We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The White Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The White Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,186: English reviews
suffolk
Reviewed 6 July 2016

i have stayed in Stratford on many occasions for business but never before stayed at this hotel - what a mistake that was, the rooms are spacious, beautiful and extremely comfortable. great pillows lovely crisp bed linen and super efficient shower. the staff are efficient and polite - the Swan will definitely be my first choice for next time I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SuffolkDuchess
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SuffolkDuchess, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that we have won over another guest! Our 41 bedrooms are beautifully appointed and well-equipped to ensure comfort for every stay. It is truly a delight to hear that you have found our hotel quite comfortable. For business or leisure, we are here for your pleasure. Kind regards,...

Woodhouse Eaves, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

One of the best hotels we have ever been to, friendly staff, clean well finished hotel. A bit more expensive than some of the others but they do say you get what you pay for and in this instance it's certainly true. Good food and quality selection of beers and wines. Staff were amazing - reception staff and waiting staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve S
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve S, Thank you for your review. We are truly pleased to know that we have made your anniversary all the more special. We like to think that we are priced competitively among other hotels in the area that are of similar quality. That said, I am glad that you have found us value for money and that your...

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Staying at the White Swan. Very centrally located in the heart of the city. The room is a bit snug but the bathroom is a good size. The breakfast is included and had many choices. The staff is friendly. The internet goes off a lot and that is someone frustrating. Overall I would recommend the place to others visiting Shakespeare's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimmy F
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy F, Ah, yes that is the famous question. We are in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon, just a quick stroll away from many shops and tourist spots. Our 41 bedrooms are individually decorated and designed so that comfort and luxury is evident from every corner. I do apologise that the wifi was intermittent during your stay; we are constantly...

Cambridge
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Great for Shakespeare lovers. Each room has a framed, illuminated Shakespeare quote. The room and all of the public areas were immaculate and tastefully decorated. The restaurant was very old and the food was superb. I was very impressed with the service too. The old part of the hotel dates back to 1450 and the Bard himself may well have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrissyW
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChrissyW, Thank you for your review. It is quite nice to imagine Shakespeare having a pint in the pub before and after his stay in London. We are giddy with happiness to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found the level of service impressive. Our hotel focuses on comfort with a hint of luxury and...

Lerwick
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Ideal in every way - atmospheric interior design, perfect location, friendly and helpful staff, excellent cuisine. The White Swan certainly enhanced our experience of the town and a visit that was principally theatres-fo cussed. We would never consider staying anywhere else in Stratford-upon-Avon.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank johncF5303AF
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear johncF5303AF, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do work hard to make sure that every guest leaves happy. Our food is always guaranteed to be seasonal and made with the freshest ingredients. We are a magnet for theatre-goers as our proximity to the hotel and our location...

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We had decided to go into another Fullers eatery, but we were told that they were expecting a large party. So we decided to visit the white Swan, we were very happy we did. The service was what you would expect in a high end restaurant, it was really lovely to be there. The food was of a high quality...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dipsey1
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dipsey1, And so are we! Thank you for your review of our restaurant. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your meal. The staff does take pride in their service. The Oak room and pub has been stunningly renovated to enhance the wonderful ambience and character of the building. Our menu is updated regularly to only present fresh, seasonal...

Bath
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

It was a joy to stay at the White Swan for the last 3 nights! It is delightful, friendly and characterful hotel and we highly recommend it.The staff were not only friendly but very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were so impressed by how they took such pride in this place. We felt truly welcomed. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter N
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, Thank you so much for a wonderfully eloquent review. I am but a humble servant in giddy happiness to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to make sure that every visit and every guest is treated like royalty. Our turn down service is new but is quickly gathering fans from many...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We originally sat outside this hotel/pub with rooms but came inside to avoid a cloudburst and torrents of rain.Fish and chips and Caesar salad fine,one large glass of Pino Grigio each followed by excellent coffee - a life saver on a very wet day. Obviously catering for the Stratford tourists as so central but very adequate - would use again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen F, Thank you for your review of the restaurant/pub. I am glad that we were of service during the downpour and that the food that you had was of acceptable quality. We do hope to be able to see you again, perhaps in better weather? Kind regards, Sol Yepes General Manager

Reviewed 28 June 2016

We had a lovely two night stay at The White Swan. It was ideally located in the centre of Stratford, perfect for visiting the Shakespearean attractions. The room was clean and comfortable with all the facilities we needed. The heritage and character of the building is maintained throughout and perfect blended with all the modern comforts. Breakfast was wonderful, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah E
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hannah E, Thank you for your review. We do stand by our motto of Every Customer Leaves Happy and I can see that we have succeeded in following that with your stay. We are in a wonderful location in Stratford, just a stone’s throw away from the many offerings of the town. Our refurbishment was done sympathetically, with the...

Knebworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Would highly recommend. One small point was that service during our evening meal was rather slow, but this may have been a one off because breakfast was served very promptly. Would definitely re-visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy H
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy H, Thank you so much for your review. I am glad to read that you found your stay pleasant and comfortable. I am in the process of hiring and training new staff so that we could improve our service, especially during meals. Your valuable feedback has been instrumental in bringing this about so I would like to thank...

626 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (364)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Character Room ‘Hamlet’ (37)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (24)
Viewed
Grand Double Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,566 reviews
0.2 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,896 reviews
2.6 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
991 reviews
0.3 km away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
741 reviews
9.1 km away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
White Swan Hotel
White Swan Hotel
Cuisines: Pub, British, Gastropub, Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $130 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Wakefield, United Kingdom
tass99onhols
4 months ago
over a year ago
Heanor, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe every room would be equally suitable”
 of 5 bubbles davidwilliamharrison, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quiet in any area unless the fair is in town!”
 of 5 bubbles gilly6827, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Large double a must.”
 of 5 bubbles steveaK5254XX, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Simply ask for a quiet room. 106 is brilliant.”
 of 5 bubbles KayHanson, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a mid price room, and it was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Broadster67, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay