We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

pentahotel Reading

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
pentahotel Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,079 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for pentahotel Reading
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,008: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a stag night. The hotel itself is really spacious, clean and in a good location. The bar is open until late and the breakfast buffet great with plenty of options to choose from. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms well equipped with a decent rain head shower. I would stay here again and definately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 86SunnyDays
ph_Reading, Guest Relations Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

I am delighted to see that you were able to make the most of our 24 hour bar, although I am surprised you also made breakfast too. The hotel is ideal for any celebration, including stag and hen parties, as we are located next to Readings bars and restaurants. Look forward to welcoming you back, either for leisure or more...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016

God location for people visiting Reading. Close to the centre but just far enough to get away if you need to. It would be good if there was some sort of rewards scheme at the hotel for business users. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne722
ph_Reading, Guest Relations Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Dianne, Thank you very much for your review, i was disappointed to see it was only a 3* and wonder if there was something we could do to improve this score? I am happy that you appreciated the location and also the friendliness of the staff. A rewards scheme is something we are looking into as a company. I...

Edimburgh
Reviewed 13 August 2016

A great stay in this modern and well appointed hotel. One slight word of caution though, this hotel does not generally suit light sleepers due to its proximity to a very busy road network. I'd definitely stay again though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jondod1
ph_Reading, Guest Relations Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I understand that the hotel can be noisy due to us being in a town center location. We are always happy to try and locate people in our quietest rooms if they require. Please contact us in advance on your next visit if you would like a quieter room. Peter Hutchinson

Stafford
Reviewed 12 August 2016

What a great hotel.ive stayed in a few Penta Hotels, but this is something else.large rooms, smart, quirky.friendly staff, all of which were polite and professional.i would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to anyone staying on Reading.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 806tony
ph_Reading, Guest Relations Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our rooms are all of a generous size which is ideal for anyone visiting for business of leisure. I hope you do stay here again and enjoy your experience again. Peter Hutchinson

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

I was staying with my wife and the Hotel bedrooms were very comfortable and the breakfast was very good and well laid out. The hotel was always busy but the staff were very friendly and helpful when you had a problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
ph_Reading, Guest Relations Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear John, It is great to see that you enjoyed your time with us, also that the breakfast was well suited to you. I look forward to welcoming you back soon and hopefully making you experience a 5*. Peter Hutchinson

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of July 16 and rate this hotel 4*+ .From the outside it looked like a cinema,we went past it twice! on the canopy it said A night to remember! for us it was 2 nights to remember! ROOM: Decent size, storage was a bit limited not a problem for 2 nights, bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
ph_Reading, Guest Relations Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Dear Brian, What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking your time to review your recent stay and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed yourself so much. I will ensure your review is shared with all our team and hope to welcome you back soon. Peter Hutchinson

Chengdu, China
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I stayed here 3 months ago,but,this time flip and bathrobe are cancelled,and the wifi speed is much poorer. Still only one free bottle of water for first night,no more for the rest stay. Hope they can improve.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shylock_wang
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. Bathrobes and slippers are placed into all of our pentaplus rooms (which I can only assume you booked on your previous stay). As you had booked a standard room on this occasion you are right in stating that they were not in your room. Bottles of water are placed into all...

Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Could not fault at all. Great rooms, good central location for walking into town, brilliant service from staff and probably the best part...the bar serves 24 hours! Will definitely be staying here again and recommending to anyone looking for a hotel in Reading.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review. I am so pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay and will be recommending us to others looking to stay in Reading. We are very proud of our hotel and team here and it's great to see that our guests agree with us too, thank you. We hope to see...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Penta never fails in its standards. There is a few things that makes this hotel stand out: 1. The atmosphere is unique and when you walk in, it is far from the generic hotel layout that everyone else follows. This makes the fact that you have to be there for a week of work so much better. 2. The beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

WOW, what a review, thank you so much. I am absolutely delighted, as are the team to read your fantastic review and how much of a wonderful experience you have had with us in all aspects. The team here really do work tirelessly, along with our team at head office, to ensure that our guests only have the most memorable...

Huddersfield
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Lovely staff, bar & restaurant facilities however, if I am paying £174 for a one night stay I would expect a lot more from the rooms. I also paid an extra £25 for a 'city view' which was a building site & an Argos.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jacksS5174QV
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am just sorry to read that it is not one of our usual 5 star stays. If you have time to contact me with any further feedback regarding your room that would be great. The rooms have been designed with comfort in mind, including flat screen TV, multi plug...

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.5 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
890 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
1,670 reviews
0.7 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 32 in Reading
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.4 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the city centre, pentahotel Reading is the perfect choice no matter if you are travelling for leisure or for business. The four-star hotel has 11 meeting and event spaces for up to 250 people. European cuisine is served in the onsite restaurant which is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. Your room has air conditioning free on-demand pay TV and a private bathroom. Free Wifi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $98 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from pentahotel Reading staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
26 days ago
6 months ago
Essex, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from pentahotel Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great bar for pre dinner drinks - stays open late”
 of 5 bubbles Char21A, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room at the back in the centre. Much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles M4J1K, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles Lisa21MiltonKeynes, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room as the road noise can be excessive.”
 of 5 bubbles jpktrk, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quieter room on a higher floor, when you book”
 of 5 bubbles 727nickl, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5