We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$127
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-27
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (581)
Room & Suite (103)
Dining (54)

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Woodbridge
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Polish
1431Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 666
  • 331
  • 203
  • 141
  • 90
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Saffra M wrote a review Dec. 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom44 contributions34 helpful votes
We booked a much needed one night stay at Seckford Hall- just me and my partner. Because of covid we could not use the pool or spa but still loved our stay and will certainly be back when all facilities are open. Beautiful building with loads of history and pretty grounds and worth driving into Woodbridge to visit the lovely old town center which we did. Rooms were fine however i think it would be nice to have a mini fridge in the rooms. Also could do with a deep clean on some spots where dust around lights and mirrors sat, but very pleased that they had a bin in the room which a lot of hotels don't have. Room was very warm at night so you need to open windows. Breakfast was lovely and service was great and really friendly. Dinner was also delicious- the sea bass was amazing! Super chef. I think they are coping well considering they had such few staff working because of covid and will be nice t come back when things are back to normal.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Day, Marketing at Seckford Hall
Responded Dec. 27, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2021. Regards Moira Banks GM
Read more
JDF291016 wrote a review Dec. 2020
London, United Kingdom41 contributions41 helpful votes
Very comfortable room, compact but that reflected the price, and excellent spa and swimming pool facilities. We enjoyed really good service and light plates at the bar, as well as a delicious breakfast. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Day, Marketing at Seckford Hall
Responded Dec. 27, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2021. Regards Moira Banks GM
Read more
800elliep wrote a review Dec. 2020
Suffolk, United Kingdom45 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Absolutely diabolical. I booked to stay here and paid £130 for a ‘superior’ double. I came up to my room to find I had twin headboards so I rang reception and asked if they had another superior DOUBLE room available - the next one I was shown was very small and dark so I said that’s fine I’ll stay in the one I’m in. Upon closer inspection, I find cracks in windows, paint peeling off the walls, make up marks on the walls, shabby furniture and water damage to the chairs - yuck! Certainly not what you would expect from the hotel judging from its website or from a hotel room costing £130. I then went down to reception and explained all this and was told ‘there were no other rooms available’, I did not even get an apology or to be asked if I was okay or anything, so I asked to see the second room again. Upon moving my belongings into the second room, I discovered the bathroom stunk of smoke. I then decided to take matters into my own hands and go on the website and I found that there was other rooms available. For the third time I rang reception and said ‘I have seen you have other rooms available.’ Instead of being offered a free upgrade to one of the other rooms on offer, I was downgraded to a regular double room and refunded the price (in 5 working days!). I have seriously never stayed anywhere like this and I will never return. In the double room I was finally in, the bedside tables were turned towards the bed so they could fit in, meaning that you could not use the drawers. Despite being a recently refurbished room, the plug sockets were shocking. However the room was a lot nicer than the superior!! Makes no sense!! Besides this, I was told that there was no room service...makes absolutely no sense to me considering the pandemic. It is such a shame because the building itself is beautiful but reception seem completely unable to deal with complaints regarding basic hygiene (or anything else for that matter after reading other reviews!!). I won’t be returning that’s for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Day, Marketing at Seckford Hall
Responded Dec. 27, 2020
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your room and Reception did not deal with it properly. Our Operations Manager will review this with the team as a result of your issues. Thank you for this constructive feedback. Regards Moira Banks GM
Read more
SHERMINE54 wrote a review Nov. 2020
London, United Kingdom266 contributions119 helpful votes
We stayed at this stunning property in October stayed for 3 days. The property itself is outstanding , historical dating back to the Tudor period. Since this was our first time to visit this place we got astray by car, asked for directions from reception, were sadly misled us a few times that we ended up going around in circles and wasted an hour driving trying to find the place after a long hectic drive from London. The property is historical from the Tudor period, low beamed ceiling, 4 poster bed, takes you back to Tudor era. However, the sofa was dilapidated, with faded material. Needs re-upholstering. The bathroom badly needs revamping. It dates back to the mid nineties..No shower cubicle....only a steep safety hazard high edged slippery bathtub with an obsolete fiddly tap that takes forever to function and mix water. The breakfast was very unhealthy with very little choices. The young blonde waitress who served our dinner was rather abrupt, had very little knowledge of what goes in the menu. Staff lack training. The male middle aged waiter who served breakfast was very polite and accommodating, breakfast was very basic, unhealthy, lacking in berries or superfoods which are supposed to be local produce from the local neighbourhood. All what was on the menu (in terms of fruit) were imported tasteless GMO sour inedible pineapples, watermelon and melon, processed dry cereals and a stodgy commercial English breakfast which did not taste organic, free range or fresh from the local farms. The food and beverage management should encourage the local farming community by resourcing their ingredients from them instead of buying whole sale from commercial suppliers. The dinner was disappointing too...the cooked salmon came across as frozen, stale and flaky (quite tasty though) despite the fact that the town is close to the seaside. They should invest in a more creative chef to live up to the grandiose image of this sophisticated property. Beautiful, breathtaking well manicured gardens and golf course. Lovely statues and historical fixtures. Hygiene standards are quite inferior and shocking. Housekeeping refused to clean our bedroom, change the sheets and towels all throughout our stay, using Covid19 as their flimsy excuse! This beggars belief! On the contrary, Covid19 should be a good reason to frequently clean and disinfect the bedrooms. This is against health the safety. We had to request fresh towels, the young male receptionist obliged, politely apologised stating that this was ‘management new Covid rules’. Such a shame because it’s a stunning property with a lot of potentials. Would have loved to return but sadly the negative attitude left us with very little to be desired, in particular that we paid £280 a night on that weekend to be expected to make up our own bed and get fresh towels ourselves, using a dirty bathroom for a 48 hours stay. This is against hygiene, health and safety
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Day, Marketing at Seckford Hall
Responded Nov. 12, 2020
Thank you for your review. Whilst I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, I need to correct some of your "facts" which are wrong. Firstly, the housekeeping team did not refuse to clean your room, as part of our certification as a COVID 19 safe hotel (under government regulations) and our risk assessment which forms part of this, the team are not able to enter your room once you have checked in as you and your possessions may be carrying the virus. Likewise one of the housekeeping team may be carrying the virus so to keep both you and the team safe, they do not clean your room. This procedure is happening in hotels all over the country and is not just done at Seckford. On arrival, the Reception team would have explained this to you. Secondly, at breakfast our eggs are free range from a local farm and our sausages and bacon are also sourced from another local farm. We do utilise local berries when they are in season in the summer but these are out of season in October. The only berries currently available currently are imported from Spain. I hope that clarifies our position. Regards Moira Banks GM
Read more
surfchicksarah wrote a review Nov. 2020
Ipswich, United Kingdom26 contributions4 helpful votes
An enjoyable quiet relaxing break away. The hotel is a truly beautiful place, tucked away in a quiet area of Suffolk. It’s the most romantic and magical place we have ever stayed in and we feel lucky to have been able to stay here and experience it. Whether you stay here for a once in a life time night away, for a special occasion like a birthday, or a romantic weekend away - You have got to so youraelf a favour and do it at least once. You won’t be disappointed. We certainly were not. The breakfast is amazing, all locally produced and cooked to perfection - and everybody is safely distanced. we felt reassured we were being looked after which feels so rare now in this pandemic. We stayed in one of the junior suites, with our own doors just outside of the main building. Super spacious, luxurious, clean and tidy, with both an upstairs and downstairs, and a really lovely spacious bath and shower. The bed was a super king size and one of the most comfortable beds we have stayed in. It was a peaceful and tranquil stay, and one I throughly recommend if you want a romantic, peaceful break away. The staff were helpful, and offered us reassurance in such strange times. Everything was clean and they had hand gel which must be used when entering the building as well as masks on. This however did not affect the atmosphere, and the beautiful setting of this wonderful 16th century house. If you want to treat a loved one, or you want a romantic break away, please do yourselves a favour and ignore the other local hotels and book yourself up!!... Whilst a little more expensive than other hotels in the area, it’s a truly magical experience, in a beautiful hotel and one for all your bucket lists. It’s a place which you will dream of for a long time afterwards. Sadly we couldn’t use the pool facilities on our stay due to the covid restrictions, but the lovely room, beautiful house and the nicest cooked breakfast ever tasted by us more than made up for this. Please support these places when they reopen after the lockdown, as we can’t afford to lose these beautiful places, and they will need your support more than ever. Thank you to the staff at Seckford Hall from us.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Day, Marketing at Seckford Hall
Responded Nov. 12, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again after lockdown or in 2021. Regards Moira Banks GM
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
seckford hall woodbridge, seckford hall hotel woodbridge
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkWoodbridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Seckford Hall
Which popular attractions are close to Seckford Hall?
Nearby attractions include Woodbridge Tide Mill Museum (2.3 km), The Fat Cat (7.8 km), and Congo Rapids Lost World Adventure Golf (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Seckford Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Seckford Hall?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Seckford Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Seckford Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Galley, The Ufford Crown, and The Greyhound Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Seckford Hall?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Seckford Hall?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Seckford Hall?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Seckford Hall offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Seckford Hall?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Seckford Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Woodbridge Tide Mill Museum (2.3 km) and Buttrums Mill (1.6 km).