We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

pentahotel Reading

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
pentahotel Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for pentahotel Reading
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,059: English reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

This penta hotel seems a great deal older than others I have stayed out. The dilapidated exterior opens into a trendy bar area. Like other penta hotels you check in at the bar. Here I had quite the rudest experience checking into a hotel ever. The room was ok but the curtains wouldn't close because they were partially off the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuohy16
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I would be grateful if you could contact me to further discuss your stay so I may investigate your feedback. You have clearly had a stay out of the ordinary and I would like to look into this further for you. Best wishes Steve Thorne-Farrar operations.reading@pentahotels.com

Croydon
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Hotel was OK. However, being on fifth floor at the back Wi-Fi was very poor. Only when I left hotel did I get my messages from work colleagues. Location is great as Central to Reading and the surrounding restaurants and shops.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed to read that you had issues with the wifi, please be assured this will be investigated with our wifi supplier. Great to read that you enjoyed the hotel and our central location. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team.

Co.donegal
Reviewed 25 August 2016

lovely modern hotel with a trendy feel. Staff were friendly, chatty and helpful. Situated in middle of pedestrian shopping area so very handy for everything. Only one issue was that breakfast wasnt included in price and to add it was £15 per person, but theres a Weatherspoons 5 mins walk away where full brekkie only £3.25 so no big problem...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kengO9021ZD
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review, this is so great to read. I'm pleased that you had fantastic time with us whilst visiting for the Rewind Festival, and that the team looked after you well. See you again soon for another great visit. Best wishes Steve & the Team.

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

At first glance this hotel seems too good to be true. I checked in during the evening and the night staff were helpful polite and courteous. The reception area and restaurant looked great and very "hip" there was even a choice of smoking or non smoking rooms. I made my way up to my room in the security elevator and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thephantomdiggler
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to read that you encountered the issues with the wifi and aircon. I appreciate the humor that you have written with but am sorry to read that you had these issues. I will of course be discussing your feedback with 'Dave' too. The works taking place next...

Lane High Street
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Nice décor and very helpful greeting from staff on arrival, Overall lobby area is great as is the restaurant. The room was however incredibly noisy as right next to the main dual carriage way and insufficient double glazing. The air-conditioning was not cool, no iraon in room, it had to be requested from reception, and the option of opening the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 832rossa
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to read that you found your room too noisy. I fully appreciate that some of us are lighter sleepers than other so should you return, please do contact ahead of your arrival and we will do our up-most to allocate you a quieter room on the day....

Exeter
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Attended a wedding reception here and stayed overnight. Staff were friendly and helpful, establishment was clean and had a lovely ambience, food was fantastic. There was quite a few of us and not one person had any issues. I would definitely visit again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank abi_eastman
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review, this is fabulous to read. I am so pleased to read that you had an amazing wedding reception with us and enjoyed the hotel to its full. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another 5 star say. Best wishes Steve & the Team.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This is a lovely hotel and so much nicer on the inside than the outside appearance. Lovely relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff. Trendy boutique style.Excellent rooms and the food in the restaurant was 1st class.Would be great for special occasions. Would definitely return and recommend this place 100%. Its the also in a really good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nigelfoxy
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

WOW, what an amazing reveiw to read. It's so great to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and really enjoyed the look and feel of the hotel too. Thank you for your kind words regarding the team too. I know they work tirelessly to ensure our guests have a great time with us and it's brilliant to...

england
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Spent the day at the Penta Hotel in Reading for a business meeting what a great welcome we received from the moment we walked in, the reception staff were welcoming advising us of where to go coffee was organised and pastries and biscuits to start the day, there was plenty of water for the delegates, a large selection of teas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank curlysue4
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

What a great 5 star review, thank you so much. I am really pleased to read that you had a great meeting with us and were well looked after by the team. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments regarding the food and service to the team who I know will be really pleased to read this....

London
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Booked this hotel for 1 night for my partners birthday. Rooms are great, really spacious and clean. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was perfect lots of variety :-). Overall stay was great no complaints. Oh yes and if you drive you recieve a discount voucher for a local Q car park literally 3 minutes walk from the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aprila608
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank your for your amazing 5 star birthday visit review. It's always great to read that we are getting it right, and our guests are having a faultless stay, thank you. We hope you had an amazing birthday and hope to welcome you back again very soon. Best wishes Steve & the Team.

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Stayed here Friday to Monday as a base for rewind festival, great facilities, helpful staff especially Elvis, late night bar, lovely breakfast,thoroughly enjoyed it again, see you next year if not sooner.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherine h
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great to see that your 3rd visit was brilliant once again. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Elvis and the team and we hope to see you back again very soon. Best wishes Steve & the Team.

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.5 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
913 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
1,704 reviews
0.7 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.4 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
933 reviews
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the city centre, pentahotel Reading is the perfect choice no matter if you are travelling for leisure or for business. The four-star hotel has 11 meeting and event spaces for up to 250 people. European cuisine is served in the onsite restaurant which is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. Your room has air conditioning free on-demand pay TV and a private bathroom. Free Wifi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $97 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from pentahotel Reading staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from pentahotel Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not beside the main road to the right of the hotel as you go in the door.”
 of 5 bubbles 463keithl, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get one to the back of the hotel away from the main street”
 of 5 bubbles steve1903, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid any near the Inner distribution road”
 of 5 bubbles Phil42bognor, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great bar for pre dinner drinks - stays open late”
 of 5 bubbles Char21A, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room at the back in the centre. Much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles M4J1K, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5