We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

912 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 895: English reviews
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We booked a quad room with parking at the Holiday Inn Express, Birmingham NEC the night before we were due to fly off on holiday. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by very professional and friendly reception staff however on arrival at our room we were disappointed to discover that our 'quad' room consisted of a double... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria H
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Victoria H, Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay with us. I can see on this occasion we fell short of your expectations and I am very sorry about this. In reference to your taxi experience I personally left a message on the number that was given to me on the day you made the complaint... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

Quite possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Rooms do not have AirCon. It's absolutely boiling. There is a fan however. Problem is when getting ready to go out to eat last night I discovered there's only two plug sockets in the entire room I had to decide whether I wanted to unplug the fan and sweat to... More 

Helpful?
Thank cburrell
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We always try to exceed our guest expectations and on this occasion it appears we failed. We do not have air conditioning in the rooms at the moment and we do not advertise that we do however the good news is that we plan... More 

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Excellent customer service as soon as we arrived at this hotel. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.The room was very clean, comfortable and had everything that we needed which included free wi fi, a large flat screen TV, a hot powerful shower, plenty of towels and a comfortable bed. Perfect when travelling to the airport. Only £6.00 for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachel l
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear rachel l Thank you for taking time to leave a review about our hotel. We hope you come and stay here again in the near future Kind Regards Naomi More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed 2 weeks ago, family room . The pull out bed was down and it had the chair wedged in so there was no chair to use. We had a baby as well as our toddler which was stated when booking. The travel cot had to pushed in at the end of bed and to get around the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisaneale
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear lisaneale, Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay with us. We value all feeback as it helps us ensure we get it right for every guest. Admittedly our family rooms are a little tight when both the sofa bed and cot are in use. It is not usual procedure for us to sell rooms with both... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We stayed here at the begining of August for two nights well attending my son's and daughter in law 's wedding. We arranged a number of rooms for friends and relatives and were very pleased with the accommodation and price. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was plentiful on both days. On the days we stayed there was nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank jayandpen
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear jayandpen, Thank you very much for leaving a positive review about your recent stay at our hotel. I will be sure to pass your comments onto our team to encourage them to keep up the good work! Kind Regards Naomi More 

Leigh Lancs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Hotel staff polite. Room clean, bed v. comfy. Shower powerful & hot. Complimentary breakfast which was adequate. Stayed here on the way home from Henley-on-Thames. Only couple of negative points but they wouldn't put me off staying here again - hairdryer didn't work & although they did offer us a change of room we had already unpacked & as it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah123Leigh
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Deborah123Leigh, Thank you for leaving a review about our hotel. I am very sorry your hairdryer didn't work throughout your stay. I can assure you this is not our usual standard. I was happy to read this did not put you off coming to stay with us again in the future. I will pass your feedback onto our team.... More 

County Durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We stayed here after returning from Rewind 80s Festival in Henley, as a halfway point on our journey home. After booking in we were given the wifi password and the room was clean and very nice. The beds were very comfortable, and the shower was nice and hot. The toilet seat was slightly stained and unfortunately the hairdryer in our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Indiewitch
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Indiewitch, Thank you for leaving a review about our hotel. We value all feedback as it gives us a chance to get things right for the next guest. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay despite your hairdryer not working. I was also happy to read we did all we could to get this issue fixed for... More 

Level Contributor
82 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed for three nights; couldn't have picked a better hotel. Great service: staff very friendly, couldn't seem to do enough to help Very good breakfast: lots of variety with the hot and cold options - more than enough was on at any one point Comfortable bed Very clean room, lots of space for a couple and didn't hear too much... More 

Helpful?
Thank BristolsRedHobbit
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear BristolsRedHobbit I would like to thank you for leaving such a positive review about your recent stay with us. It means alot to the team and myself and encourages us to continue to work to a high standard. We look forward to welcoming you into our hotel again in the future. Kind Regards Naomi More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night just myself and 12 year old daughter as part of a 'superbreak' deal. Positives: • not overpriced • very clean • helpful staff • was able to check in a bit earlier • comfortable main double bed • hotel provide complimentary items such as razors, face cloths, toothbrush, sewing kit etc upon request • although we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Natalie D, Firstly I would like to thank you for the positive feedback you have left about our hotel and am very happy you enjoyed your stay and would return. Car parking applies to all guests but please contact the hotel direct to check for rates that include parking for future bookings. Kind Regards Naomi More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Stayed for one night as were going to a concert at the Arena. Smooth check in, lovely room, friendly staff and the breakfast in the morning was a super surprise even had scrambled eggs and hot food and plenty of it ! Down side is it's way too far from the arena so we had to get a taxi and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paige G
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear paigeyg, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our hotel. It is important to us so we can continue to give excellent customer service and strive to make each guests stay a positive one. I will pass on your comments to the team. I am sorry you had a long wait at the bar after the... More 

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
2.1 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.3 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#30 of 141 in Birmingham
804 reviews
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.6 km away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#21 of 141 in Birmingham
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. In addition to free Wi-Fi, facilities at the hotel include evening meals, parking, meeting rooms, licensed bar and prices which always include breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $67 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
5 months ago
CUMBRIA
5 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“third floor very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles christinea561, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the attic rooms- these are fairly small and have height restriction areas in room.”
 of 5 bubbles shellw_12, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor at the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles hughe954, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for quiet...we were front and we would have heard lots...just we were too tired”
 of 5 bubbles JacquieM833, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room which does not overlook the front as they are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles kty910, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay