We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,277: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Lovely building in a quiet location across the river from the town. However most of the rooms are in a 1950's block. Some noise from heating pipes but otherwise we had a quiet room. The rooms were a little tired with the fridge removed and a hole left in the unit. Their attempt at design for the long corridors was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terry6395
K-Djedidi, Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear terry6395 Thank you for your recent review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel. It is disappointing to hear your stay was not 100% to your satisfaction. Your feed back is very important to us in order to grow and improve our business and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our management team. I fully appreciate that...

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

A beautiful main building with functional modern extensions for most of the bedrooms. Our bedroom was nothing special but had everything expected, although unfortunately we had very noisy neighbours. The food was excellent and all the staff we had dealings with were very friendly and helpful. The use of the spa was also very welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
K-Djedidi, Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anna D Thank you for your recent review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel. It is please to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and you manage to take full advantage of our great facilities. Your feed back is very important to us in order to grow and improve our business and I’ll be sure to share your kind...

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda_Porter
K-Djedidi, Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Milton Keynes
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Bedrooms are tired looking - old metal framed windows looking rough and some carpets and doorframes in need of replacement. Food service is very good and service from staff was quick and attentive. Location of Alverston Manor is great of a short break in Stratford.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulhA8438NP
K-Djedidi, Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear paulhA8438NP Thank you for your recent review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our food and loved our great location however it is disappointing to learn that your visit was not 100% to your satisfaction. Your feed back is very important to us in order to grow and improve our business. This...

Oxford
Reviewed 29 February 2016

For a cost of over £200 for 1 night I was expecting something a little more special. The room was perfectly clean and functional but lacked the little touches you’d expect from a 4* hotel, such as conditioner as well as shampoo or a sewing kit etc. The bathroom was very basic and quite tired. The bed was fabulous and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z2809SRelizabethm
K-Djedidi, Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Z2809SRelizabethm Thank you for your recent review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel. It is please to hear that you had a good stay and you manage to take full advantage of our great facilities and location however it is disappointing to hear your stay was not 100% to your satisfaction. Your feed back is very important to us in...

Stafford
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Error on bill not spotted at checkout. Waiting response! Most staff were friendly but some were a bit off-hand. Quality building and gardens Room and facilities were quite good but not a lot different from Premier Inn. Long walk to room and no lift

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordonmV3111YU
K-Djedidi, Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gordonmV3111YU Thank you for your recent review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel. It is very pleasing to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and I hope you accept my sincere apologies for the shortfall in the service in regards to your bill. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team in order...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

beautifully presented hotel, quite expensive but it's lovely with a lovely spa and a great location. we didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that. We did use the spa and pool which was nice, only gripe was we had no robes in our room (or slippers) so when we called reception we were told we needed to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thewarrens1610
K-Djedidi, Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thewarrens1610 Thank you for your recent review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel. It is disappointing to hear your stay was not 100% to your satisfaction. Your feed back is very important to us in order to grow and improve our business and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our reception manager. I fully appreciate that...

London
Reviewed 29 February 2016

This hotel is a sprawling development, very well located by the bridge in Straford but is shambolic in both administartion and layout, with many rooms a long way from Reception. The staff are pleasant and try hard but checkin was slow and chaotic. The room was poky and faintly depressing in decor. Good shower.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthewsC1913KV
K-Djedidi, Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear matthewsC1913KV Thank you for your recent review of Macdonald Swan’s Nest Hotel. It is disappointing to hear your stay was not 100% to your satisfaction. Your feed back is very important to us in order to grow and improve our business. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfall and I’ll be sure to pass on your comments to...

Derby
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Average sort of hotel, clean enough and the staff were friendly upon check in. The problem began when we came back from a being away from our room to find that the bottle of water on the side had gone- meaning someone had been in our room! Also, I called reception to ask if they could change our hair dryer...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L6644APmichellep
K-Djedidi, Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear L6644APmichellep Thank you for your recent review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel. It is disappointing to hear your stay was not 100% to your satisfaction. Your feed back is very important to us in order to grow and improve our business and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our reception manager. If you would like...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We came just for a Spa Day. Not really a wonderful as we had hoped! Towels that were stained with oils, dressing gowns that had been washed so many times they we certainly not soft and fluffy and all 3 of us had the belt hooks either broken or missing altogether. Despite our paperwork saying all 3 of us were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsQ1
K-Djedidi, Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MrsQ1 Thank you for your recent review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel. It is disappointing to hear your spa visit was not 100% to your satisfaction. Your feed back is very important to us in order to grow and improve our business. This is not the normal standard of service we would wish to offer our guests and I...

332 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (298)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (149)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
2.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,720 reviews
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,998 reviews
0.1 km away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,370 reviews
6.4 km away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,915 reviews
1.1 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $141 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Alveston Manor
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 200 which is out of the way of the main corridor of the hotel if you're after a quiet stay!”
 of 5 bubbles sgnoor, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 51 for 3 of us”
 of 5 bubbles D4474CYcatherineh, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book well in advance”
 of 5 bubbles 720TS, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 115 which was lovely, quiet and a huge bed!”
 of 5 bubbles Stephiann, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms are at the end wing of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles gregmJ6523AJ, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5