We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cathedral Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cathedral Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 330: English reviews
Start your review of The Cathedral Hotel
 Click to rate
Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at The Cathedral. Having booked what was called a Premier Room I was disappointed with the room. From a broken window, and very uncomfortable and very creeky bed that was coming apart and cracks in the walls and floor tiles. The bathroom which looked quite new and was nice had the worst shower I have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick S
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your two night stay at The Cathedral Hotel. I am very sorry to learn that there were aspects of your stay where we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Having recently taken over ownership, we have plans to enhance the hotel, and the feedback we receive from...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Cathedral Hotel...it could do with updating and the carpets replacing but it was clean with friendly helpful staff and a good location for enjoying the town. Only draw back was the room was so hot we had to sleep with the window open and for some reason there was ventilation under the bath which cause the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Myddlewytch
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cathedral Hotel while visiting the lovely city of Lichfield We have recently taken over the ownership of the hotel and we have plans to replace the boilers. While the system is drained, we will be fitting valves on the radiators, so our guests will be able to control the temperature of their...

uk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good size room,comfortable bed,lots of storage,huge TV,good but not great bathroom.Fantastic breakfast. Staff all friendly and helpful.Just a short walk to centre. I believe it has just been taken over .What it needs is some updating of walls/ceiling decoration, improvement in lighting which is a bit dingy and more effective window dressing. Would definitely stay again...great value for money!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aristocat
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

The Cathedral Hotel is now part of the family owned Webb Hotel Group, which includes The George Hotel in Bird Street, Lichfield, Moor Hall Hotel & Spa in Sutton Coldfield and The Gables Hotel near Bristol. We are extremely lucky to have such a great team, and your kind feedback regarding the level of service received during your stay is...

Stourbridge
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We love Lichfield and normally stay at Premier Inn in the city centre however it works out expensive with no breakfast or free parking so decided to try The Cathedral Hotel and weren't disappointed. We love to go to The Feathers to watch the live music so perfect position for that. Would highly recommend venue Mike and Tracy perfect hosts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted that we will be your No.1 choice when you visit Lichfield, really pleased you enjoy the live bands playing at The Feathers. I am sorry that the bed was a little on the hard side for you, however Chef is delighted that the breakfast was one of the best you’ve had. We look forward to welcoming you...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked as an anniversary weekend away without kids and this hotel was good. It wasn't overly expensive, was clean and staff were friendly yet professional. We were greeted by a young man called Ryan, who was very friendly and informative. Breakfast was delicious and very filling. We're planning to return soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay S
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

I am really pleased that our family owned hotel offered you both just what you needed for a most enjoyable weekend away to celebrate your Anniversary. Our fantastic team are delighted that their contribution helped to make your time away so special, and look forward to welcoming you again, once a baby sitter has been fixed up! Thank you for...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly welcoming staff. Hotel entrance and interior rather shabby but the room itself on 2nd floor was fine. Very comfortable bed! Two flights of narrow stairs not too easy with a suitcase! Breakfast promised to be great but was spoiled by painfully slow service despite it not being busy, and the 'full English' could have been hotter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DingleLoopy
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you received a warm welcome, and your room met your expectations, with a very comfy bed. So sorry to hear you struggled with your suitcase, we would have been very happy to help you. We receive some lovely comments regarding our breakfasts, and I will look into why the service was not up to our usual...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have restricted mobility so this hotel is unable to provide accommodation for us. A pity as it's location us otherwise very convenient. Reception was courteous, but there is no indication on the hotel's website of any such restrictions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haybarn2014
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our friendly Reception Team, this is really appreciated. Unfortunately the hotel does not have any ground floor rooms or a lift, and I am sincerely very sorry that we were unable to accommodate your needs. I trust that you have now found a suitable hotel, and will take the opportunity to explore everything...

Nottingham
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Excellently situated close to the National Memorial Arboretum and Lichfield Town Centre.The staff were brilliant; friendly and helpful.Our room was comfortable, plenty of hot water and wifi was free. Plenty of choices for breakfast too. We will stay again. The Cathedral is worth a visit , as is Dr Johnson's house, A huge number of pubs and eateries are within...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne W
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely account of your visit to The Cathedral Hotel, Lichfield and for your fabulous 5* rating. Lichfield is Staffordshire's premier heritage city nestled in the heart of the country’s most creative county, just north of Birmingham. With a city that is steeped in heritage and a district that is alive with action and adventure, it is...

Reviewed 13 February 2017

We decided to stay here at the last minute. You can see they are gradually making improvements. The decor was dated in the room we had, however, it was clean and the bed was comfy. The staff were very friendly and I could see them booking taxi's for people, so obviously they will pull out the stops for guests. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debby B
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for booking The Cathedral Hotel for your last minute stay and for taking the time to post your review, your feedback is extremely important to us, and we take your comments very seriously, as this helps us improve our service to you and future guests. I am pleased that you found your room clean and comfortable and were...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I have recently stayed at the cathedral hotel, I had booked this hotel via an online booking facility. I booked a double room from £50 to begin with however later on i changed my mind. I called to request a double room with a single with breakfast which was meant to be £55. They lady on the phone advised me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

We receive many lovely reviews regarding our friendly and efficient team, and I am disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. We have recently taken over the ownership of The Cathedral Hotel, and your feedback is extremely important, as this enables us to improve our service to you and future guests. I would like...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
296 reviews
1.1 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now under new ownership, The Cathedral Hotel is an independant family run hotel comprising of 36 comfortable en suite rooms, excellent function & conference facilities, 24hr licensed bar and a restaurant. The hotel is set in the heart of the beautiful city of Lichfield,just a two minute walk from the city centre and the magnificent cathedral. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 62 Beacon Street, Lichfield WS13 7AR, England (Formerly Cathedral Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Price Range: $78 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cathedral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Lichfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cathedral Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Havant, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Havant, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cathedral Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at back are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles aristocat, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel have a much nicer outlook than ones at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles DingleLoopy, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No accessibility for people unable to cope with 19 steps”
 of 5 bubbles Haybarn2014, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I had a room at the back - view was of the car park but it was really quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanetteW707, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms at the back are quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles sootyandsweep02, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5