We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Beeches

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Beeches
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Beeches
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed here on business . The room i got put in was extremely small and pretty dated . It more than makes up for it in the quality of the food though. The best hotel food I've ever tasted & i have eaten in some of the best hotels in the country as i travel all over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raw1978
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear raw1978. What a fantastic review - thank you. Our chefs are thrilled you enjoyed the food and thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to welcome you back to the Beeches again. Kind regards Debra Jones

Clanfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at hotel while away on business last week. Stayed in room 106. Staff are lovely - very friendly in all areas. Rooms are a little dated, but nice bed, and the hotel is very clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Restaurant was closed on night I stayed, but bar food in hotel was amazing. Breakfast is great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J T
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear J T. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the chefs are feeling proud. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Beeches again. Kind regards. Debra Jones

London
Reviewed 13 October 2016

A large place with really wonderful staff. Situated away from any shops which I found difficult. In my room, the electrical fixtures either didn't work or were inadequate. Very clean room but all a bit old fashioned. In the bathroom, the cold tap ran hot for a few minutes but did eventually run cold. Big shower cubicle though hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisashendge
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear lisashendge. Thank you so much for your review. I am thrilled you were so well looked after by our team. I have taken all maintenance issues on board and they will be addressed immediately. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again. Kind Regards. Debra Jones

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights during the week when on training for work. One of the receptionist's was quite rude. Others all nice and polite. Room was a bit of a hole and couldnt really swing a cat, stains on carpet, but clean, tea and coffee replaced. Breakfast ok, but quality got worse through the week. Ate in every night at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahLouP18
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear SarahLouP18. Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with breakfast over the course of the week, but am thrilled you enjoyed your evening meals and found our prices reasonable. We do try to offer good value for money. My apologies regarding reception, that is not who we are. Kind Regards Debra Jones

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I stayed at The Beeches for one night after the hotel I had booked into couldn't locate my booking. The location is lovely and quiet, with plenty of parking and the team on reception were very friendly. My room was in one of the annexes called Moorland I think - when I returned at night by myself, the directed way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Volksworldtraveller
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Volksworldtraveller. Thank you for your review. I take on board your point about the temperature of the rooms. I am sorry your thermostat was broken, this would have indeed solved the problem for you. We do have many different ways of getting to the Morlands, but I agree, the directed route does send you that way. I will have...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I stayed at The Beeches on business. The room was a small double suitable for single occupancy. It was clean and comfortable and good value for a major city. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast could certainly be improved upon. Five mins walk from Cadbury's World.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Amanda W. Thank you for your review. I am glad you found us to be clean, comfortable and good value for money. I would however like to be able to improve on breakfast as you mentioned. Please could you contact me in order for me to find out where you feel this could be improved? Kind regards. Debra Jones.

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This is my final night of a 8 day residential course held at the Beeches. The venue is lovely, bedrooms are very clean and functional and refreshments in the day were fantastic. Where the hotel exceeds all expectations is with the staff. Everyone goes out of the way to ensure your visit is enjoyable. Nothing is too much trouble. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Jenny L. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and score. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were really well looked after. It was our pleasure to serve you and lovely to meet you. I have of course passed on your lovely comments and all said to pass on their thanks...

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

I had to stay here because couldnt find an other place for one night...room small dirty uncomfortable...at least the people where friendly...breakfast 7.50gbp and horrible...there is a better place just up the street...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chris m
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear chris m. Thank you for your review, although I apologise that I have not responded sooner. it would appear Trip Advisor have only just published your review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay, although this is the first time in a long time we have had a complaint against our breakfast. I would love to hear from...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Good location especially if you have a car though a taxi from the local stations will not a great deal to overall costs Had an excellent room in one of the annexes. Could not fault the customer service especially at breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlessim1
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear charlessim1. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I have passed your comments on to the restaurant and housekeeping teams who are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Beeches. Kind Regards. Debra Jones

Sandwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

this hotel is more like a hostel its an insult to hotels to call it one. the staff were unhelpful the rooms were like staying in a university student hall accommodation. The food was poor and they absolutely could not cope with any dietary requirements. Its a very long time since I have stayed somewhere so poor and could not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 600Jan
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear 600Jan. Thank you for your review, although I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I would be grateful if you could contact me direct in order for me to ascertain the exact reasons for your review, in order for me to try and put it right. Kind Regards. Debra Jones

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Westmead Hotel
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally built by the Cadbury family in the 1900s, The Beeches is a unique and characterful property set in the heart of the beautiful village of Bournville. Easy to reach from the M42, M5 and M6, and with ample free parking on site, The Beeches’ grounds and peaceful location offers a restful stop at the end of your journey.Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, The Beeches provides a very warm welcome and a comfortable stay in one of its cosy rooms. All the rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer as well as free WiFi for all guests. In the evenings guests can relax in the bar and lounge where bar snacks and evening meals are served. The friendly staff and home-cooked food make The Beeches a great choice for regular guests visiting the University of Birmingham, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham International Airport and new Queen Elizabeth Hospital.With the popular Cadbury’s World and the attraction and history of Bournville just minutes from its door, The Beeches is the perfect location from which to explore the delights of the local area. The city of Birmingham is just a short train ride away, and highlights such as The Bullring Shopping Centre, the National Exhibition Centre and National Indoor Arena mean it is a fantastic location for a short break or extended visit! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beeches

Address: 76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $57 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beeches 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Conference Centre Hotel Bournville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Beeches staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Beeches staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Modern extension is the quietest if you don't mind a long walk from reception.”
 of 5 bubbles sarojinididi, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get a room within the main building”
 of 5 bubbles O1555SDchrisc, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just request a room in a quiet area”
 of 5 bubbles charlessim1, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here is my tip”
 of 5 bubbles 600Jan, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go to the Premier Inn”
 of 5 bubbles jr10002016, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5