We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Bath

Booking.comUS$65*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Bath
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Bath
See the most recent reviews
Showing 239: English reviews
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

The YHA is a lovely place to stay with lovely surrondings and good bus routes. My only complaint was that I could hear the people downstairs snoring and talking (I stayed in room 1 with my mum) and the stairs to room 1 and 2 were steep and creeking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
Victoria H, Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. Although Room 1 and 2 are nice spacious rooms with good views from Room 1, we do understand that the steep stairs do not suit everyone.

Perth
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We had a fabulous stay here. The place was very busy the three nights we were there and there was a lot of students (or young teenagers) staying here. Being teachers we liked to see the kids and it added a lot of atmosphere to the place. It wasn't quiet but we didn't care. The kitchen and eating areas are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLotsos
Victoria H, Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a shame the weather kept you from enjoying the hostel garden. We're still waiting for summer!

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016

I stayed one night at Bath YHA. Friendly greeting from efficient staff who gave me all the information I needed. As a solo motorcyclist I was allowed to park my bike alongside the building which was greatly appreciated. Room and communal facilities were all clean and tidy. Nice hot shower and clean toilet across the corridor. On the counter were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K B
Victoria H, Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

We got a family room with 4 bunk beds plus a small sink. Bathrooms and toilets are located along the corridor. Beds are comfy. Nothing spectacular but then, this is a youth hostel. Parking is along the main road but note parking restriction from 8am to 6pm. U can drive up to the hostel to unload and load luggages, rather...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CalvinTeoh
Victoria H, Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We understand our lack of parking can be inconvenient, but as you say, we welcome customers to unload luggage at the front door, before moving the car. There is limited parking all day long on Bathwick Hill at the bottom of our driveway.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We were a large group and booked the YHA as there was little options for a group of 20 in bath at a reasonable price. The Hostel has been recently rennovated and everything is in good working order, however it was noted by some of our group that they could hear the pipes all night but we were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildcath_20
Victoria H, Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and feedback about our hostel. I apologise for the inconsistent check-ins you received and will make sure all of our team are following the same procedures. All YHAs follow the same policy of asking for photo ID upon check-in, to ensure a safe stay for all our customers.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016

The single sex dorm (women) was inadequate for three sets of bunk beds. There was not enough space for everyone to have space. There was a toilet with handbasin but the tap didn't work properly, in fact it fell apart so there was no water there. Another handbasin outside was ok. I'm a 69 year old woman ( reasonably fit)...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 816lovely
Victoria H, Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

I'm sorry you weren't too happy with your room. We were aware of the broken tap and were awaiting parts to fix it, but we recognise that this was an inconvenience. I apologise we couldn't reserve you a bottom bunk on this occasion - we do offer this service, but it is difficult if people are staying a few days...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Great location not too far from Bath town centre, with bus routes directly outside the entrance gate makes this a popular hostel, maybe too popular in its current state. Overall we had an acceptable stay here, the staff were helpful and efficient as you can expect from a YHA and our room in the annex cabin was clean and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gorwydd
Victoria H, Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry you felt the hostel didn't live up to your expectations. I do value all feedback as it helps us get things right next time and I will be looking in to all the points you make to see what changes we can make to ensure that we provide a consistently good experience at...

Reviewed 16 May 2016

We stayed in room 1. which is the room in the tower. There were windows on three sides we were up with the tree tops and the birds it was beautiful and peaceful. The youth hostel was big and spacious all the common areas were clean and the dinner we had was delicious, veggie burger with chips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi A
Victoria H, Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Finistere, France
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We stayed here as a group of 50+ students. Good location, Bath is accessible on foot but it is a steep climb back to the hostel! Great outdoor space for students to let off some steam. Large restaurant facilities. Food quality average but we were a large group. Our party was split between the main house and the lodge. I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miggins1812
Victoria H, Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice feedback. We are always keen to try and improve our group menu and welcome any ideas. Look forward to seeing you all next year.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Hostel is a little hike out of town but nothing too bad if you don't mind a walk. The U1 bus takes your directly opposite the hostel for £1.50. Exterior of the building is picturesque and embodies the general architecture of Bath. Inside is quite nice, clean and comfortable. My girlfriend and I had a private room on the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NAgrange23
Victoria H, Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. Room 1 definitely has the best view in the hostel!

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
171 reviews
1.0 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
1,223 reviews
1.2 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Famed for its grand Georgian architecture and hot springs, Bath is a World Heritage City of many contrasts. It also offers a vibrant nightlife and progressive counter culture to round off your experience. Hearty breakfasts and a quality evening menu are available in our restaurant. YHA Bath is a listed building and welcomes all types of guests. However, if you have a child under the age of 3 years or any other requirements related to mobility or access, please mention at the time of booking and we will endeavor to book you in the most suitable room. YHA Bath comprises two buildings which are both in the same grounds. The hostel has both dorm beds and private rooms available, with some en-suite. We are perfect for backpackers, families and couples alike. Bed linen is provided but towels are not, however please do bring your own or you can hire them from us. There is FREE Wi-Fi available in the social areas. There is 24 hour access to the hostel for all guests that have checked in (code given during check in). YHA Bath is located on Bathwick Hill, within walking distance of the city itself. All the main city attractions are close enough to walk, including the Roman Baths, the Jane Austen Centre, Bath Abbey and the Bath Thermal Spa. Immerse yourself in the rich history of this World Heritage City, explore the gorgeous Georgian architecture or relax in the spa before returning to the hostel for a quiet drink in the bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Bath

Address: Bathwick Hill, Bath BA2 6JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $34 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Yha Hotel Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Bath staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Bath staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“bring your own padlock for lockers :)”
Country12Boy, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in the lodge!!!”
thefam0usfive, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were next to an outer door, so quite noisey”
  • Our bedroom
J7, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book an en suite room”
A-Reel, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ensuite rooms in the annexe, ask to be right down the end of the corridor to minimise the noise”
pauffleys, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$65* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$81
Expedia.comUS$65
Orbitz.comUS$65
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates