We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Church Street Townhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Church Street Townhouse
Church Street Townhouse
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Church Street Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 456: English reviews
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Our third visit here and the best. We stayed in the same room as always and enjoyed the champagne hour on the Friday which is a real treat and highlight of our stay given that the bar is full and bustling with lots of nice friendly people. ( Maybe the champagne has something to do with that?) We again visited...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Stayed as a couple in room 8. Our first impressions was not good when we arrived at the unmanned reception early sunday morning. There was plenty of staff in the bar area doing very little as it was quiet. They had acknowledged us but just left us standing there for a good 5 minutes. I eventually had to go to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle N
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We started our evening with excellent cocktails in the lively bar followed by a very nice dinner. Breakfast was delicious and the full menu was included in the room rate. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel can arrange discounted car parking which is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayctee79
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2015

This beautifully located hotel comes highly recommended. Situated just outside of the city centre, this is a lovely retreat. We had room 10- a mid priced room. Be aware though... It's just above the kitchen vents- so be ready for some venting noise of you get this room! It's not a disaster, but goes on all night. Otherwise the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holyade
Warwickshire
Reviewed 26 March 2015

If I could the restaurant at this hotel would have a minus zero rating for the rudest service and some of the worst food that we have ever experienced. Instead of being gracious and listening to a customer, the waiter was extremely sarcastic and continually spoke over me, while I tried to explain that we were disappointed by the food...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nicola C
townhouse17, General Manager at Church Street Townhouse, responded to this review

Hi Nicola C Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Sadly there is little i can do to address the issues that you experienced as there are no details in your review to highlight the problems that occurred. Maybe you have reviewed the wrong place? This does happen from time to time as you will see from...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 24 March 2015

My son and I were visiting Stratford and whilst wandering around the quaint streets came across The Church Street Town House. We called in on the off chance that they may be able to fit us in and I am delighted to say the could. The restaurant was lovely and had a upmarket ambience about it. All the tables are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KLBird123
Bath, UK
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Had one night at this charming hotel in the centre of Stratford. It is a short walk to the RSC Theatre in one of the very pretty, old streets of this lovely town. Our room was clean and comfortable and decorated in a quirky style. All we needed was provided. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, even sorting out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashvilla
Crouch End
Reviewed 6 March 2015

We were delighted by every aspect of our stay at this lovely hotel and can't wait to go back. Our room (number 3) was spacious, quiet, and full of character, with oak beams and a claw-foot bath in the room (in an area that could be separated off by thick red curtains), as well as a huge comfortable bed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrouchEndTilly
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 March 2015

This is one of those old buildings you need to stay in. The floors are uneven; the rooms are slightly small; the ceilings are slightly low. It really isn't perfect. But it is. The rooms are finished beautifully including a small decanter of outstanding port in the room and good en suite. The service was welcoming and friendly, including the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark R
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Visited this bar numerous times whilst in Stratford. Lovely ambience with a very upmarket crowd. On a Friday night, they have a student from the local college/uni playing the piano. Good beer and wine. Excellent cheese board. Staff very friendly and welcoming and a lovely clean place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickey2boy

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (161)
Viewed
Luxury Double Room with Bath (33)
Viewed
Middle Double Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,210 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,569 reviews
0.3 km away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
743 reviews
0.5 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,897 reviews
2.7 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This independently owned boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favourite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Church Street Townhouse

Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $131 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Church Street Townhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Church Street Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Church Street Townhouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Southampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago
North Wales

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Church Street Townhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We asked for a quiet room and ere at the back of the hotel which was parfect as we can not sleep if there is traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineBobP, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 11 was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles M6579ENlindap, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room 9 had a lovely big bed and all you would need in a stay in a hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Kteener, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Listen before you decide to stop”
 of 5 bubbles profectus, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 is OK, but not much room for cat-swingings. No idea about others.”
 of 5 bubbles E7532ZWjohnb, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay