We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure George Hotel Reading

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure George Hotel Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

542 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure George Hotel Reading
See the most recent reviews
Showing 507: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Stayed one night on business. Like most city centre hotels they do not have own car park but ncp is only 5 minutes away. I believe you can also set down outside if you want to offload luggage.Check in staff friendly and efficient. Room a bit dated maybe but clean and comfortable. A bit hot and could not find a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dman212014
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your most recent review and confirm I will pass your kind words on to all the staff at our next team meeting. I was please to learn you thought our hotel was good value and very comfortable with a great location.. Look forward to welcoming you back

Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

This is described as one of the oldest, if not the oldest, buildings in Reading and the squeaky floorboards are testament to this. It was not the flooring so much as the loud late night arrivals of other guests that disturbed my sleep for the two nights I stayed there. Unlike other places I have stayed, there are no advisory...

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank scousescribbler
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and confirm I was disappointed to learn you had a few issues with your room key on check- in for which I apologise for. I have already spoken to our hotel engineer and confirm the prints you have mentioned will be addressed. Your willingness to share your thoughts is much appreciated . I look...

Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This hotel is like the curates egg - good in parts. Lovely building, good room, great location, inexpensive for location. However, noisy because of location, the service is patchy some staff very good (reception, restaurant), others (night reception) poor - how difficult is it to understand the need for an extra blanket when all that is provided is a thin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobStamford
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent comments in connection with your most recent stay here at the Mercure Reading. I confirm I will discuss the points raised which will be address as soon as possible I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near furture

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

One night stay decent en- suite room some way from reception, no lift plenty of stairs however far too warm for comfort,.window facing street would not stay open. Very disturbed sleep due to the heat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuthezoom
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and confirm I was disappointed to learn you has an issue with your bedroom window and confirm this will be addressed by our hotel engineer . I can only apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is much appreciated I look forward to welcoming you back to...

Reviewed 1 March 2017

A lovely old coaching house, now hotel set in the lovely town of Wallingford. I have visited this hotel on several occasions and it is one I always look forward to visiting again. The hotel is a great mix of a modern extension attached to a very old original coaching house. loads of character mixed with good services.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MENOTYOUlot
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and confirm I was delighted to learn you thought the hotel is filled with character mixed with good service.I will pass on your kind words to all the staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the George Hotel next time you are in the area Once again thank you

Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

What a great place... a quirky old building with character and an offbeat layout, but what a fantastic modern room for the price! Modern and stylish and yet still sitting comfortably in another age. Quiet Sunday night and a leisurely Monday morning... nice !

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin D
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words in connection with your recent stay here at the Mercure George Hotel. I confirm I will pass on your thoughts to all concerned, Once again many thanks and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in the area

Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Stayed here this weekend with some friends, hotel was great, friendly staff, clean rooms and the breakfast choice was amazing and all fresh. We all had a lovely weekend and would definitely stay again. Our thanks to the staff for a pleasant stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review posted on line and confirm I was delighted to read you had a great time and you thought the breakfast experience was amazing. Its always nice to read lovely reviews such as yours and confirm I will let all the staff know at our next team meeting Once again thank you so...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

On my visit I was very disappointed. From the outside (I used to live in Reading), and from the website this looked like a lovely hotel. In reality the room was small, dingy and smelt badly of the curry that was being sold in the bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Char21A
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review in connection with your recent stay here at the Mercure George Hotel and was disappointed to learn you thought the hotel was not to your standard Thank you once again

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

After recently retiring from work me and a friend treated ourselves to a days shopping and fancied a bit of lunch. We had a lovely hot, cooked to order meal. My friend had a cheese and onion omelette, chips and peas and I had gammon, egg, chips and peas. We had our meals within 15mins and didn't pay the earth....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice A
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

hello ladies thank you for sharing your experience and confirm i was delighted to learn you enjoyed your Luncheon here at the Mercure Reading and that you were very happy with the price you both paid. I confirm I will pass on your kind words to all the staff concerned. Once again ladies thank you so much for your kind...

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Stayed here 11-13 Feb. My wife had had a knee injury the day before. When we arrived, Nico at reception was attentive and concerned and upgraded us to a huge ground floor room avoiding any stairs. It was warm, well appointed and the bed extremely comfortable. There is no parking at or outside the hotel as it is right in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank petersL830TM
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your overnight stay here at the Mercure Reading. I shall pass on your kind words to all the staff concerned. Its always a great boost for the staff to hear such nice reviews. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Hotel Reading

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
948 reviews
0.6 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,190 reviews
0.3 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.2 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
493 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This historic hotel is situated in the centre of Reading next to the oracle shopping centre and a short walk to the railway station.The hotel has its own courtyard ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $87 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure George Hotel Reading staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure George Hotel Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
Kerry96, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Could ask for room over courtyard to avoid any road noise”
dman212014, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Watch for rooms pointing at main entrances”
BobStamford, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The hotel does not have the largest of carparks, arrive early to avoid missing out.”
MENOTYOUlot, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I just wouldn't book again”
Char21A, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5