We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Panoramas (29)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
See the most recent reviews
Showing 152: English reviews
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2015

This hotel is being converted to a Holiday Inn and I hope that means a better standard, Right now it's a mess, no hot food, no lift when I visited mid-March. I had an old room and it was grotty. I went to the pub next door to eat and decided to go hungry. Not he hotel's fault but probably...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GrahamE54
Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2015 via mobile

Booked this place at short notice, room was a bit grubby , basic cleaning, shower could do with a bit more time spent cleaning it . Bed linen was clean . Hotel had the paint smell as getting renovated. At the price we paid (£65) can't complain to much . Prob would stay again . Bit noisy at night as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carnieboy1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, responded to this review

Dear Carnieboy1, We appreciate you sharing your experiences with regards to your stay at our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and we appreciate your business with us. On the other hand, it is regrettable if the cleanliness of the room received and the on going renovation did not live up to...

Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We used the Castle Bromwich Inn for a one night stay prior to an early departure from Birmingham Airport. The location was excellent and the service provided by the staff equalled that. As we proceeded to our room, the Maintenance guy was doing some work in the corridor roof, but still had the courtesy to chat with us and reassure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TrevorHall
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Have stayed here on a business overnight and the hotel is ok although it is being worked on at the moment. The problem here is that the pub next door is really grotty, its untidy disorganised with barely adequate pub food on offer. If you like me have spent all day travelling from meeting to meeting the last thing you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Baldman1954
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, responded to this review

Dear Baldman1954, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs....

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2015

Myself and 6 colleagues stayed at this hotel on the 24th and 25th Feb 2015 while filming a documentary for US tv about Jaguar Cars. This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. I have filmed in hostile environments across the world where the hotels were better!... At first glance it appears to be a very basic and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mac-Kenny-Camera
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, responded to this review

Dear CamCrewTV, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay due to the room condition and ongoing construction...

Reviewed 31 January 2015

Very cold room which had recently been refurbished, the staff tried to help initially then quickly got bored when the problem continued. I have 20+ people staying here during Jan/Feb every year but next year we will be moving

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan H
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan H, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that you found the rooms very cold and staff were unhelpful. Please accept our...

Mullion, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2015

Hotel itself was faultless. Very clean tidy and staff friendly. Only downside was the 'free wifi available in all areas' , could not get wifi in our rooms, kept getting error messages. We are returning in May so hopefully it'll be sorted.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cornishtraveling
Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan
Reviewed 16 December 2014

I had a very confortable stay. The breakfast was superb. Location is an issue if you want to use public transport, I had to use a taxi which was expensive to go to the Ramada in Sutton Coldfield. My 8 year old daughter enjoyed herself thoroughly as well. The staff was very friendly eventhough we were a bunch of hijab's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZeeforIslam
Rayleigh
Reviewed 21 October 2014 via mobile

I am very sad to say that based upon a working life spanning 20 years staying away on a very regular basis, this is without question of doubt the worst ever hotel. My room was cold (far too cold to sleep) due to a window casement defect which was obviously known by the management as portable heating additional to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip C
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2014

stayed for one night to visit N.E.C friendly staff, although they where run off there feet trying to check people in, serve at the bar, replenish the breakfast and do dishes. great location, yes its near the motorway and airport but the noise was fine, wifi was great I had no problems connecting. continental breakfast available and was ok, avoid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANDREA S

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Viewed
Family Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Standard Double (32)
Viewed
Standard Twin (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This modern, comfortable hotel offers guests great value just off the M6 and within easy reach of Birmingham city centre. The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, is situated just 25 minutes from the heart of the city and 8 miles from Birmingham International Airport. Other nearby venues include the NEC Arena and popular family destinations such as Cadbury World, Drayton Manor and Sealife Centre. The hotel features 110 guest rooms, all well-equipped to offer you a most comfortable stay. All rooms feature en-suite bathrooms, free Wi-Fi and digital TV among other amenities. Guests can relax in the hotel's 24 hour lounge bar, enjoying the laid-back atmosphere, a refreshing drink or tasty snack. A Express Start breakfast is served each morning in the Great Room. Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich has a well-appointed meeting room which can host up to 25 delegates. The hotel's skilled team will assist you in planning and hosting your next corporate occasion. Complimentary parking is provided in the hotel's on-site car park. The hotel's friendly team are available 24 hours a day at reception and look forward to welcoming you to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich

Address: 1200 Chester Road | Junction 5, M6, Birmingham B35 7AF, England (Formerly Castle Bromwich Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $89 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Bromwich Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a ground floor and 3rd floor room. The hotel was quiet with no disturbance.”
k0003863, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The motorway is behind this hotel so can get a bit loud with traffic noise.”
markgM2729AD, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Note there is no access from Southbound M6.”
parogers2016, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor where we were was easy to access”
TheWrights72, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If possible, get a room towards the back - the 24x7 traffic can be tiresome if you are sensitive to noise”
ronnieg968, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5