We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grey Street Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 416: English reviews
Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a night to see a gig. Returned home at a reasonable hour hoping for something to soak up the alcohol..no dice. The living room Resteraunt that is supposed to call last orders at 10.30 closed at 9.45pm. No issue except you say you are open till 10.30! It's Friday and busy so why close 45...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vikki y
Dublin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in October. Great attention to detail paid! An anniversary card and sweets awaited us on arrival. Bedroom was spotless. Very comfy bed. Toiletries were fab! Bathroom modern clean and get power in the shower. Breakfast in bed was a real treat Location is perfect. Walking distance to quayside and shopping district My first trip to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bridget M
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and even more delighted you will return. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As I've mentioned before, I travel a fair bit on business, and often just spend a night in a hotel - usually selected with an eye to price (as I'm on expenses, I don't believe in flashing too much cash). Sometimes I find a delightful independent place that displays the quirkiness of such establishments - a refusal to bow to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank St_Ogpan
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your details and informative review. I am pleased to hear you were satisfied with your stay and I do agree, our hotel has its own personality that is unique to us. Please do come and stay again. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival greeted by unpleasant smell in Reception area, Elevator was filthy and smelled of urine, hallways upstairs and bedroom smelled bad. Toilet and sink in our bathroom was dirty, especially between the bottom of the cistern and the toilet, it was black. Smells were so bad that we could not face the thought of eating breakfast in the Hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

I am saddened to hear of such a negative review. We receive a lot of compliments regarding our cleanliness standards and I have never witnessed, or heard of any feedback regarding bad smells or urine odour. I can not say I agree with your feedback on this occasion however I thank you for taking the time to offer us your...

Oakham
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Hotel like most today would struggle to achieve it's four star grading, it's a bit tired and needs a lot of TLC. The reception staff are excellent and to be fair this Hotel was value for money - £87 / night for a double, though we were told on the phone that we had been allocated a luxury double....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are currently under going renovations to bedrooms and public areas that will modernise us and offer all guests a 4 star experience. The breakfast times are up on display, available in the room guide and also we would have been happy to confirm times if asked. I am pleased you were happy with the...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A perfunctory experience and the hotel probably sees itself as a budget option - that this is the case is evidence of the outrageous prices of the hotel business more than anything else. My room had a weird lay out with a small set of stairs downwards immediately after entering the room - a potential hazard - and a convoluted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoehmBawerk
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Grey Street Hotel. Kind regards, Lainey Westgarth

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just visited for a weekend with my partner, stayed for 2 nights. First of all, location, location, location... Can't get better... on the bottom of Grey Street, with shops, bars and restaurants on your door step. Also Quayside just a few minutes walk. watched a game at St James Park all with-in walking distance. Bars we would recommend Barluga, Tiger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellerdebsh
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your great review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do visit again soon. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very disappointed with the Grey Street Hotel. A posh soap and body lotion does not turn a slightly above average hotel into a boutique hotel arrived 7:30 on a Monday night for business. Sadly told i couldnt have room service as not available - it was 7:30pm (despite placing and order and having it accepted). I was told to order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasonbarrygreen
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Grey Street Hotel. I am very sad to hear of your disappointment following your stay. Our room service is provided by the adjoining Living Room Restaurant and they were not able to serve due to technical problems. We would always offer advice of alternative food options for you which...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is situated in a convenient part of the city, it's a few minutes walk to the train station and there's lots of places to eat nearby, if you don't want to eat at the hotel that is. Check in was fast and efficient and the staff very friendly. Unfortunately things beyond this were a little disappointing. The lift...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob B
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am deeply saddened to hear of your disappointment regarding your stay with us. We are undergoing a full hotel refurbishment at the moment, which is why you may have experienced dust etc around. I am sorry to hear your shower was not functioning properly, I would hope you would have notified us so we...

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in Newcastle for one night visiting old friends. It's a great reasonably priced city centre hotel on one of the nicest streets in Newcastle and walking distance from the Quay. The staff we met were outstanding: warm, smiley, helpful, even the night porter, who aren't always known for their smiles! We had our chocolate Labrador with us, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCQ19
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased yourselves and your four legged friend felt welcome whilst staying with us. We are undergoing maintenance work to the bedrooms and public areas so they will receive an update. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (122)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Superior Twin (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
301 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,969 reviews
0.8 km away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
926 reviews
0.4 km away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,633 reviews
0.2 km away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#31 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shop, party, relax or dinein the heart of Newcastle city centre. On Newcastle’s most prestigious street, The Grey Street Hotel Newcastle (in association with The Living Room Restaurant chain). The historic Grade II listed hotel is boutique and chic in style and cleverly merges the old with the new keeping many of the impressive Georgian Terrace’s original features and adding modern touches, making the hotel an interesting find for people looking for a unique place to stay. Adding to the prestige of the Hotel, is the magnificent restaurant which is part of The Living Room chain which can only be found in cosmopolitan city centre locations across the UK. The Grey Street Hotel is the only hotel association to the chain. Facilities■There are a choice of room types available at the hotel from standard rooms to suites■An intimate bar located in the cellar (available for private hire)■Meeting and conference rooms■Venue hire for weddings or special occasions Finishing Touches■Play station & docking station available■dvd and cd player & library■Crisp, white, Eygyptian percale cotton bedlinen■cafetiere coffee and herbal teas■broadband internet access ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grey Street Hotel

Address: 2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $90 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grey Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, ACCOR, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Grey Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grey Street
Grey Street Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
9 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a first floor room on the Mosley Street side.”
 of 5 bubbles St_Ogpan, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 faces on to the street”
 of 5 bubbles trevorc254, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“maybe a high floor, as we had noise from above”
 of 5 bubbles travellerdebsh, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 had everything you could wish for.”
 of 5 bubbles JCQ19, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is on a corner so if you sleep with the window open you're going to get a bit of street and late night reveller noise.”
 of 5 bubbles DaveBMW29, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay