We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$222
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-07-27
Priceline
US$246
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-07-28
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$211
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-07-29
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Expedia.comUS$218
ZenHotels.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (518)
Room & Suite (208)
Dining (31)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 21-07-18 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21-07-18 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 40 in Bath
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. It was awarded 4 AA Red Stars in 2021.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 3 more
1807Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,205
  • 432
  • 113
  • 32
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Unknown189 wrote a review May 2
Ilkeston, United Kingdom16 contributions9 helpful votes
Visited Bath for bank holiday weekend and booked via booking.com so missed otu on a few extras i believe you receive if you book direct such as cheaper parking, welcome drinks and breakfast. Arrived abit later that scheduled and was greeted by staff who were quick to help get our bags out of the car and take our car for parking. Was asked to wait in the drawing room whilst our room was sorted and after a few minutes we were shown to our room where or bags had already been taken and my coat kindly hung up in the wardrobe. We stayed in room 3 which is a small double. cosy but alot smaller than we was used to. The bathroom had a shower and no bath. Decorated nicely. The room was very warm in the bedroom and the bathroom. There are no tea making facilities in the room but there is in the drawing room near reception and luckily we was closeby but would prefer them to be in the room. Friday evening we ate in the Q bar - a wrap and a burger which were fine. The staff were all a credit to the hotel. The decor is beautiful. We didn't book the Olive Tree Restaurant . My only negative is that the room has a pipe somewhere and the toilet is noisy whenever anyone else in the hotel flushes the toilet or runs a bath/shower. It was incredibly annoying and kept us up both nights. It sounded like it was raining but it wasn't. Mentioned this to the reception staff when checking out and was advised its an old building and if we was to return we could ask for an upgrade but no discount offered. Service charge could have been removed but we had no issue with the service itself so felt that wasnt fair. A few bars and restaurants nearby and within walking distance of attractions such and the circus, royal crescent and pultney bridge and the baths arent too far.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Flyer556704 wrote a review May 1
1 contribution
My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 10 years and have always loved our stays. The last couple of times however, we’ve been so disappointed by the breakfast. I was given the wrong order and when we asked for jam, honey etc on three occasions these were all ignored. Given the cost, the whole experience was disappointing. I agree with other reviews that it would also be nice to be able to make tea/coffee in your room rather than have to go to a station which on the last occasion was nowhere near our room. We have always been impressed with the service here but this time came away feeling unimpressed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
quorny wrote a review Apr. 2022
Quorn, United Kingdom470 contributions204 helpful votes
This is our second stay at the Queensberry. Everything about this hotel is excellent , the staff the restaurant and the general vibe of the place . The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathrooms enormous. The one thing that is disappointing is the rooms are so so hot , yet again we didn’t sleep much at all. We can’t understand why , the radiators were turned off, yet at night it was unbearable. We slept with the bedroom window wide open and still it didn’t cool down, I don’t know if it’s the stone that retains the heat or what but this is our second two night stay without any sleep. We mentioned it to reception and they can make the bed with just a sheet so maybe we will try that next time. Also we noticed on our second stay a 5% service charge was put on the bill, so it seems that the guests are supplementing the staffs wages?
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Beere, Owner at Queensberry Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Quorny, Thank you for your review, we are very grateful for the positive feedback. We have noted your comments re the warmth in the building, which as you say given the georgian thick walls they do stay warm. However we do provide tower cooling fans in all our bedrooms, and we will be very happy to make your room up in future with just sheets and blankets rather than the duvet if that will be cooler for you. Re the final point we do not as you say "supplement wages", we do however ensure that our team are rewared above industry standards and as such have been certified as a Real Living Wage employer. Our lowest hourly wage is in excess of this minimum as well as many other benefits we offer to the team. Perhaps that is why you found the team to be excellent, because as owners we care greatly about their happiness and welfare. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Laurence Beere
Read more
Richard Li wrote a review Apr. 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
Posting a review here, in addition to my review on Booking.com. I stayed at the hotel for 1 night and have the following comments: - I would have booked a hotel nearer to the "city centre" given we had to leave our bags etc before check in and after check out - and then head to the train station which is on the opposite side of the city; - Bathtub looked great and was looking forward to a proper bath.. but drainage was slow and I gave up on it. It also made it really slippery after first use; - The heater in my room was broken and had to be left on max - this made my room pretty uncomfortable. Windows were left open and had to request for an additional fan. Now contrary to the Hotel's response on Booking.com, I was not offered another room - but yes, I agree that the staff were very concerned and tried to help as much as they could; Now on the positive, the hotel is very modern and elegant.. Staff were friendly in general.. Although at checkout, I was asked if my bill was OK, instead of being asked how my stay was (which I heard them say to every other guests). I would say overall, the £200+ bill wasn't value for money from my perspective
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
ljgreen2016 wrote a review Apr. 2022
London, United Kingdom57 contributions60 helpful votes
What a lovely find - our room was spacious, with a great view and carefully decorated. The bathroom appeared to have been renovated recently as well. We really enjoyed the garden too. The website could have been clearer about whether our booking included breakfast or not - we ended up being told our room fee didn’t include breakfast. Service at the bar and during breakfast could be a bit patchy - perfectly friendly, but a bit chaotic. Receptions was also very good with recommendations and other requests. Would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Colin G wrote a review Apr. 2022
8 contributions7 helpful votes
Where to start. We don’t usually stay in small or Boutique Hotels and this may have a bearing on our review, but still felt we should put our views in writing. The staff are were very welcoming on our arrival and quickly sorted our luggage and room. We were offered refreshments in the Lounge while we waited. We were shown to our room by a very helpful young man. The room when we entered was very cold and I am afraid the window insultation (or lack of it) and the size of the radiator were to blame for this. There was a portable heater, but really this is not what you expect in a hotel. The bathroom was even colder and the window blinds were blowing with the draft coming through. Thank goodness for the portable heater, but this is not really a solution. The room was clean, but basic – the hair dryer was adequate but the drawer on the dressing table didn’t close. The stool is too low for the mirror on the wall. The advice from the Hotel Inspector springs to mind – “Owners really need to stay in the rooms to fully appreciate the potential issues” this is certainly the case with number 16. Another rather strange thing is there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room – we cannot remember ever staying in a hotel that didn’t have this. Also no magnifying mirror in the bathroom – again I cannot remember staying in a hotel without these basics. As I say, perhaps we have been spoilt in previous hotels, but we think that a hotel should offer the basics. Breakfast was cooked well, but apart from two of the younger members of staff on duty was soulless experience – where I can only describe the staff as being scared of the guests! Finally our bill – now we would normally reward individual staff for their service etc. but on this occasion a discretionary service charge of 5% was added to our bill. I think that perhaps all staff should be paid appropriately by the owners and any tips should be given by guests if they want to not added to the bill. All in all we didn’t feel this was a luxury experience and felt that there was an air of money grabbing in the establishment – which again we have not experienced in stays at other hotels. Add the parking onto the room charge, add the service charge onto the room charge and give your staff a pay rise and put tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms and this would go someway to making guests feel less like you are trying to sting them!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring warm clothes in winter/spring
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Beere, Owner at Queensberry Hotel
Responded Apr. 14, 2022
Dear Colin G, Thank you for the lengthy feedback on your recent stay. I think you have summed up much of it with your first comment, that maybe the Queensberry Hotel is not for you. However it does not change the fact that we are very sad to read that you did not enjoy your stay. The only guide you gave that you had any issue was that you requested the service charge be removed which of course we did. If you had mentioned any of the points you have raised we woudl have been more than happy to try and resolve them so that you enjoyed your visit. One final comment, with regard to how we pay our team members, we agree entirely with you. That is why we are a certified Real Living Wage employer that takes a great deal of time and care to ensure that all our colleagues recieve the best possible salary, the best working environment and work life balance. Yours sincerely Laurence Beere
Read more
firstflier wrote a review Apr. 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here in April 2022 for a very impromptu birthday/babymoon trip and we really enjoyed our stay. All the staff were really welcoming and our room was lovely. The hotel itself feels both grand and has lots of touches of character and fun. There were also lots of small touches which made our trip extra special including some chocolates in the room with a happy birthday note. The porters and valet parking was very useful and any additional requests we had were kindly facilitated. Everything seemed to flow seamlessly. Breakfast was very tasty and generous and when we ate in the Q Bar, the food was really tasty. We were also fortunate enough to book a table at The Olive Tree and enjoyed the 9 course tasting menu immensely. Would definitely recommend staying here and would do so again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Beere, Owner at Queensberry Hotel
Responded Apr. 14, 2022
Dear firstflier Thank you for your very kind words, our team appreciate greatly knowing that our guests are happy and that their hard work is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Kindest regards Laurence Beere
Read more
cjk wrote a review Apr. 2022
Switzerland6 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is lovely and the staff are all very friendly. On arrival, our car was taken care of promptly for the valet parking (12.50 pounds per night, not 7 as listed). We had a spacious and comfortable master deluxe room. The breakfasts were excellent but to note there are extra charges for dishes, something not spelt out at booking. In addition, the automatic service and hotel charges added to the bill were unexpected and when ordering 2 extra glasses during our dinner wine pairing, the exorbitant price was just not announced prior. The tasting menu in the restaurant was however excellent and the only disappointment was that the Head Chef didn’t come to our table so we could compliment in person.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Beere, Owner at Queensberry Hotel
Responded Apr. 14, 2022
Dear Swissmissy21 Thank you for your kind remarks regarding the hotel and your recent visit. We appreciated your comments regarding the parking charges and identified that whilst we had updated our pricing externally we had missed the pricing in our bedroom literature, this has been corrected. Re the wine, apologies if you were surprised on the price, as you had already been served the wine as part of teh meal wine pairingm when you requested additional glasses of the Margaux, we did not presume to question if you were aware of the cost as it was already listed on the menu? Chef sends his apologies, as a small brigade we cannot get to every table, if you had mentioned to one of the team he woudl have been happy to say hello. Perhaps next time. Best wishes Laurence Beere
Read more
Jane R wrote a review Apr. 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom59 contributions16 helpful votes
We love Bath and thought we'd try a different hotel. The Queensberry was a great choice. Our room and bathroom were beautifully decorated and although we had the noise of the road it was actually very quiet , away from the main part of the hotel. we were so lucky with the weather and enjoyed a glass of rose and the charcuterie board in the pretty walled garden. I wish someone had made it clear to us that we could order room service tea, as all we saw were the self service stations and I think the staff at the arrival point could be more welcoming. The best part of the hotel is its lovely restaurant with truly amazing food. It might be the best food we have ever had, someone really understands flavours in that kitchen!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Beere, Owner at Queensberry Hotel
Responded Apr. 14, 2022
Dear Jane R Thank you for you kind words, we have noted the extra feedback on service and discussed with the team. Best wishes Laurence Beere
Read more
Sarah W wrote a review Mar. 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom16 contributions9 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel, this was a treat for our 25th anniversary and it didn’t disappoint. It’s a little walk up a hill but totally worth it. Everyone was so professional and relaxed all at the same time, the owners have a great team so keep hold of them! Thank you for making our stay special.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Parking isn’t great in Bath check long stay car parks prior. Road facing room may be noisier than...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence Beere, Owner at Queensberry Hotel
Responded Apr. 14, 2022
Dear K8754APsarahw Thank you for your very kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your 25th anniversary stay. Best wishes Laurence Beere
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$173 - US$514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetBath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Queensberry Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Queensberry Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mary Shelley's House of Frankenstein (0.3 km), Mr B's Book Emporium (0.4 km), and Circo Cellar Bar and Lounge (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Queensberry Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Queensberry Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Queensberry Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Queensberry Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Circus Restaurant, Comptoir + Cuisine, and The Walcot.
Is Queensberry Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Bath.
Are any cleaning services offered at Queensberry Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Queensberry Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Polish, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Queensberry Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Roman Baths (0.7 km), Bath Abbey (0.7 km), and Bath Street (0.7 km).