We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surtees Hotel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Surtees Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 552: English reviews
Start your review of Surtees Hotel
 Click to rate
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Surtees Hotel in March 2017 as a group of couples. The location is fantastic and the recption staff were friendly and gave good advise on where to go. The room was ok, clean etc but the lift doesn't work so having to walk up 3 large flights of stairs with our luggage wasn't Ideal. The bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georginathornton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having been originally booked here for sat ( with a hen party through go banana S) we booked to come down a day early - then discovered they couldn't honour the sat night booking - so with no refunds had to stay Friday here - lots of steps to get to it - it's up an alley - quick check...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona1245
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review, Firstly i would like to make clear that Go bananas never made a booking with us, they sent an availability request and said the price was above your budget so would not go ahead with making a booking. We were never paid any money from Go Bananas. If...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived as a party of 16 for a hen night. Check-in was fairly quick but I found the fact we had to pay £800 between us all as a deposit in case of damage was shocking. Rooms were a decent size and plenty of hot water. Overall, it did what it said on the tin and we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanessamurphy
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great little hotel although check in wasn't the quickest due to a hen party of 10 checking in at the same time We were on the second floor and were surprised by the amount of stairs to get to our room plus the lift wasn't working and feel it hasn't been working for some time If you looking for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bexicle22
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed over one night eith my sister on March22nd. We were going to the theatre. We were in room 7. Lovely and clean and warm. Okay, the view wasn't stunning, a brick wall, and with only singke glazing it was a bit noisy, but you have to expect that. The price was so reasonable too. If you want 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bazmags1
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for a business trip with my managers who flew from Germany. The hotel was clean and tidy so no complaints there. The staff on the counter was quite abrupt and and 0 sense of humour. Acted quite rudely towards my manager unknowing he is fluent in english. I know there is nothing that can be done about this as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Millen24
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It a good place to stay nice and quiet great room and shower great for overnight in newcastle ideal for going along wayside for the bars or doing the theatre's nightlife is brilliant I having a fantastic time astosmophere awesome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed in room 110. Its a good size with bathroom and large shower. Yes there was a few stains on walls and carpets but nothing too much to make me want to change rooms. This room faces the carpark at the back so it was quiet at night. The hotel was ok but it would have been nice to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I was in town on business for one night and wanted something cheap but comfortable and needed to be central. The staff were friendly and helpful. room was clean, breakfast good for the price. Wouldn't stay with kids and over weekend as I can imaging the crowed will change but a mid week off season quick stop over, this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arancinibrothers115
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Wifi, lift, hot water and TV did not work, the bathroom door did not shut. There were dirty marks all over the radiator and skirting boards. After complaining we were told to wait for a hour for the hot water to work, we were waiting one hour and thirty minutes with no contact from the reception staff I went back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kieren1001

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 km away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
501 reviews
0.2 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
982 reviews
0.2 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#55 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#37 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
964 reviews
0.3 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
377 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $70 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surtees Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
5 months ago
6 months ago
Derby, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Surtees Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a low floor as the lift didn't work”
georginathornton, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms access from first floor stairs but has a lift”
michaelLincolnshire, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the rear as the front is very noisy”
LinsleyT, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room on a high floor may give you more quiet”
lmorby, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As close to the ground floor as possible in case the elevator still doesn't work!”
weegerd, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5