We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gatton Manor

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gatton Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 174: English reviews
Start your review of Gatton Manor
 Click to rate
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a twin and double room for a funeral in Dorking the following day. You certainly wouldn't just come across the hotel, but it's a pleasant surprise when you arrive. The rooms are clean and comfortable and I had booked breakfast at the same time, so the price is very reasonable. Don't be surprised that there are loads of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I was last here a few years ago and it was better then than now. The room was comfortable and over looked the pond, which makes a change of over looking dustbins. The staff were pleasant and helpful but the hotel lacked a restaurant and bar facilities. The room was cheap but no breakfast was included in the deal, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlackcountBrickmaker
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Mum and I spent a small fortune on her 50th party at this venue! I guess it was worth it, the staff were very accommodating, the food on offer was good , the space given to us was adequate, everything was clean and we were well looked after for the evening! Good venue all in all but no special treatment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Ok so I'm not posting photos they don't deserve it.....I must say the scenery is outstanding 10/10 to mother nature for providing that (even if it is landscaped for a golf course). So we arrived 7th Jan around 1530 hrs we waited in reception 10 mins, before I went to clubhouse to find out where the receptionist was ( saw...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wayne W
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

At the end of November 2016 we held our daughters wedding reception at Gatton Manor. We would like to recommend this as an excellent venue to hold an event, the staff at Gatton Manor were fantastic. Sally the events organiser was friendly, helpful and very efficient, supporting us will all the arrangements and making very helpful suggestions that contributed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeanpayne2000
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post and apologies for my late reply. Hosting a Wedding is always such a privilege for us and I am so delighted to read that you all enjoyed the day. I will pass on your kind words to all the team, it really does mean a lot to receive such positive...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We had all heard good things about Gatton Manor Golf Club especially the course and I guess it wasn't helped by the heavy rain that greeted us upon arrival. However this has no effect on the club house ambiance and the way the staff looked after us. The club house is very dated and feels very local - what do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for my delay in replying and for what was obviously a far from satisfactory visit to us. I am disappointed to read your review and it is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on all levels. I would like to apologise, particularly if you were made to feel at all unwelcome, this would never...

Ruislip, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Brilliant golf course set in beautiful grounds. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and went out their way to make our trip very enjoyable. Food was good, no faults at all. Will be back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wth00100
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive review - we can't wait to see you all again in 2017. Happy Golfing!

Reviewed 8 November 2016

Stopped at the hotel on Friday 4th November. An interesting experience to find the hotel Arrived late and was welcomed by friendly staff Although some of the hotel looked a little tired the room we had was good, comfortable and quiet and the B& B deal was good All in all a good value for money stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jemmers35
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We stayed at the Hotel on the 24th and 25th September 2016. The golf course was in excellent conditions - on a couple of holes due to the time of year it was a little difficult to find you ball among the leaves on the fairway. The course itself has some very challenging holes, but the scenery as you walk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Geordstar
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Our second Ruby wedding anniversary in 2 weeks and a new venue, which we had never visited before. Dinner was in the Golf Clubhouse rather than the Hotel and whilst parts of the clubhouse were a little shabby, the private dining area was not. Food was superb as was the attentiveness of staff who in the main seemed not to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romantic_11

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
8.1 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
61 reviews
13.7 km away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
11.2 km away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
513 reviews
13.6 km away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
740 reviews
9.4 km away
Premier Inn Horsham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gatton Manor is a 18 bedroom hotel and golf club, set in 200 acres of tranquil woodlands, gardens, rivers and lakes, which form a championship length 18 hole golf course. The house dates back to 1728 and was the original Dowager's House of the Abinger Estate. Standards are high - we are AA 3* rated and our customers frequently comment on the first class food and friendly service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gatton Manor

Address: Standon Lane | Ockley, Dorking RH5 5PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Price Range: $99 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gatton Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gatton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatton Manor Dorking, Surrey
Gatton Manor Hotel Dorking
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gatton Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms looking over the course at the front suffer from Gatwick flight noise.”
137DavidB137, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book a breakfast as it's about 5 miles to a town.”
BlackcountBrickmaker, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We didnt stay only used the golf facilities”
S714OKrichardj, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“aim for superior double”
jemmers35, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I dont think there can be one!”
nickyban, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5