We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Morgans - The Exchange Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 149: English reviews
Start your review of Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
 Click to rate
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We booked this hotel because it was a good deal price wise, but I will be going back. Room 2 was very spacious and had a fantastic shower. There was double glazing so we were not disturbed by the traffic noise The staff had excellent customer service. The bar was well stocked with plenty of choice. The quality of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T
Langholm, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great staff who can't do enough to help - good clean rooms - good food and a very pleasant, friendly atmosphere. The room (2) was a good size with coffee/tea facilities and and iron and ironing board. The bathroom was good. we were on the second floor which was fine for us and the lovely young ladies from the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Morgan's for Sunday lunch at 5pm on a Sunday - randomly, after having a discussion about how poor shrewsbury is for a good Sunday dinner!! Not many places open all day for Sunday lunch and we chose here as the price was reasonable for shrewsbury centre prices! We called ahead to ask about serving times and were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russss82
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't tend to review hotels but feel compelled to write this review. My husband and I had a two-night mid-week stay here for my husband's birthday. The check-in was fine and the room was good, but it became apparent very quickly that there was a significant problem with the bed. The management and staff were marvellous and went beyond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynns197
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 1 night which was a Saturday and booked very last minute so we weren't expecting great things. Check in was swift considering it was a busy Saturday night at the bar. We were shown to room 1 which was on the first floor above the bar and did suffer from music noise, we were told that the music...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrea357
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

After reading the various reviews and looking at the photos I decided to ignore the bad reviews and booked Morgans instead of the Premier Inn we'd stopped at before. First impressions were good as even though the bar area was busy she handled our check in professionally even mentioning fire safety evacuation procedures as well as WiFi passwords. We knew...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenCollins47456
Quin M, Owner at Morgans - The Exchange Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thanks for your review. We fully appreciate this and your comments, but it does seem from the start you were thinking of the Premier Inn, as you mention this several times and promote it very well. Not what you should be using Trip Advisor for, but there you go. We are not a premier Inn, but an independent...

Dunsborough, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend popped in here recently for breakfast. They seemed a little understaffed, just two staff members for a busy Saturday morning- both were rushing around and we waited quite a while for a coffee and a tea. Having said that the food that we received was delicious, couldn't fault it. The chef brought our food to us,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mollie J
Quin M, Owner at Morgans - The Exchange Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mollie, Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for posting such a nice review about the staff and chefs. So glad you liked the new decor inside too! This is greatly appreciated by us all. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Bets wishes, Quintin.

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We popped in today for a quiet couple of drinks Unfortunately there were 6 dogs with 3 different groups of people who barked constantly which lead us to decide not to stay for a meal. It turned out that one of the dogs was barking to be fed from the table. I was surprised that dogs were allowed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanette H
Quin M, Owner at Morgans - The Exchange Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jeanette, Thanks for your review. Sorry you found our policy off allowing dogs in such an issue. We did have to speak to the owners on this occasion to control the noise, which they duly did and the issue ceased. This is not normally an issue in our property with pets. I must correct you though, they were not...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel with bar downstairs, although a little pricey. Room was clean and cosy, beds are very low down but wasn't a problem for us. Hotel is right in the centre of Shrewsbury but parking is a pain and expensive. Enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue m
Quin M, Owner at Morgans - The Exchange Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sue, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Lovely to read your kind comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Shrewsbury. We do hope to see you again in the future, Best wishes, Quintin Morgan.

South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We needed to find somewhere to stay near our Daughters farm that would take two Dogs and Morgan's ticked all our boxes. Absolutely amazing room,spotlessly clean well equipped and room for two large dogs. Brilliant ,will definitely recommend and come again. Great Value for money as well ,especially for the whole Christmas break

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phd29

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.5 km away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
598 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.3 km away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 14 in Shrewsbury
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.3 km away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
1,054 reviews
0.5 km away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#5 of 54 in Shrewsbury
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Morgans at The Exchange Hotel is a family owned and run business. We aim to offer a high standard of customer service with a personal touch. Our hotel has 4 double rooms, 1 family room and 1 twin rooms all of which are fully en-suite and offer comfortable accommodation. All the rooms have flat screen televisions with built in DVD players, radio alarm clock, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and free wifi. One of our rooms is also equipped with a small kitchen. Parking is available nearby and our room rates are really competitive for the standard of accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Morgans - The Exchange Hotel

Address: 1 Bellstone, Shrewsbury SY1 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Price Range: $91 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgans - The Exchange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Morgans - The Exchange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Morgans - The Exchange Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Swansea, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Morgans - The Exchange Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in room 2 which we felt was a good size, shape, bathroom etc.”
 of 5 bubbles W9231AKpatricias, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Being in the city centre we did find it a little noisy, with traffic and people leaving bars on their way home , but on the whole slept ok.”
 of 5 bubbles mikee480, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the back. Front of hotel is on a busy road that us noisy from 6am”
 of 5 bubbles spike171, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rear hotel room quieter”
 of 5 bubbles V6965STjackiem, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 was a long way from reception.”
 of 5 bubbles NSilver1611, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5