We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lion + Pheasant Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Panoramas (46)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lion + Pheasant Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 582: English reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

A really nice hotel, in the centre of Shrewsbury, so very convenient r.e shops and restaurants. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was well cooked and tasty. We also ordered room service, which was nice. A minor downside was the shower; the temperature wasn't great. It was like we were linked to the same water tank as all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

The staff were very welcoming and friendly when we first arrived, they offered to help us take our bags up to our room. We stopped in room 4, next door to the function room on the first floor. Unfortunately there was a party that night and the loud noise level carried on until around 12.30am. The room was satisfactory for...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Becky G
ShropshireLad50, Manager at Lion + Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will however admit that we are a little confused by it. You stated that the room was satisfactory to what you paid, the bathroom was lovely and large and the breakfast was beautiful. But then finished by saying that you will not be...

UK
Reviewed 19 January 2016

I stayed in room 21 at the Lion + Pheasant through work and the hotel had been booked by a colleague - what a lovely surprise to see it when I checked in. Beautifully decorated throughout and with unique touches make it a really memorable hotel to stay in. The town house is steeped in history and the hotel uses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ange01Uk
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend booked us into the Lion and Pheasant for a two night stay. I wasn't sure what to expect and have to admit to being very pleasantly surprised. It's a little gem, perfect location, very comfortable accommodation, excellent service and food was very yummy. We will be back for sure , next time we wish to return to this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete E
london
Reviewed 13 January 2016

The hotel is great - I would definitely stay there again. A lot of thought has been put into all the little things that combine to make a good room. You get the impression that the design has been thought out considering what works well and looks good - not by the cost. Our bedside lights were so good that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kthernehill
ShropshireLad50, Owner at Lion + Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your very kind and thoughtful review . We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon . All our best wishes .

Cheshire
Reviewed 12 January 2016

The hotel was exactly what we were looking for small, friendly, excellent food and in a great location. The staff were exceptional with nothing being too much trouble. This hotel is a little gem, perfect for a mini break, we will certainly be making a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel000
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Five friends and I stayed at the Lion and Pheasant for New Year's Eve and a fantastic night was had by all! The hotel and accommodation was recently renovation and to a very tasteful and high standard. We started off with a delicious meal at the restaurant upstairs. We all agreed that the food was flavoursome and delicious and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJ123175
Warwickshire, UK
Reviewed 10 January 2016

What a lovely place to stay in central Shrewsbury. The hotel is decorated in a modern boutique-style, very simple and tasteful. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. We'd been walking all day up the Long Mynd, so we definitely appreciated the chance to relax in a lovely bath. The bar & restaurant are definitely worth a visit. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poddweller
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Nicely decorated boutique style pub with rooms.....room 12 rather noisy as kitchen extractors just below windows. Double bed very small but ensuite shower room nice and clean. No bar snacks available if you are there on a Sunday ..only Sunday lunch...very late check in time and no upgrades available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank escapistStamford
ShropshireLad50, General Manager at Lion + Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review

Happy New Year I feel your review may mislead our future customers, i would like to put the record straight on a couple of points. Room 12 has a double bed as advertised, it is a regulation 4ft 6", we have larger rooms with 5ft king size beds which are available to book. Check in again is an industry standard...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 January 2016

This is a delightful boutique hotel right in the heart of the lovely town of Shrewsbury. The hotel is very stylishly designed in a way which is modern whilst incorporating the original features of this grade 2 listed building. The staff are lovely, the bar is fun and lively and the food and cocktails are exceptional. I would defintely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ciaraemily

343 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (221)
Viewed
Cosy Double Room (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (22)
Viewed
Loft Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Snug Double Room (19)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shrewsbury
0.3 km away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
1,083 reviews
5.9 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
11.6 km away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
437 reviews
0.7 km away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#2 of 14 in Shrewsbury
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following major renovations in 2010, the Lion + Pheasant has re-opened as Shrewsbury's most stylish townhouse hotel, bar and restaurant. A unique combination of timeless elegance and contemporary design makes this AA three-star historic inn the perfect destination for an evening out or a longer stay - whether to unwind after a day of busy meetings, or to while away a relaxing weekend in Shropshire's most beautiful county town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lion + Pheasant Hotel

Address: 50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Price Range: $178 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion + Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lion + Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion + Pheasant Hotel Shrewsbury
Lion And Pheasant Shrewsbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lion + Pheasant Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Lion + Pheasant Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid room 18 as it is lit all night long by a street lamp”
ianforestfan, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are furthest from road and hence quieter”
L3120JGjamesb, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask the staff to advise you on your requirements”
travellingfrogs2016, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are probably quite noisy, but disposable earplugs are supplied! NB Most rooms seem to have showers but not baths.”
ClareS331, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the street could be noisy, but we slept soundly enough.........”
bobt356, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5