We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Yarn Market Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Yarn Market Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yarn Market Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Grand Cayman
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Loved Dunster, great location. Just down the road from the Castle. Walking distance to many local attractions. Great buffet breakfast, live music across the street. Would highly recommend it to anyone. A great getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CarolEE E
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting this review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (and that our breakfast gave you a good start into the day) and that you loved Dunster. Indeed, this medieval village might be small, but there is definitely no lack of attractions. If you want to explore some more of...

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This hotel is located on Dunster High St just opposite the famous Yarn Market, from which the hotel takes it's name. There is no hotel off-street parking but parking on the High Street is free and there is a large village car park a few minutes walk away. The hotel provides a free pass to display during your stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PSW53
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed review which contains various points we are actively working on. Fortunately, we have been very busy during the last few months, so that there wasn't the opportunity to do any major refurbishment during this time. However, as the high season draws to a close we are about - and have already started in...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

40 of us spent a weekend walking holiday with me single room occupancy.. Comfortable not too small bedroom. Food was good except, as one reviewer mentioned, pale slightly strange tasting sausages at breakfast although I thought the hash browns very tasty. The bar was small but with a good selection of wine. However only bottled beer and as some of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wynfordjones1
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review

Hello from the other side of the Bristol Channel and thank you very much for your review. It is great to hear that you and the group enjoyed walking through the lovely Exmoor National Park. Good to hear that you also enjoyed the food and the drinks on offer in our hotel although our bar is on the small side...

London
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a walking group. Made to feel very welcome. Rooms are dated but very comfortable. Breakfast and evening meal both ok and relative to what one would expect of a hotel of this standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vix75
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you and the rest of the walking group staying with us and I am glad you enjoyed your walking break, even if the weather wasn't very nice on the first day. If you are looking for a short break away from the hustle and bustle of London to recharge your batteries, you will know now...

South Ockendon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I spent three nights at the Yarn Market Hotel. It's a lovely place, the staff are very friendly and the rooms clean and tidy and reasonably well appointed. It's a bit of a maze inside, the rooms seem scattered all over the place and some of the staircases are very narrow. Having said that, it doesn't detract...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed review which we have read with great interest. Indeed we try our best to make groups as well as individual travelers feel welcome at our hotel and it is great to hear that we obviously succeeded in doing so with you. I can assure you that we are constantly reviewing all areas of...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after our friend's wedding , the staff were very friendly and so accommodating especially as we we had to move our breakfast from the dining room to sitting room as we had a dog in the group , which meant staff had to work even harder but nothing was too much trouble , brekkie was pleasant and never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. It was a pleasure having you, your friends and the dog staying with us and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we managed to make you feel comfortable and happy during breakfast. I will pass on your kind comments to all the...

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

The weather was awful when we visited Dunster so a quick visit to the Yarn Market for a cupper and a cake in the warm and dry. A nicely appointed place with pleasant staff and gorgeous home made biscuits.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel133
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting this review. It is great to hear that we could provide you with a place to warm up, a nice cup of tea and some sweat treats on a weather-wise rather unpleasant day in Dunster. I will pass on you compliments about the home-made biscuits to our chef who also makes all of our...

UK
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Expensive for what you get. The beds were very uncomfortable and the hotel feels more like a hostel with wallpaper coming off walls and dirty carpets. Breakfast was sad. I was glad to escape. Dunster is a great place to visit. They were ok with dogs and staff were pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JOHN91
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your reviews although we would have appreciated if you had contacted us directly during your stay to give us a chance to make the stay more comfortable for you. While we are aware of the fact that the hallways are in need of a refurbishment and this is on top...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

My wife and I fancied a week in the Exmoor area at the end of July, and we chose the Yarn Market Hotel, mainly because of its location. On application, we found out that on the first three days of our trip a jazz weekend was being held in the hotel. Being jazz lovers, this was great news, and, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonJazzer
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. It is great to see that you are obviously as enthusiastic about our wonderful region as we are. Indeed there is an abundance of things to do in the Exmoor National Park and you are spoilt for choice. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the jazz and...

Braunston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We were very impressed with this hotel. Very comfortable and cozy. The food, from dinner in the evening to the breakfast buffet was excellent. This trip was a recce for a walking group planning to visit in September and we had a great stay. Very friendly staff who were locals and could discuss and recommend planned walks. All in all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RayScrivens
yarnmarket, Manager at Yarn Market Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. Lovely to hear that you had a great time in and around Dunster and that you enjoyed our hotel and its surroundings. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back (this time with your group) in September and we will do our best to make sure that every member of your...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
647 reviews
3.1 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
247 reviews
10.9 km away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
225 reviews
22.2 km away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
137 reviews
0.1 km away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#3 of 12 in Dunster
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated within Exmoor National Park in the medieval village of Dunster, not 500 metres from Dunster Castle, this family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. The property is located in the middle of the High Street opposite the iconic Yarn Market. As a member of the Visit Britain Pets Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Cyclists Welcome schemes, it specialises in walking holidays and special interest breaks as well as catering for families, pets and individuals. Each en-suite room is comfortable, inviting and full of individual character and they provide a range of accommodation options to suit all guests. The Gables Restaurant offers a fantastic and varied menu of traditional home-cooked food with something to cater for all tastes. With its ambient surroundings and friendly service, it is the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a long day. It's just over a 40 minute drive from Taunton and Junction 24 off the M5 and is the perfect base for exploring this beautiful area of the country and its many wonderful attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yarn Market Hotel

Address: 25-33 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Price Range: $149 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarn Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yarn Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarn Market Minehead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Yarn Market Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not all rooms have a bath in the en-suite, so worth asking when you book if this is your choice.”
928juliak, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room overlooked the main street with the castle looming above the village.Cozy and comfortable. Not noisy despite the position.”
RayScrivens, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Small lift makes all rooms accessable.”
wynfordjones1, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We overlooked the Yarnmarket, a very interesting old building and although it looked out over the main road was relatively quiet.”
RayScrivens, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Disappointing afternoon”
alanwalker1977, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5