We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Euro Hostel Newcastle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 373: English reviews
Start your review of Euro Hostel Newcastle
 Click to rate
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with my 6 year old son in the half term holidays. We had a great stay, the customer service was just fabulous and the rooms are very nice! One of the reception girls (I didn't catch her name) was more than accommdating. My son managed to lock the bathroom door from the outside which meant we couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shona R
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review

Hi Shona R Thanks very much for providing a review after your recent stay with us. It was fantastic to see you enjoyed your stay with us and felt the team looked after you so well. I am so pleased to note you will be coming back to see us again. Thanks again for your comments.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would 100% stay here again!! After reading some reviews I was very nervous about booking here, but I am so glad I did. Firstly was the price - single (private room) for two nights was less than what I would pay for just one night in other places. Secondly location!! So close to everything I needed. Thirdly staff -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review

Hi Joanne L Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review on staying with us at Euro Hostel. We're all delighted to note you had a great stay and enjoyed yourself while in Newcastle. The team is the company's best asset and I'm so pleased you were able to experience our hospitality first hand. Thanks again for...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hostel was lovely! The girls on reception were friendly and helped us with everything, tom isn't as bad as everyone says! Within walkin distance of the city and all the pubs and clubs. Will definitely be stayin here again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayleigh B
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review

Hi Kayleigh B Many thanks for your review after your recent group stay at Euro Hostel Newcastle. We're all delighted you enjoyed the city and the hostel and it's great to read you will be coming back to see us again. Thanks for the feedback on Tom. He's a lovely bloke, very good at his job and an asset to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed in Newcastle with 9 friends for one night out. We only needed a bed before leaving early the next morning. For this the euro hostel ticked all boxes. However, on arrival you are expected to each pay a £30 deposit - which we knew. What we didn't know was this had to be cash and they wouldn't accept one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keitharbermcintyre
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review

Hello keitharbermcintyre Thanks for the the review on your recent stay with at Euro Hostel. Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the confusion with cashback. There is a limit to the amount we can offer as cashback so maybe that played some part in the confusion however there are a number of cash points within five minutes walk of the...

Copenhagen
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Went to Newcastle with a group of friends and for that purpose - a weekend with football, beers and sightseeing - this hostel was an allright choice. It's the kind of hotel/hostel, which is acceptable only due to the location and due to the price, but not acceptable if you're planning to spend more than the night in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank morregard
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review

Hi morregard Thanks for taking time out to write a review for your stay at Euro Hostel. I was disappointed to note the room was not to your liking so please accept my apologies for the inconvenience. It sounds like you've booked a dorm room which are not the best but are certainly a very competitive price. You may want...

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Ideal location and couldn't fault anything with the rooms. 5 of us arrived and were greeted by a lovely girl named Siobhán, this girl was the only staff member during our stay who carried out her work in a professional manner and actually cared about the guests. Siobhan on several occasions was very helpful with any queries we had and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamy999
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review

Hi tamy999 Thanks for providing a review after your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding service in The Ware Rooms, particularly as I was in TWR for a meeting and did not witness the behaviour specified in your comments. Obviously I will address any of the issues mentioned in your...

Reviewed 13 January 2017

stayed here for a weekend away, everything you need for a boys weekend, cheap stay and cheap bar with deals. food was poor enough but what can you do. quite central. would stay here again if I was back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Declan M
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review

Hi Declan M Thanks for your review after your recent stay in Newcastle. On the whole I was pleased with your feedback but disappointed that the food offering in The Ware Rooms was not to your liking. Good to hear you will come back again though. Thanks again

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

So this was last minute due to change in funding circumstances. While the Boom room 203 itself was great, there was a smell like aftershave when I walked in to the point I had to open the window, but I could deal with that. Throughout my stay, the pod had a very musty smell, probably cos it's tiny and has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missbp1982
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review

Hi missbp 1982 Thanks for taking the time to provide a review after your recent stay. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with Euro Hostel. The odours you reported have been investigated. The kitchen had been removed from the website and our third party agents information. It was removed as it was rarely used. Unfortunately when it...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Stayed here in a group of 9 girls for two nights to experience Newcastle nightlife. We had two rooms, one for 5 and one for 4 of us. Ensuite in both rooms. So impressed with this hostel! Feels almost hotel-like. - rooms lovely and spacious - ensuite facilities perfectly sufficient - location 5 min walk to main street/loads of restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holajenny
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review

Hi Holajenny Many thanks for your review after your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle. I was delighted to see your group enjoyed yourselves while in Newcastle. I hope you will come and see us again in the very near future. Thanks again for your feedback.

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I booked a one night stay in a single room but had to change my booking to two nights before I arrived. Staff were really helpful and there was no issue with prolonging my stay. The hostel itself was clean and relatively quite and for a small extra fee you can get a decent breakfast in the morning. Would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mamly042
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review

Hello Mamly042 Thanks you so much for providing a review for Euro Hostel after your recent visit to Newcastle. I was very please to see you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after by the team. I hope you will come and see us again in the very near future. Thanks again for your comments

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (88)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Dormitory (17)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 km away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
487 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,119 reviews
0.6 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
366 reviews
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,114 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now you can "budget stay - your way"... in Euro Hostel Newcastle. City centre location just 10 mins walk from Central Station and 2 blocks from world famous Grey Street. All rooms fully en-suite. Fabulous bar with cocktail menu. Food served all day. Dorms and private rooms available. Guest kitchen, laundry, dining and chill out room. FREE Wi-Fi available throughout the Hostel Bedrooms, Public Areas and Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Newcastle

Address: 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $44 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Euro Hostel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Euro Hostel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Euro Hostel Newcastle staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Euro Hostel Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family room seemed to be the same price as a four bed dorm, which is the same except one bed is a double.”
 of 5 bubbles jamestH1325XE, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 102 has a broken window that allows a draft to enter the room right on to the facing beds.”
 of 5 bubbles HostelLover96, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bring another £100 and a sleeping bag, just in case.”
 of 5 bubbles Laurentheminx909, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have to sleep here at the weekend go for room 121 (It's at the very end of the corridor)”
 of 5 bubbles Liz_K_Miller, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Standard room will suffice.”
 of 5 bubbles JackH1878, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5