We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harley Hotel

  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Harley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Ever!!! Room wasn't clean smelt funny, I've seen stray dogs sleep in better conditions. Expect noise and vibrations. I Checked out 3 days earlier it was that and lost £. I would sonner sleep on the streets.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philcrossan
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phil, Firstly, thank you for your review. We take all claims in these reviews seriously and therefore are very interested in the aspects of why you found your stay so unsatisfactory. Should you wish to, please email the details of your stay to hotel@theharley.co.uk so our hotel manager can converse with you directly. Although we certainly understand your issue...

Martlesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

My stay for 1 night cost £39 and that included a free breakfast. I must say I was very impressed. Yes it was basic and a bit noisy in the night. However I was warned about the noise before booking and everything I needed was taken care of. The working TV and ensuite were nice touches. The thing that amazed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack, Thank you so much for your review. We are certainly pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on how friendly our staff are and it's always good to hear when this is noticed. We look forward to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Hotel Management

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

A friendly just offcentral location with great burgers!! And Jasmine the bartender permitted the promotion of my group book reading!!! A cool reasonably priced dark little venue with a great atmospheric feel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniella S
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Absolutely disgusting filthy dirty walls green with mold and carpet filthy you would not pass this hotel for your dog to stay in. Window didn't close freezing cold all night shower was so dirty preferred not to wash .I have never stayed in such a fleet ridden place in all my life no sleep with bar under neath Room. Had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda R
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda, We are very sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory stay with us. We are taking the claims in your review very seriously. We would like the opportunity to discuss these further with you, if you have the time, in order to improve the services we offer. Should you wish to do so, please feel free to email hotel@theharley.co.uk...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Tough one this. You get what you pay for. City centre location, functional rooms perfect for a stopover and the cooked breakfast is one of the best. Seriously though, do not expect to sleep until 4am. The music (live music stopped at 12), went on until then and literally shook the room. If you're going there for the music and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. C, Firstly, thank you for your review. We try our best to warn potential guests about the noise from our bar. Sometimes this information can be overlooked. We are very interested in the opinions of our guests, in order to become more effective in providing a great experience, without the noise being a surprise. Should you have any...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I considered writing my review early hours this morning when the music was so loud I couldn't think let alone sleep. However I thought again because my overall experience here was okay. I was looking for a hotel local to the children's hospital as my son had been admitted there. I booked via booking.com and yes it does state there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zea1102
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zea1102 Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear how accommodating and friendly you found the staff to be in our venue. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the food during your time with us. We try our best to inform potential guests about the noise from the bar below the hotel. This information often...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Decent vegan breakfast/burgers, great beer and perfect for a wee gig stopover. Definitely won't be everybody's cup of tea, but if you like a bit of back ground music and staying up a bit later it's perfect. Will definitely book here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony g
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tony, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you do choose us for any future gigs you will be attending in Sheffield. Sounds like the bar and restaurant was your cup of tea, or rather "pint of beer". See you next time. Kind Regards Hotel...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in a double room, and my friend a single room, when we went to a gig at Sheffield university union. It was a great location for the venue. When we arrived we checked in hassle free and were given rooms that were basic but spacious enough and clean. I was most impressed by the food,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare T
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clare, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and dining experience while you were with us. We pride ourselves on being a great hotel for people who are in Sheffield to enjoy its nightlife. We always aim to give our guests the best experience we can. Should you have any feedback you would...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

On my daughters birthday, she chose to go here as she is vegan, and they do vegan burgers, as well as meat. None of us were disappointed. The food, which was by Twisted Burger Company, was excellent, as was the service. The staff were very attentive, and when I asked about a real ale they had on, which was called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobM55
Reviewed 26 September 2016

From the outside the hotel doesn't hide the fact its very run down/tired and in need of some serious cleaning ... I can deal with dated décor, poor lighting and loud music ..but the lack of basic hygiene should start alarm bells ringing and any attempt to rationalise or sympathise with the excuses that it has great staff just undermines...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank graham1975

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.6 km away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#35 of 54 in Sheffield
363 reviews
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.9 km away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#33 of 54 in Sheffield
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 54 in Sheffield
614 reviews
1.6 km away
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
1.1 km away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 54 in Sheffield
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
Harley Hotel Bar
Harley Hotel Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Harley is a small, friendly hotel next to the University and Hospitals. It is located next to the University of Sheffield tram stop and is 5 minutes walk from Sheffield City Centre. All rooms are simple yet comfortable and well appointed, with en suite, TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel bar has a late license. All room rates include breakfast. 'Please be aware that this hotel is situated above a live music and late night venue which is open until 4am most nights. Noise from the bar can be heard in the hotel rooms, so we are not suitable for light sleepers or early risers.' ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harley Hotel

Address: 334 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Price Range: $54 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Harley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harley Hotel Sheffield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a higher floor for quiter rooms, make sure you get a twister burger from the bar!”
 of 5 bubbles jackpearce13, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get the third floor. You might be ok on the second floor if it's not a busy night.”
 of 5 bubbles jameshG3921SN, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles graham1975, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlesL837, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“oh! and no wifi, only accessible at the noisy bar. Good luck!”
 of 5 bubbles Tilou88, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5