We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Booking.comUS$102*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$102*
US$102*
US$102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Crown at Wells & Anton\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
See the most recent reviews
Showing 549: English reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Called in for lunch after a tree year absence. My daughters hot chocolate was brought to the table without a saucer, sugar or spoon. We asked for sugar and the young girl brought it along with a biscuit. Food came - two ham baguettes, two portions of chips and a childrens chicken strips and chips. Asked for ketchup and vinegar....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steph O
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Sorry to read your review and that service was not our usual, high standard. We do wish you had spoken with us whilst here as we could have resolved all the issues you had. Please accept our apologies.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Just had (August 2016) a three-day stay at this beautiful hotel. My short holiday was a very happy one, made all the more memorable by the courtesy and kindness of the hotel staff. Being disabled, and having a mobility scooter, I cannot have been a particularly easy guest. The scooter had to be disassembled, put away, and left to charge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MGO65
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

What an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and to read your review; we really appreciate you taking the time out to write such wonderful things. Your comments concerning Janine and Callum are just super (we're think they're delightful too). We look forward to welcoming you hopefully in the not too distant future. Thank you.

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I didn't stay here or even have a meal, but a couple of my friends have coffee here most mornings and I joined them on several occasions whilst staying with them. You can sit either indoors or out on the patio area behind the hotel. This place was used for the filming of the movie "Hot Fuzz" some years ago...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff L
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Do hope you'll have something to eat with us next time you're in Wells.

leicester
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed for one night and it was a Friday which may have impacted on our experience. The hotel is in a great location right on the market and in the centre of the main town. I won't say City as it really is quite small and very pretty so the word City might mislead you. We got a parking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoLeicester
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a very detailed and balanced review. We're really sorry that noise issues are unfortunately beyond our control, given our location, and we do our best to negate them. We do have fans in all rooms. So pleased to hear you slept well. Appreciate what you're saying about Wells being more of a town than City;...

Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We had a good evening in the refurbished Anton's restaurant, new oak floor which is a great improvement nice atmosphere, food and service excellent, menue has some unusual dishes, would of preferred either duck breath or confit of duck separate not together as it's rather a lot together. Will be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 329abc49
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're pleased you like the refurb and the duck. We've noted your comment about the duck breath(!) and appreciate your feedback.

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Arrive at 13:30. Told not taking orders for food for 15 minutes hat stretched to 30 minutes and the food would not be ready for 45 mins after that. We were thinking of coming to stay her for Christmas but you can forget that. Very poor customer service. Lots of people did not stay so money was being lost hand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We're sorry you caught us on an extremely busy day and you felt let down by the service you received on that particular day.

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Our food was basic. Big portions but not much flavour. Some of our food arrived and we had to wait almost another 10 minutes for the food we had ordered for the children. By then ours was cold. The most disappointing thing was the customer service from the girls working in the restaurant. They were so unhelpful and kept rolling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessica_b_gibson
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Sorry, clearly the service issues were unacceptable. We have had a change in organisation since you were last here, with new staff and new head chef. We ask any issues may be raised with the duty manager while in the building in order that we can do our best to resolve any problems before they leave.

England
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Arrived at The Crown's Penn Bar , found a table easily and ordered food at the bar at 7.10pm, and informed it could be 45 minute wait. We were happy with this and enjoyed our drinks. We were approached by member of the bar staff at 7.15pm to be told the area we were sitting (along with others) was going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose1111
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear of your experience. We were incredibly busy that evening, hence wait for food and lack of tables. The issues with your food should not have happened and again we apologise. We can assure you there is always a manager on duty at The Crown and they would have dealt with your complaint while you were here...

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We visted wells for a family day trip as as a big fan of the film hot fuzz was very keen to visit the crown I booked a table to avoid any disappointment when we arrived at the restaurant we we're greeted in a friendly and professional manner and shown to our table we were offered some water while we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryl M
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for a super review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us.

Somerset
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Four of us went in for the roast lunch with potatos cooked in duck fat, Yorkshire puddings sounded lovely!!! Well, the plates where only warm, two slices of beef, difficult to cut, three halves of soggy roasted potatoes and a Yorkshire pudding that was completely deflated and not crisp at all. One dish of carrots, green beans, cauliflower and broccoli,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colsey
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

You did mention your issues concerning the vegetables, rightly so, while here and we did give you more. You seemed happy with this as you left so unsure about your subsequent review.

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
164 reviews
0.1 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
962 reviews
1.5 km away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
299 reviews
0.5 km away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#25 of 40 in Wells
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Price Range: $157 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown Hotel Wells
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only visited for lunch so can't really comment on Hotel.”
Thrisher, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Delicious steak is a must!”
yatna110, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor might escape noise from the courtyard.”
doneteaching2001, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you are staying on a night before market day make sure you use the complimentary earplugs. The market set-up starts at 5:45am.”
MareeH245, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a view”
doreent192, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$102* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$102
TripAdvisorUS$102
PricelineUS$102
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates