We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

691 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cotswold Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 658: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 June 2015

This is a pleasant hotel and the staff were efficient and helpful. Our room was large and pleasant but the decor in both the bedroom and particularly the bathroom was a quite tired. The breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from. Overall we found this to be a good hotel but felt it was overpriced

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaine w
Esra H, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

London, UK
Reviewed 1 June 2015

I booked a room for a night via a well known intermediary and my plans had to change at the last minute when my partner needed to catch a ferry at an anti-social hour and I had to drive her to Poole instead of us resting our weary heads. The staff couldn't have been nicer about it and didn't hold...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thesultanofsurf
Esra H, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased the reception staff were able to assist you and look forward to you returning soon

Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Booked 3 rooms for 1 night stay to attend nearby family wedding. RAng ahead to ask if we could change into appropriate wedding attire before are rooms were ready, No, was the answers, only the Toilet. Not very nice, or creative of reception staff. On arrival at hotel, this request was made again, but we received the same bland, unhelpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drp1950
Esra H, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry you felt we could have offered you an alternative option to get changed when you arrived. Unfortunately we were fully booked the night prior and no rooms where ready when you arrived early. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay once you were checked in.

Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

Great hotel with easy access to Oxford town centre. 10/15 minute walk or catch any bus right outside. Our room was in the new wing. There was quite a strong smell of paint from the newly painted walls in our room but leaving the window open helped. Breakfast was good but probably a bit expensive for what it was. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
Esra H, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback, and are glad you enjoyed the new room. We are pleased the paint smell was reduced after airing.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed with a friend who was visiting her son in his gap year in Oxford. Great location plenty of parking. Lovely friendly staff. Stayed in a recently refurbished room which was very nicely decorated. Tea and coffee facilities. Nice bathroom products, towels changed everyday if wanted. TV , free wifi plenty of wardrobe space great room. Very quiet location ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
Esra H, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback, and are glad you enjoyed the new room.

Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Firstly the hotel has a big advantage with a reasonable sized car park, and not far from town. (3 stops on the many buses passing every few minutes to the Ashmolean from Parktown stop outside the hotel ) All the staff in reception and dining room, encountered by us, were friendly and efficient. The public rooms were very comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lignum
Esra H, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback, and a glad to hear you would return to us. We have now completed the refurbishment program on 2 floors and hope to start the third shortly.

Funchal, Madeira
Reviewed 8 May 2015

Wonderful country style hotel just a short walk away from Oxford city center. The atmosphere is cosy and the moment you walk in you feel like at home. Rooms are comfortable and there is absolutely no noise at night. The food is excellent and of a very high standard though not overpriced. Same goes for the breakfast. All staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
Esra H, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay and would recommend us. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

Staff was rude, unhelpful and unorganized. I went there with my parent and they messed up with the booking so they managed to have me for 2 nights and my parent for one!! When asked for a solution they suggested my parent to stay in a far hotel ( quite unhelpful consideting my parents do not speak english). They thought...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank francy225
Esra H, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We were disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your reservation was made through a third party booking agent and this was correctly recorded by our reception team and confirmed to you. Prior to arrival you contacted us and requested one of the rooms to stay an extra night which we did. You told us you...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a two day visit to Oxford. When we arrived the check in was 3pm which seemed very late in the day (check out 11am). So we left our cases with reception and on our return later that day the cases had been placed in our room. The room itself was very dated - there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Esra H, Front Office Manager at Cotswold Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a short review. We hope you will be able to return to us again in the future. We would be happy to allocate a ground floor room if stairs are problematic.

Reviewed 28 April 2015

We ended up here unexpectedly as the Randolph was closed due to fire damage. What luck! It was the perfect place to stay. Very comfortable. Super staff and an excellent breakfast. Very convenient for Oxford centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SallyShorthose
Esra H, Public Relations Manager at Cotswold Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay despite it not being your first choice. We hope you will consider us again next time you visit Oxford and we look forward to welcoming you back

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.1 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.5 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.6 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,121 reviews
6.3 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.6 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Restaurant 66A
Restaurant 66A
Cuisines: British, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Address: 66A Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $159 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cotswold Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
3 months ago
Edinburgh
9 months ago
Burnsville, Minnesota
11 months ago
Burnsville, Minnesota

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Cotswold Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lift. Bar open all night.”
 of 5 bubbles rajeshb120, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the first floor so we did hear creaky floorboards. Also just general noise from adjoining room.”
 of 5 bubbles whemms, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Worthy97, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms are worth the extra expenditure.”
 of 5 bubbles 295humphreyl, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not book a single room if after a good nights sleep, you will end up on a small single bed that is very uncomfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles stuartharrington95, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5