We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,035 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,998: English reviews
Start your review of Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
 Click to rate
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here on a three day break. The hotel is well-placed to the town centre, five minutes walk from the RSC theatre. our room was a king size double with bathroom and all the extras one would expect - tea, coffee, chocolate, biscuits and little chocolates. There was also a 'Sleep Works' package to use to encourage a really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dee256
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review

Dear Dee256 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Crowne Plaza - Stratford upon Avon and for giving us a top score of 5. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay Kind Regards Roxanne Hopkins Front Office Manager

Waterlooville,UK
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Attended here for 2 days on business and it was formally a Holidayinn. It's has had a complete makeover and is very nicely done as a Crowne Plaza. I am a IHG member so use the group a lot. I have to say for a lovely stay to explore Stratford upon Avon this is ideal as it's in the town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlackRat1046
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review

Dear BlackRat1046 I am delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us and that you felt warmly welcomed to the hotel from the moment you arrived. We take great pride in our attention to detail here at the hotel and I am glad that the team looked after you. Kind Regards Roxanne Hopkins Front Office Manager

Blackburn, Lancs
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is fantastically located in the centre of Stratford on Avon, plenty of parking and an amazing hotel. It is right alongside the river where boat trips leave from the actual hotel grounds. The facilities and service were first class. We had evening meals and again these could not be faulted. The main plus for this hotel is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessblackburn
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review

Dear Jessblackburn, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, I have shared your comments with my team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us Kind Regards Roxanne Hopkins Front Office Manager

Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It is a few years sine I last stayed here, an, with a recent refurbishment, this is a lovely hotel - a very warm welcome as usual, even though the lifts were not working!! The dining room looks out on the river and, even tough the weather was not at its best, the setting is great. A very comfortable room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review

Dear Keith B Delighted that you had a great time with us Thanks for your review Kind Regards Roxanne Hopkins Front Office Manager

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Enjoyed staying in this beautiful hotel. Very friendly helpful staff. A tip is to ask for a breakfast voucher costing £10 at reception, otherwise you will pay £16 in the restaurant. Had a comfortable room with all amenities you would expect from a good hotel. We had a great view of the river but there were some ugly flat roofs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review

Dear Caroline M I am delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us and that you felt warmly welcomed to the hotel from the moment you arrived. We take great pride in our attention to detail here at the hotel and I am glad that the team looked after you. Kind regards Roxanne Hopkins Front Office Manager

Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

As the title says the management need to address a few issues to make this hotel number 1 in the area. The hotel itself is in an excellent area with lovely gardens by the river with fantastic outside seating areas. Only a very short walk into town. Check in was very slow due to under staffing (nobody staffing the priority...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelmanuk37
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review

Dear Travelmanuk37 Thank you for your review and I am very sorry your stay did not meet your expectations hence the score of 4. However, we do appreciate all our guests’ feedback and your observations regarding breakfast will be addressed. Kind Regards Roxanne Hopkins Front Office Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here in 2015 and we found the hotel to be excellent, so when visiting again we didn't hesitate to book a room, as has been mentioned the lifts weren't working which for us wasn't an issue but is really byond the hotels control. The staff were pleasant, the food was also as good as we remember, the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conny W
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review

Dear Conny W, Many thanks for such a glowing review of your recent stay with us, I shall pass on all your kind comments to the team, and hope to welcome you back soon Kind Regards Roxanne Hopkins Front Office Manager

Epsom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a lovely break in Stratford. Many positives to this hotel, location, food, clean modern rooms and free car parking. Staff were kind, friendly and helpful, however there weren't enough of them especially in the restaurant. We felt some of the restaurant staff lacked experience and direction and when we came down for breakfast we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank epsomladies
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review

Dear epsomladies, Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the way I handled your complaint. Again I am very sorry that you experienced so many issues while staying with us and again I would like to assure you this is not our usual standard. I really hope you return to the hotel in the future which i am...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Crown Plaza is a beautiful hotel, perfectly situated in the town centre, right by the river. Great facilities, good food, friendly staff and penty of convenient car parking spaces. Unfortunately there was no lift service during the weekend and although an engineer was called out and managed to fix one lift, it was very soon out of service again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review

Dear Lee T Thank you for completing a review of our hotel. I’m very sorry that the issues we experience with the lifts affected your stay with us. Unfortunately this issue could not be foreseen and was out of our control. We did speak to our suppliers who attended site over the period but due to a major fault we...

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Over 200 of us ex-army senior ladies went to Crown Plaza to celebrate a reunion of a 100 years of woman in uniform the ages ranged from eldest 93 to 50 years old even some of our Chelsea Pensioners came for the weekend. The hotel venue was perfect but and this was a big but both lifts were out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 427kathy914
HISUA, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review

Dear 427Kathy914 Thank you for completing a review of our hotel. I’m very sorry that the issues we experience with the lifts affected your stay with us. Unfortunately this issue could not be foreseen and was out of our control. We did speak to our suppliers who attended site over the period but due to a major fault we were...

581 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (410)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (167)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (94)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
King Double Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (19)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.9 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,970 reviews
0.5 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,647 reviews
0.6 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
808 reviews
1.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,757 reviews
0.6 km away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $122 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
25 days ago
Greater Manchester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We chose the quiet zone, but all good”
 of 5 bubbles jessblackburn, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I had a basic room, and it was better than the rooms in most hotels in which I have stayed”
 of 5 bubbles KeithB531, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If function in ballroom then 1st floor rooms can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 427kathy914, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid odd numbered rooms that overlook the very noisey air conditioning over the conference centre.”
 of 5 bubbles Will4Sale, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the quiet zone. Book a table when you check in to get best time and location”
 of 5 bubbles Maz24, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5