We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dukes Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Dukes Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,139: English reviews
Ditchling
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

From the moment we stepped into Dukes, we were cared for and welcomed, in a non intrusive way. There were a million kind and generous things, like a temp. parking permit, fresh Madlines for breakfast, a friendly 'goodnight', a small morning chat at the breakfast tabel, a few chocolates in a bag for our journey homewards. The building is an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jolany
midlands
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been staying in hotels in Bath for nearly 30 years for both work and leisure, and we have now found the best there is. We cannot speak highly enough about our stay. Everything is excellent from the initial telephone call to book, to the check-out and all aspects between. We received the utmost courtesy, customer care, considerations and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MidlandsCritical
About Hotel's Favourite Review
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the ‘highly recommended’ accolade. We focus on offering our guests the most suitable option within our seventeen unique bed rooms, a best in class breakfast and the convenience of on street parking in easy proximity to our property. Our team are entirely focused upon enhancing the experience of each guest. We are blessed with a superb location,...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I cannot praise this Hotel highly enough! we were warmly welcomed and the Hotel was explained to us. also, i had asked for a large bed in advance as part of our deluxe room booking. because it was not booked they offered us the 4 poster room which we accepted and it was lovely. beautiful large bed, wonderful quality decoration....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

The Athol and Buccleuch, our two ‘4 poster suites’ offer up a ‘wow factor’ that enhances any anniversary, celebration or indulgent ‘weekend break’. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the applause and praise. Operating a family business, we are supported by a small passionate team committed to ensuring each of our visitors enjoys a superb homely...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When my wife and I arrived, the first thing we were told was that we would be getting a free room upgrade to the Wellington as it would be her birthday the following day. The Wellington room is on the 2nd floor, overlooking Great Poulteney Street, and the two girls from reception cheerfully took our luggage up to the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenlunn2017
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Goodness me, thank you…….your review reads like a shopping list of ‘give aways’ and ‘freebies’…..not our intention at all !! Our intention is for guests to feel they are in the country home of an old familiar friend. We have all experienced being in a formal hotel and having a craving for ‘a glass of milk’ or a warm slice...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Dukes from 13th-15th January. We arrived at about 2.30pm and were able to check in - welcomed to reception and given our keys. Suggestions given for things to do in Bath, and offers of help to book restaurants etc, all gratefully received. We were staying in the Norfolk Suite which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Bucks Fizz – many guests enjoyed this complimentary gesture over the festive period – our cellars are yet to be wholly depleted! The Norfolk is a super room, indeed each of our 17 unique rooms have enormous individual character and a great deal to offer. The simplest option is to give our reception...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I cannot fault our stay at Dukes Hotel last week. From the moment we arrived til when we picked up our cases on departure the service was impeccable. The staff were friendly and helpful, there are only stairs (no lift) so our cases were carried to our room for us. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated with a wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel186338
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Bath and the time you spent with us at Dukes. As you note we are a Grade 1 listed property and unfortunately are prohibited from introducing a lift. However, we have 17 unique rooms on offer across several floors, with two excellent room options on the ground floor. For those willing to...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at Dukes Hotel with my wife over the Valentine's weekend. As soon as we arrived outside the beautiful Georgian hotel, we were given parking passes to park out the front. There wasn't too many spaces but we quickly nipped in one, parked up and waved the car goodbye for a few days. Where we were staying we weren't going...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew_Masters
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Pleased to read that you enjoyed a superb time with us last Valentine weekend. As you note our ‘up front’ rate is higher than most hotels. We pride ourselves on offering guests probably the very best ‘inclusive’ option in Bath. Municipal parking within the city is in excess of £15 per day and most similar establishments would charge between £12.50...

Sevenoaks
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights over new year. We received a warm and almost effusive welcome. We had requested the Wellington room but were offered the Norfolk on the ground floor as an alternative. I was a little concerned whether the proximity to reception and outside noise might be intrusive but we decided that ground floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andycrawf
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted to hear that you found your two night stay over New Year met all your needs and was ‘reasonable value’ at a time when room pricing is so often placed at an opportunistically high rate!! I sorry that your upgraded room was a ‘tad chilly however pleased to hear all was ‘toasty’ and desirable before too long. Buck’s Fizz...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed a number of times and it is consistently good here . The breakfast is excellent and the rooms are lovely. It's a very gentle stroll to The town centre but quiet at night . Staff unfailing my helpful as ever .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merlin1946
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

As you note we are a 5 minute level stroll from the heart of Bath. The walk along Great Pulteney Street is truly uplifting – arguably the finest Georgian boulevard in Europe. With consideration, the magnificent run of townhouses show themselves to be unique and individual, reflecting the numerous independent builders and developers responsible for their original formation. Delighted that...

Tenby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Top floor room was quiet and exactly what we needed for our 'sisters' weekend. Bathroom could do with a bit of updating though.....odd coloured tiles hark back to the 80's and shower screen sealant needs a jolly good clean. Fab view from the lounge of our suite of the Bath chimney pots. Cookies in reception and fresh Madeleine's lovely but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JacquiW1963
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review

We were disappointed to read that you had not wholly enjoyed your stay with us in Bath. The focus and intention of the 15 people offering service at Dukes is to recognise and enhance the experience of our guests. Be it housekeeping, breakfast chef or the front of house waitresses and reception team. We take enormous pride in each of...

238 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
3.0 km away
Apsley House Hotel
0.7 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 34 in Bath
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
0.5 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
1,266 reviews
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $145 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dukes Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Pensacola, Florida
10 months ago
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Godalming, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Dukes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are superb but 4 poster is something else”
 of 5 bubbles 281nickr, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were in Norfolk: a 'deluxe double' which had a lounge suite. Ground floor.”
  • Norfolk Suite
 of 5 bubbles amandagZ151HI, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The norfolk room is highly recomended, and it is on the ground floor, but without noise!”
 of 5 bubbles MidlandsCritical, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are on top floor, which is worth the walk. The hotel is clear on its website about accessibility.”
 of 5 bubbles L0nd0n_James_UK, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Have a chat with someone at the desk before booking; they will help you select the best of the unique rooms for your party.”
 of 5 bubbles 637rachaelf, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay