires Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,502: English reviews
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Great location, lovely walk along the river before breakfast. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were a party of four including a 90 year old and we had a great evening meal at the bar which suited all of us. Equally good breakfast with pleasant and efficient staff . Hope to return next year!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BexSoppit
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel has a lovely quiet location beside the Thames and you can walk to the centre of Oxford in 10 mins along the wooded riverbank so the location really can't be beaten. Room (standard) was large and well lit. In the restaurant we were commenting that one of the main ingredients (beetroot) was missing from the meal when the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Owens1962
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We stayed here for one night in a Superior room. Room was spacious, modern and really clean, overlooking the willow tree garden in front of the hotel and a grazing field for horses out of the other window. It's very near to the river, which has a picturesque 10-15 minute walk alongside to the center of Oxford. It's been a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neilick
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We were attending a wedding in Oxford and we're looking for an upmarket Hotel, knowing we would be leaving the Reception fairly early, so wanted a pleasant Bar and Hotel Room to spend the rest of the evening in. We paid £225 for the room. As soon as I walked into the Hotel I knew it was not a £200/...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Marlene R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Visited Oxford for a romantic weekend and we had a lovely stay at the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and our room was lovely. Just a short walk to the Thames or the city centre. I'd definitely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sam g
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We were very disappointed with this hotel, as we had come away for a quiet weekend at a four star hotel and it did not turn out like we had hoped. I am puzzled as to how it obtained a four star rating: the standard rooms are very ordinary, with no air-conditioning; the food in the restaurant was OK, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelMan956
238wendy, General Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay - here in Oxford we do have extremely high occupancies especially during the summer months alongside world wide visitors who come to see the beautiful city of Oxford. Thank you for your comments about the team here...

Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Visited for a romantic weekend. Upgraded to the 'Luxury' rooms (£150 per night) The positives. The luxury rooms are very spacious and nice, but being a regular traveller you can get much better in this price range. The location of the hotel is good for access to central Oxford. The staff are friendly and attentive (possible a little over attentive...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank SDM0
238wendy, General Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the hotel. The bedroom allocated to you was in our 16th century farmhouse which was fully renovated in 2010 - I have spoken ot the housekeeper as we put toiletries in all our bedrooms so apologies if you did not find any - aditionally I have...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We stayed at the hotel on our way back from a long weekend in London The hotel it's self was very nice and Oxford was just a short walk along the river Thames pathway. The only negative we experienced was the second evenings meal my wife's risotto was over cooked and very heavy and stodgy and I ordered duo of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David_B187067
238wendy, General Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Spires. I am delighted you enjoyed your break but do hope that you bought your disappointment with the food to the attention of the restaurant manager. I have met with the chef to discuss your observations and we shall be monitoring the situation. I do hope you will be back to...

UK
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Spent a lovely three nights recently. Only 15 minute walk from City Centre although regular buses will also get you there. Hotel is exceptionally clean. We had a massive room in the loft which was absolutely lovely. Massive bathroom with shower and bath. Free toiletries. Clean towels daily. Rooms cleaned daily. Bar prices relatively good value considering it's near London....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolfunkydiva
238wendy, General Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review - I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us but also concerned about the charging of drinks as we do operate a strict credit checking system - this is now being further investigated. I do hope you will be in Oxford again soon. Kind regards...

Farehamc
Reviewed 30 July 2015

My friend and I booked one night's stay for a girly catch up. I booked it through booking.com. The check in was efficient though we got very lost trying to find our room! The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. Lovely shower room which looked new. All sundries provided. We had lunch in the bar area. Service very efficient...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather W
238wendy, General Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay in Oxford and I am pleased you took full advantage of our location. I have noted your comments about breakfast - we do pride ourselves on offering a friendly and professional standard of service so apologies if this was...

423 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (200)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (19)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (24)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Second Superior Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3.5 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
De Vere Oxford Thames
#5 of 44 in Oxford
975 reviews
1.7 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.5 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,092 reviews
2.2 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
629 reviews
3.8 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $143 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oxford Spires Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Hickory Creek, Texas
6 months ago
Devon, United Kingdom
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Oxford Spires Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't stay.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnnoHere, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“217 is nice, big room and overlooks fields”
 of 5 bubbles emscot, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles MrBobtheMusic, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best view from east side of hotel. Sunrise over fields.”
 of 5 bubbles 448philj, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to main exit (for some rooms, it takes a long walk from the lobby)”
 of 5 bubbles 35tonia, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay