We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,394: English reviews
Start your review of The White Lion Hotel
 Click to rate
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed at The White Lion Hotel many times before and we took advantage of the "Spring by the Sea" offer. My husband is a Coeliac and is on a gluten-free diet - his needs were taken care of brilliantly (he loved the sausages for breakfast)! All staff were fantastic - particular praise must go to the member of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClaireTownley
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Originally discovered by chance about 10 years ago we return to this place almost every year. Aldeburgh has become a favourite spot and this hotel a favourite place to stay. It's evolved in that time from what it always was - a very comfortable unpretentious place - in to something altogether smarter but still very comfortable and unpretentious which feels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hilaryb53317
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had an overnight bed & breakfast stay at the White Lion. The hotel is very traditional in style, but has a great deal of charm. The rooms/facilities are clean, comfortable and well maintained, and the service is efficient, warm and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent, and it was great to find that you get full table service (no buffet), and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blueshound50
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked the White Lion for a couple of nights & it was excellent, the staff were friendly and efficient & the food was very good. The room was clean & comfortable, could do with some updating but didn't spoil our stay at all. We would definitely like to return. Unlike a lot of hotel restaurants which lack any atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PMC43
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Bank holiday Monday ... 7 family members...attentive staff..food on the whole was really good...dessert bit disappointing had the warm chocolate cake... Really dry..... But would definitely recommend as the other food was really nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anon627
MarkWLOpsManager, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased that you found the service from my staff and the food to both be good. We pride ourselves on both and I am sorry to hear on this occasion that you didn't like your dessert - I will feed this back to the chef team. I hope that we have the...

Enfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here the night of Easter Sunday, it is superbly placed on the seafront, with free parking on a first come first served basis and within walking distance of the high street and Thorpeness if you are feeling a tad more energetic. We were checked in swiftly by a pleasant receptionist. Due to the nature of the hotel being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EMO128
MarkWLOpsManager, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and for choosing to stay at the White Lion. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that my team looked after you well and hope to welcome you back soon. Mark

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been Aldeburgh many tim s never here! It was good - worth a visit. We came in late and they had run out of a few items but the food was of good quality staff friendly and helpful and the place had a wee bit of a buzz about it - which is unusual for Aldeburgh!! I would go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
MarkWLOpsManager, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we are pleased that you chose the eat here at the White Lion. My team here work hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their visit and I am pleased that this was the case for you. We hope to welcome you again... Mark

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Haven't been to Aldeburgh for a while, and all sea view rooms were booked, so did have to stay elsewhere, however made sure we at least had lunch in one of our favourite hotels by the sea, and we weren't disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lso270
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location of this hotel is ideal for seaside visits to Aldeburgh, one of my favourite places in the world. I have to say though that I'm very glad I wasn't paying for this stay, it's a work visit, as the sound proofing in this hotel is far from acceptable, given the level of charges. It just seems that you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicholas D
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The state of the bedroom (24) and bathroom demonstrate how important it is to keep on top of deep cleaning and maintenance in a hotel as old as The White Lion. The TA Group has clearly invested in the public rooms - the lounge, bar and restaurant are quite bright, contemporary and welcoming. The staff and the meals they served...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stevebeedle
MarkWLOpsManager, Operations Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for recently choosing to stay at the White Lion hotel and thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to my attention. My team are currently working to improve the standards across the hotel however I apologise that this was not the case in time for your visit. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the...

283 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (154)
Viewed
Inland Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Sea View Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.8 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
957 reviews
0.1 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
629 reviews
20.7 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
689 reviews
2.9 km away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
32.3 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Brasserie Bleue
Brasserie Bleue
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Price Range: $204 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The White Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms are the best option, although as you would expect, a little more expensive.”
blueshound50, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with sea view, if available”
293grahamw, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not 22 (very small)”
BeverlyO331, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great to have sea views, but rooms at the back are also fine and very quiet, too.”
WendyIpswich, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms available.”
BarryG399, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5