We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Railway Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Railway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
east London
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

We came to this pub for the first time this evening. What a surprising evening! Friendly, lively, great crowd, the Karaoke was super fun. Definitely a place to recommend. Beer is well kept and staff helpful and friendly. ...in ten years of owning a place here I ask myself, why didn't I come before? We will return. Fab!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeyLondonUk
shirley b, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Shirley

uk
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

We called into this pub whilst visiting Aldeburgh. It wasn't very impressive compared to other pubs that we visited locally and they served a very poor pint of Adnams Broadside. Although this was the nearest pub to our accommodation, we weren't tempted to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank multiplexor1
shirley b, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Hello We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to our lovely pub. Do wish you had told us about the broadside- we would have dealt with your complaint immediately. Regards Shirley

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Very friendly folk and a good pint. Real locals pub. Cribbage. Quizes. Dartboard. Pool table. Juke box (free on Thursdays!). Well kept Adnams ales. Probably a very lively place on a Friday or Saturday night. We where there on a Thursday! Pretty quiet, just us and the crib players plus one or two locals. They don't serve food though, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBovril
United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

Only reviewing the pub as never stayed in the accommodations of the Railway inn. Very nice pub with a great selection of ales, lberta and spirits. Very nice bar staff and very nice atmosphere. Pool table and Jude box makes this pub a very nice place to come and have a drink with friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller22AMS
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Just returned from a super Easter weekend at the Railway. Shirl was great, made us really welcome, everywhere was spotless, watched the cleaner cleaning the bar and she took a lot of care to ensure that it was 100%. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the day, top class produce. Went in the bar in the evening and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey M
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2014

Only just leaving our comments after staying last February, we enjoyed our two night stay. Our double room was furnished nicely and provided what we needed. The ensuite was looking a little tired but was perfectly ok to use. Now regarding noise, yes, it's a pub... The best way to handle the noise is to go downstairs and join in!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevinandJane
shirley b, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and positive feedback -glad you had a nice time with us.! The double room and the ensuite has been refurbished this summer. Many thanks Shirley

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Railway Inn is a great place to stay. We were made very welcome and were pleased to be asked if we wanted veggie sausages for our breakfast, as we are vegetarians. Nice pub, decent room, excellent beer from Adnams and a very thoughtful host, Aldeburgh is a very good place to visit and we hope when we come back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
Reviewed 29 July 2014

lovely stay at the railway which we have visited before - and again no complaints. we where worried standards may have slipped after reading a review below which highlighted it may not be as good as our last visit but we had nothing to worry about. aldeburgh is a beautiful town but accomodation can be over priced but shirley and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pig118
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just spent a lovely weekend at The Railway Inn, Aldeburgh. Shown to our room by the very friendly landlady who was able to give her recommendations of where to eat in town (just 10 minutes walk from the B&B) we had a lovely double room, extremely clean and well presented with everything we needed, including a fabulous shower....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adele T
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit to The Railway and I was as pleased as the first time I visited. I had to stay in the twin room as the single was booked which was completely fine. The room was spacious, tidy and very clean, and so was the bathroom. You could hear some noise from downstairs which is what you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissB200

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
1.9 km away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
1.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,337 reviews
1.7 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
909 reviews
9.1 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
750 reviews
1.4 km away
Toll House
Toll House
#5 of 18 in Aldeburgh
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: Leiston Road, Aldeburgh, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Railway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just three rooms, single twin and double”
 of 5 bubbles geoffreym212, 4 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Although the wiFi was free the signal,was next to useless”
 of 5 bubbles AlanW759, 13 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Check first that there is no live music.”
 of 5 bubbles PatD458, 22 Oct 2012 | Read review
3 of 3