We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rutland Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rutland Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rutland Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 432: English reviews
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

Hotel looks romantic from the outside. However our room had a non-functioning toilet. After complaints it was not repaired. Our room on the top floor was difficult to reach with luggage. Receptionstaff was not too friendly and preoccupied with themselves. After heavy showers the roof leaked in several places and buckets were placed to prevent water from seeping through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans R
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear of your experience. We have an on site maintenance person who would have been avaliable to repair the toilet. Unfortunately due to the layout of the building some of our rooms are a fair distance from reception however, there should have been someone avaliable to help take your luggage to...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Went to celebrate a friends birthday with a meal and a few drink after the races at Newmarket. The meal was fabulous the steaks great. The staff very professional, nice touch at the end of the meat with the chef and staff singing happy birthday to our friend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gay C
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. we look forward to welcoming you back.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a night after the racing.. The room was very tired, needing a major revamp and had no air conditioning .. To charge £157 in a small double for one night, it should have been up to date with all the comfort you would expect of a hotel worthy of charging £157 a night .. Staff we nice.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline O
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review. Our prices are based on local events and demand, this means that during the racing or sales the prices reflect the demand. The hotel is a listed building and as such we are unable to install air conditioning in our rooms, we do provide fans in all of our rooms to try to make guest...

Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed for three nights combining a friends wedding with a short break. The hotel is very charming and full of character, if in need of a small touch up every here and there. Our family room was large even for three and a half of us, very clean and very comfortable. Even quiet considering we overlooked the high street....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phil jennings loughborough
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you found the room clean and comfortable and that the service was good. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

masham
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Arrived from France via the tunnel, en route home to Yorkshire. Having booked a character room we were directed through a maze of corridors and up lots of stairs, ending up almost in the attics. I am recovering from a broken ankle and struggling with using steps, so after an enquiry from my husband the staff immediately moved us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendymaryMasham
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am please to hear that the team were accomodating with your request and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Essex, England
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with friends after an evening event at the Racecourse. We had read reviews so came prepared. Such a shame as this Hotel has some great original features, spoilt by threadbare carpets which are old & dirty, peeling wallpaper, & dated decor. Our bedroom curtain was not much more than a piece of fabric on curtain wire. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fauts
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The hotel is under a contstant maintenance program and we do our best to make sure we keep the hotel as up to date as possible. Unfortunatly, with the hotel dating back to the 17th century, it is not always possible to keep on top of everything and some things are beyond our control.

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 1night 139pnds dirty rooms bed like sleeping on a board in need of a good refurb bathroom dirty, someone used loo before we checked in, could write your name in the dust on furniture.the only good about the hotel the location stayed in travel lodge previous night spotless compared to this hotel not recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diana r
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diana, Thank you for your comments. I am disappointed to read your review and i will pass your comments onto the team, who will also be upset. The Rate would have been inflated due to a race meeting but this is no excuse for the standard of your experience. had this have been highlighted to the management team during...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

The hotel is in a lovely historic building. However this has resulted in a labarynrth like network of stairs and corridors. Our room 145 was about as far away from reception as possible. Our room was clean and the bed was comfy but the bathroom could do with updating and our shower dripped constantly. The breakfast was very well cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenni E
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenni, Thank you for your review. As you have mentioned the hotel is a 17th century coaching inn and th hotel has been designed around the original building. The part you stayed in was added onto the hotel and as a result is a bit like an 'annexe'. We are constantly trying to update and maintain our room standards...

East Anglia
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Lunch here with a friend turned out poor again. A cheese and onion toastie turned up as cheese and ham, waitress very apologetic and offered to sort it out. 10 minutes later a chees and pickle toastie arrived - by this time I just ate it. It's not the first time food has been shoddy, the last time it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EastAngliaMiddy
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

My experience of this hotel could at best be described as poor, and at worst, shocking, bordering on misrepresentation. We paid £165 for a standard double room and stayed one night in order to attend the horse racing at Newmarket. The hotel is a typical old coaching inn; plenty of stairs meandering through the large building. After more downs than...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank david j
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to hear of your experience. The Deputy manager has made myself aware of your visit and unfortunately due to holidays and unforeseen circumstances they have been unable to respond to you personally. During racing there is very high demand for rooms in newmarket and as such the price reflects this. I am...

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.3 km away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.9 km away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
838 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
21.0 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,106 reviews
12.1 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, European, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Where history and hospitality combine.This 17th Century former Coaching Inn is at the top of the High Street in the heart of the vibrant racing town of Newmarket.The Hotel has a rich and vibrant history and has continued to offer the highest levels of service and hospitality throughout the years. The motto on the coat of arms, 'pour y parvenir' meaning 'to attain or succeed', underpins everything at the Rutland Arms.The Hotel is built around a cobbled courtyard that dates back to the 17th century reign of Charles II and now has 46 individually decorated bedrooms.The distinctive and attractive building retains many of the original period features adding to the charm and character of the Rutland Arms.For early risers, a morning stroll to the gallops is something not to be missed. Watching the horses out on exercise certainly builds up an appetite for a hearty breakfast.The Nell Gwynn bar is an ideal meeting place for morning coffee, drinks, lunch or a traditional afternoon tea. After a day at the races, celebrate in style with a drink in the wine bar and dinner in the award-winning Carriages Restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Address: 33 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Price Range: $87 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rutland Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rutland Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It really depends on the needs of clients the staff would talk it through with them.”
 of 5 bubbles Beryl1513, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are staying at a weekend, ask for a room away from the main road if you are an early bedder”
 of 5 bubbles BattyOne, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 355 right at the top of the hotel very quiet and clean, overlooks rooftops and courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles K5612XXsarahb, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not room 354”
 of 5 bubbles D6253WLdavidj, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are less likely to suffer from traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles AlisonB946, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5