We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The White Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,451: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me with a night away in Stratford as we love it here and have been many times for the day. We always said that when we stayed, that it would be here. It didn't disappoint We arrived to wonderful open fire in reception, such a cosy atmosphere. Check in was great and we were really pleased with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmag32
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear emmag32, Thank you for your review. I am certainly pleased that we have lived up to your expectations and then some, I believe. I hope that we have certainly helped your boyfriend earn some massive brownie points! We do love catering for occasions to make sure that they are as special as it could be. I am also glad...

Dorchester
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We liked the bedroom décor and all the little extras in the bathroom. The naming of each room based on Shakespeare plays was a great idea. The lady from Milan behind the Reception desk was magnificent and so helpful in every way.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 234kennetha
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 234kennetha, Thank you for your review. I hope that your wife was happy with her gift! The bathrooms are something special and the monsoon showers are just the ticket to a relaxing shower. I have passed on your kind comments to Benedetta, who thanks you for the praise. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Sol Yepes...

Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Would recommend staying at this lovely hotel - even though it was for one night - it was one of the best nights sleep I've had whilst staying in a hotel, especially situated in a town centre! There is parking at the back of the building -which was full when we arrived but we were given directions to park at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssumart
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ssumart, Thank you for your comprehensive review. I do love reading what guests like (and don't) about their stay as it helps us to learn where we could improve and constantly monitor to make sure that standards do not fall. Our location is very handy in Stratford for exploring what the Bard's hometown has to offer. Our rooms are...

Sheffield
Reviewed 14 November 2016

This is an 'olde worlde' hotel which has been carefully updated to provide all modern comforts. Our room was really nice - comfortable king sized bed, big well equipped shower room etc. The service at reception and at meal times was exemplary.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian L, Thank you for your review. The hotel has been sympathetically refurbished to further highlight its historic charm while updating features to satisfy the modern traveller. All of our 41 bedrooms are different in size and décor but are very comfortable indeed. I hope you agree with me when I say that the staff certainly work hard to...

London
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Really great hotel for a 2 day stay. Beautiful breakfast cooked to order, and getting to have it in the oak room was a real treat. Staff very helpful. Loved the dining area and bar - roaring fires, exposed beams, felt really cosy and relaxing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 589zoek
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 589zoek, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We have been improving our breakfast offerings and service to ensure consistency every time. The roaring fires at this time of the year is proving to be a hit with guests trying to thaw from the cold. We look forward...

Cambridge
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Super service, the photos of the place don't do it justice. Upon arrival we were met with a smiling receptionist, a roaring fire in the company of two elegant leather armchairs and books. The room was so very wonderful - sophisticated and warming. Tea and freshly ground coffee lay in wait for us in our room and the bathroom was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G6051JZjamesw
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear G6051JZjamesw, And please believe me when I say we didn't want you to! We love to make sure that each stay is as pleasant and special as possible. I do agree that we cannot encompass everything the hotel has to offer in photographs but we certainly do try. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights recently and we enjoyed it so much we have already booked to go back again. The building itself is beautiful and 'olde worlde' Our room, although small was really cosy and comfortable. The staff were really friendly and attentive. The location is perfect- it's central to all the key Shakespeare locations including the RSC...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo R, Thank you for your review. Knowing that you are returning guests bring a warmth to my chest as it is proof that we are doing something right! The hotel has been refurbished sympathetically to offer old world charm with modern luxury. We do like to make sure that each stay is exceptional. We hope that we can...

Portsmouth
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We had a great weekend. The hotel was very homely and the service was first class. Our only criticism was that the bed was very hard and we prefer a soft bed. Food was good and bad was excellent. Menu was slightly limited!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrianmG975SE
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear adrianmG975SE, Thank you for your review. Our mattresses are sourced from a reputable supplier and I have had guests asking me where we got them as they want them at home, too. However, I will acquiesce that it may not be to your liking, and for that, I apologise. Our food is made fresh to order using only the...

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

I definitely reckon this hotel for anyone looking to stay in the centre of Stratford upon Avon . It is reasonably priced and the staff were extremely friendly / helpful. If I ever visit the centre again i will be sure to stay another night in this amazingly quirky hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Benclough69
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Benclough69, Thank you for your review. We are certainly ecstatic to know that we are highly recommended by yourself. The team does work hard to make sure that each stay is perfect and special. Our rates are quite competitive for the area and we are always on hand to help with any queries. I look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

We have stayed in Stratford on many occasions mainly in a regular B&B which we love, but this time as we are getting married and we decided to have our engagement night in a slightly more expensive option. We were not disappointed we had a wonderful room which was small but superbly appointed the hotel has recently gone through an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neale W
Sol_Yepes, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neale W, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, more so that we were able to make your occasion all the more special. All of our 41 bedrooms differ in size and décor but are more than ample for a comfortable stay. The Character rooms at the front...

674 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (413)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Character Room ‘Hamlet’ (37)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (24)
Viewed
Grand Double Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,690 reviews
0.2 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,992 reviews
2.6 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,046 reviews
0.3 km away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
986 reviews
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
White Swan Hotel
White Swan Hotel
Cuisines: Pub, British, Gastropub, Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $154 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor probably quieter, but a bit of an expedition.”
seeitonbusiness, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not the rooms with Cinema's smoking balcony directly outside!”
currentbun_99, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The character rooms are definitely worth the extra...”
louno13, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“do not have room 120, Room 111 is ok”
FloWarwickshire, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Parking facilities are a 5min drive away that back onto the Hotel. £15 over/night”
RBJ1981, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5